We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Ireland”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivory Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

John and Betty made me very welcome. The breakfast was great. Their advice on local restaurants and pubs was spot on. And I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gk202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Ivory Lodge is a lovely B&B. We had a lovely clean room and ensuite bathroom, tv, tea and coffee, towels and hairdryer all in our room.
Wonderful cooked breakfast served in their conservatory.
Ivory Lodge was ideally located for our stay, in between Dromoland Castle and Bunratty, both just a five minute drive away.
Betty and John were both lovely and gave some great advice about places to see and a few stories to tell in between.
Thanks to them both for a wonderful welcome to Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeb2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleetwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

We have just spent an excellent 4 nights at the Ivory Lodge and can't speak highly enough of Betty and John's B&B. It's in a very quiet location and handy for the airport, easy to access with car parking. Nothing was to much trouble for them (from looking up sporting fixtures kick off times on the internet to offering to run us down to the local pub).Breakfast was first rate and the whole place is spotlessly clean. Well decorated, well run and well worth a visit. Havent stopped at a better B&B.....thanks!!! PS. For the visitors from Texas it does say on the booking receipt that they dont take 'cards'.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank codofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

Very close and an easy drive to Shannon airport (7-8 minutes).
Nice accomodation and the hosts John and Betty are very friendly and helpful - we spent an hour with them in social chit-chat before we left.

We would stay there again.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothin to complain about
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrjjrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

We stayed at the Ivory Lodge on the last night of a 2-week vacation, and can't say enough nice things about our hosts and their B&B.

The accommodations were clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was clean & bright; beds were comfortable.

Since we had to catch an early flight the next morning, John and Betty provided us with a very nice breakfast tray of cereal, fresh fruit, etc. before we went to bed for the evening so we could eat at our convenience in the morning.

Betty and John are very gracious and personable and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Our 10 year old son is a sports fanatic and John helped him locate all the sports programming on the living room cable box (Note: more choices there than on the in-room TV's). Although we did not take her up on her offer, Betty offered to drive us into town and help us line up return transportation in the event we wanted to hit the pubs one last time before we went home without any worries about driving.

Access to the airport is an easy 10 minute drive, so this was a good place to wrap up our trip.

As one reviewer noted, the policy is "cash only." Like many B&B's in Ireland, Ivory Lodge advertises through a third-party web site (that's how we made our reservation). When you use your credit card to make your reservation, your "deposit" is really the commission to the web site operator.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2006

I stayed here for a couple of days having arrived at Shannon Airport (5 min away). The B&B gave me exactly what i wanted, which was hotel service, with the personal touch that allowed me to learn about the area and some of Irelands culture. I really enjoyed it. The hosts were really accommodating and ive recommended it to loads of friends

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2006

The rooms at Ivory Lodge were spacious, warm and beautifully kept. Betty and John (the hosts) are lovely people. We had tons of questions and they were very attentive to our needs. Their tips and recommendations made for a amazing stay in the Clare area and I can recommend their home wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
1.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
4.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carrygerry Country House
0.8 mi away
Balally House B&B
Balally House B&B
#2 of 11 in Shannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ivory Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Drumline, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ivory Lodge Bed And Breakfast Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing