We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were very disappointed with the overall experience. Decor in hallway to bedrooms need major revamp. Food was excellent, breakfast was lovely, reception staff upon arrival did not make us feel overly welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Lynda H

I am very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay at Dromoland. We have a rolling refurbishment plan throughout the hotel so will ensure your comments are discussed at our next management meeting.

We take huge pride in our team and the welcome we offer to all guests so your comments are very upsetting to the team but I will ensure we all learn from your important feedback.

I hope that we may have the opporunity to restore you faith in our hotel in a future stay.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,542
    363
    144
    63
    39
See reviews for
891
1,557
43
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have dined at the castle previously - this was our first over night stay. Lunch at the Fig Tree, excellent as always. Check in was efficient - no valet to be found to park our car, so we parked ourselves. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Activities included clay shooting and spa treatments , all very enjoyable. Some lovely drinks in the bar that afternoon, very friendly polite bar man, Danny. We dined at the Earl of Thomond that evening - this was lacking in service we felt. We were escorted from the gallery area by the restaurant manager to a lovely window table , the menu was explained to us and there we sat and waited and waited........that was the last we saw of the restaurant manager , other guests arrived after us, and had started their entrees before we realised that unless we physically sought out a staff member, our dinner order would not be taken. Thirty five minutes we sat before my husband eventually left our table and asked for somebody to take our order. We were embarrassed. The restaurant manager meanwhile was having a lengthy chat with a group of Americans - never once asking us if our order had been taken - in fact during the entire evening , he never came near our table to ensure all was well. Dromoland has a big American clientele, all very well and great to see them, but surely every customer should be given equal amounts of attention from front of house. On a more positive note, our food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented. Our wine choice was also excellent with wonderful advice from a French sommelier. We had just started on our coffees when the bill was presented by a waitress, we did not ask for the bill at that time, I still was working on a cheese plate and wine. The bill was left on the table and nothing said - the bill was incorrect with additional un ordered drinks - again we had to find somebody to rectify. We were unfortunate to be sitting near a group with a very loud lady amongst them, so loud we left to finish our wine in the bar area. There is supposed to be a "business casual" dress code for the dining room - denims and polo shirts are not smart casual let alone business but there were at least three gentlemen seated with this attire.

Our breakfast was excellent, very high standard. Overall, we enjoyed our stay - it was very relaxing. Should we return, we would dine at the Fig Tree or in the Gallery area - the Earl of Thomond is a real treat but was very lacking on this occasion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ennis41

Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but obviously I am very disappointed that the service you experienced in our restaurant did not meet your expectations or indeed the standard of service we would usually pride ourselves on at Dromoland.

I appreciate that you have brought this feedback to my attention and I will certainly share your comments with the restaurant manager and his team in an effort to monitor and improve guest experiences.

I am very sorry that we have let you down on this occasion and hope that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our restaurant.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed to attend a wedding and really enjoyed Room 322, 2 double beds in the room and very nicely furnished and decorated. The view over the tennis courts was very pleasant and gave an airy feel to the room. The bathroom contained bath and shower as well as 2 wash basins set in a vanity unit. The double basins were a novelty for us which we enjoyed and the extra wide long bath was also a treat. The evening turndown service was also a treat as we had already had a short rest on the bed after check in before attending our wedding reception so very nice to return to a refreshed room. We were delighted to avail of a wedding reduced room rate as otherwise our budget wouldn't have stretched to stay here but we thoroughly enjoyed it and have no hesitation in recommending a stay to others for a treat. All staff were efficient and pleasant. The wedding reception in the Brian Boru venue was great. If only everyday life was like this :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay while attending a wedding in the Brian Boru.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The staff was perfect! Shane served us two nights and he was superb! A beautiful place! My only negative is that there is not a way to get a little snack without getting room service or going to the bar. It would have been nice to grab a snack after the bike ride. No drinks, except water,qà or snacks in the room. Except for the chocolate, which was wonderful! Check out the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Robin R

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am very sorry that you missed the areas to pick up some light snacks rather than sitting in the bar, gallery or club house after your cycle. We have juices, waters, chocolate bars, fruit, all available at the golf club house where you would have dropped your bike back.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We started our Tauck Tour at the wonderful place. Our room was very large. the whole place is amazing. dinners and breakfast were very good. the grounds and golf course were a joy to walk. our 2 night stay was perfect. old world charm. it's a castle !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Skinnyskier

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your Tauck Tour. I hope the rest of your visit through Ireland was enjoyable and if returning will keep us in mind for a future stay.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The good - fabulous food from room service to breakfast to Earl of Thomond restaurant. Recommend their special fruit cake. Freshest muffins I've ever tasted at breakfast, great range of food at breakfast, will fill you up until dinner.

Excellent staff, very attentive but not intrusive like they can be at American hotels/restaurants. They obviously invest hugely in staff training & customer service. Cannot complement the staff enough.

Fabulous grounds, recommend an early morning run as a great way to see the grounds (with mist coming off the lake, was beautiful).

Interior is great, really can relish the castle experience, really enjoyed noticing something new that hadn't noticed the day before

Great outdoor hot tub

Really comfortable super king bed

Common areas great places to sit & read a book, have a drink, great open fireplaces too

The bad - felt as if we were given a room in the servants quarters! Small window in our room, little natural light, dark furniture. Seeing other guests rooms made us jealous, was always keen to leave the room as was a bit dreary. Thankfully could retreat to great common areas.

Gym & pool areas were not up to 5 star standards & need a complete overhaul.

No air conditioning in our room, nor in the golf clubhouse eating area where I had a rather sweaty dinner

Need a bit of perfecting on the Guinness pulling. Had a couple that had been left standing too long with a rather poor creamy head!

Butter was always too hard to spread... Getting this right is a real sign of attention to detail

Overall, highly recommend for a few days away in absolute luxury, cannot wait to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Deargirl

Thank you for your comprehensive review.

I appreciate your feedback which I have taken on board and will discuss your points raised at our next management meeting in an effort to further improve of our standards.

Thank you for your recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back to visit us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for one night, about a week and a half ago. Superior service by the porters, front desk, and the overall hotel staff. We ate in the Earl of Thomond for a fine dining evening. The food was extremely good. The breakfast in the same room was also very accommodating as the cold items were self serve, but if you wanted a hot breakfast, it could be ordered from the menu. Because our time was limited we were only able to explore parts of the well groomed and manicured gardens and grounds. I was able to participate in the falconry, which I found very informative and a great experience. Jim, the Harris Hawk handler, was very passionate about his work. This made my experience much more enjoyable. Next time, my boyfriend and I will be staying more than one night as there is lots to enjoy and experience at this castle.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Tisha M

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review on your recent stay with us. I will pass your comments to Jim (falconer) and the entire here.

We are delighted to read that you will return for longer next time, we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing