We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,011)
Filter reviews
4,011 results
Traveller rating
3,301
426
166
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,301
426
166
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course hawk walk walled garden beautiful grounds felt like royalty dream come true cocktail bar fig tree falconry experience clay shooting horseback riding golf club the main dining room once in a lifetime our honeymoon drawing room pony and trap
Filter
Updating list...
2,930 - 2,935 of 4,011 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our family traveled all through Ireland and ended our trip at Dromoland Castle. We definitely saved the best for last! From the moment we turned into the long driveway we were swept away by the beauty, grandeur and elegance of this magnificent property. It felt as though we had traveled back in time to the turn of the last century and we were on a Grand Tour. This hotel is first class in every sense. There is also a wealth of activities for families: golf, tennis, swimming, spa, walks, biking, fishing, archery, clay pigeon shooting, and our favorite, the falconing. We chose to go on a guided hawk walk and it was thrilling having the beautiful young falcon Jenny come swooping out of the trees and onto our arms. Our guide Damien was most interesting. I would go back to Dromoland in a heart beat. It is expensive, but worth every penny. There aren't many hotels in the world that are a destination in and of themselves.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this hotel. We did not have air conditioning but did not need it even though we stayed in August.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Elizabeth M

Thank you for your comprehensive review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if you are traveling through Ireland in the future you will stay with us again.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were very disappointed with the overall experience. Decor in hallway to bedrooms need major revamp. Food was excellent, breakfast was lovely, reception staff upon arrival did not make us feel overly welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Lynda H

I am very disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay at Dromoland. We have a rolling refurbishment plan throughout the hotel so will ensure your comments are discussed at our next management meeting.

We take huge pride in our team and the welcome we offer to all guests so your comments are very upsetting to the team but I will ensure we all learn from your important feedback.

I hope that we may have the opporunity to restore you faith in our hotel in a future stay.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have dined at the castle previously - this was our first over night stay. Lunch at the Fig Tree, excellent as always. Check in was efficient - no valet to be found to park our car, so we parked ourselves. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Activities included clay shooting and spa treatments , all very enjoyable. Some lovely drinks in the bar that afternoon, very friendly polite bar man, Danny. We dined at the Earl of Thomond that evening - this was lacking in service we felt. We were escorted from the gallery area by the restaurant manager to a lovely window table , the menu was explained to us and there we sat and waited and waited........that was the last we saw of the restaurant manager , other guests arrived after us, and had started their entrees before we realised that unless we physically sought out a staff member, our dinner order would not be taken. Thirty five minutes we sat before my husband eventually left our table and asked for somebody to take our order. We were embarrassed. The restaurant manager meanwhile was having a lengthy chat with a group of Americans - never once asking us if our order had been taken - in fact during the entire evening , he never came near our table to ensure all was well. Dromoland has a big American clientele, all very well and great to see them, but surely every customer should be given equal amounts of attention from front of house. On a more positive note, our food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented. Our wine choice was also excellent with wonderful advice from a French sommelier. We had just started on our coffees when the bill was presented by a waitress, we did not ask for the bill at that time, I still was working on a cheese plate and wine. The bill was left on the table and nothing said - the bill was incorrect with additional un ordered drinks - again we had to find somebody to rectify. We were unfortunate to be sitting near a group with a very loud lady amongst them, so loud we left to finish our wine in the bar area. There is supposed to be a "business casual" dress code for the dining room - denims and polo shirts are not smart casual let alone business but there were at least three gentlemen seated with this attire.

Our breakfast was excellent, very high standard. Overall, we enjoyed our stay - it was very relaxing. Should we return, we would dine at the Fig Tree or in the Gallery area - the Earl of Thomond is a real treat but was very lacking on this occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Ennis41

Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but obviously I am very disappointed that the service you experienced in our restaurant did not meet your expectations or indeed the standard of service we would usually pride ourselves on at Dromoland.

I appreciate that you have brought this feedback to my attention and I will certainly share your comments with the restaurant manager and his team in an effort to monitor and improve guest experiences.

I am very sorry that we have let you down on this occasion and hope that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our restaurant.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed to attend a wedding and really enjoyed Room 322, 2 double beds in the room and very nicely furnished and decorated. The view over the tennis courts was very pleasant and gave an airy feel to the room. The bathroom contained bath and shower as well as 2 wash basins set in a vanity unit. The double basins were a novelty for us which we enjoyed and the extra wide long bath was also a treat. The evening turndown service was also a treat as we had already had a short rest on the bed after check in before attending our wedding reception so very nice to return to a refreshed room. We were delighted to avail of a wedding reduced room rate as otherwise our budget wouldn't have stretched to stay here but we thoroughly enjoyed it and have no hesitation in recommending a stay to others for a treat. All staff were efficient and pleasant. The wedding reception in the Brian Boru venue was great. If only everyday life was like this :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FeatherB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay while attending a wedding in the Brian Boru.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The staff was perfect! Shane served us two nights and he was superb! A beautiful place! My only negative is that there is not a way to get a little snack without getting room service or going to the bar. It would have been nice to grab a snack after the bike ride. No drinks, except water,qà or snacks in the room. Except for the chocolate, which was wonderful! Check out the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Robin R

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am very sorry that you missed the areas to pick up some light snacks rather than sitting in the bar, gallery or club house after your cycle. We have juices, waters, chocolate bars, fruit, all available at the golf club house where you would have dropped your bike back.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews