We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food,great atmosphere”

Shannigans Gastro Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Gastropub
Description: Shannigan's Gastro Pub has a stunning interior that mixes the best of rustic and contemporary design to give an overall atmosphere that is sophisticated but yet warm. Shannigans has just received an award for Best Newcomer in the Irish Restaurant Awards Munster Region for Clare, 2015 - a true testament to the quality of food and service, which we pride ourselves on. Individual design features abound such as an Extensive Wine Display, Traditional Snug and a feature Fireplace. Comfy seating areas, eclectic mix of soft materials and an interesting variety of finishes makes for a very warm and inviting ambience. Lighting that subtly changes throughout the day creates a warm mood that constantly picks up on the original bric-a-brac that has been carefully sourced throughout Ireland. A state of the art sound system along with multiple screens provide an on-going audio visual experience that is both soothing and interesting and comes into its own for the big match! Shannigan's offers live music at weekends featuring local musicians playing a mix of contemporary and traditional music The Food, Shannigan's Gastro Pub's principles is to draw on Irish food producers who offer ethically produced, sustainable Irish produce. Relationships with suppliers are nearly as important as relationships with our customers! Food is one of life's greatest joys and we believe when you use great local fresh ingredients and offer a menu that is balanced and sensibly portioned that this joy comes to life. All our Menus reflect seasonality, with dishes cooked in a creative yet traditional style. Enjoy lots of variation on menus and the daily specials will reaffirm our commitment to seasonal cooking. The Drink, Shannigan's commitment to supporting Irish producers also extends to its drink offering. From craft beers produced by Irish Artisan Brewers to blends of Spirits that are being produced in emerging micro distilleries dotted around the country. All of this is complimented by wines and international brands carefully sourced to appeal to all tastes. Food served daily from 12.30pm to 9.30pm. Shannigan's Gastro Pub is your place to pause, relax, indulge and share!
Restaurant details
Description: Shannigan's Gastro Pub has a stunning interior that mixes the best of rustic and contemporary design to give an overall atmosphere that is sophisticated but yet warm. Shannigans has just received an award for Best Newcomer in the Irish Restaurant Awards Munster Region for Clare, 2015 - a true testament to the quality of food and service, which we pride ourselves on. Individual design features abound such as an Extensive Wine Display, Traditional Snug and a feature Fireplace. Comfy seating areas, eclectic mix of soft materials and an interesting variety of finishes makes for a very warm and inviting ambience. Lighting that subtly changes throughout the day creates a warm mood that constantly picks up on the original bric-a-brac that has been carefully sourced throughout Ireland. A state of the art sound system along with multiple screens provide an on-going audio visual experience that is both soothing and interesting and comes into its own for the big match! Shannigan's offers live music at weekends featuring local musicians playing a mix of contemporary and traditional music The Food, Shannigan's Gastro Pub's principles is to draw on Irish food producers who offer ethically produced, sustainable Irish produce. Relationships with suppliers are nearly as important as relationships with our customers! Food is one of life's greatest joys and we believe when you use great local fresh ingredients and offer a menu that is balanced and sensibly portioned that this joy comes to life. All our Menus reflect seasonality, with dishes cooked in a creative yet traditional style. Enjoy lots of variation on menus and the daily specials will reaffirm our commitment to seasonal cooking. The Drink, Shannigan's commitment to supporting Irish producers also extends to its drink offering. From craft beers produced by Irish Artisan Brewers to blends of Spirits that are being produced in emerging micro distilleries dotted around the country. All of this is complimented by wines and international brands carefully sourced to appeal to all tastes. Food served daily from 12.30pm to 9.30pm. Shannigan's Gastro Pub is your place to pause, relax, indulge and share!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is gorgeous,plentiful and the staff are wonderful.There is a great selection of light bites or something more substantial.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michellet888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomsM7536NJ, Director of Sales at Shannigans Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful 5* review Michelle. Delighted that you enjoyed your meal and service and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018

As the title suggests this place serves tasty, freshly prepared food that is reasonably priced. Their portions are on the large side so plan accordingly if youd like to keep room for dessert. We ate here over a few days and the specials menu changed daily. The restaurant itself was very nicely decorated with a nice amount of intimacy to get seating plan. The staff were all lovely to deal with and service was relatively fast.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomsM7536NJ, Director of Sales at Shannigans Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Thank you very much Danielle for your 5* review following on from your recent visit with us at Shannigans Gastro Pub. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch today to Shannigans gastric pub in the Dromoland inn.
At €12.50 shannigans classic, seriously!!
It’s an overpriced club sandwich...
Picture 2 is what I left behind, I couldn’t even eat it as it was cold and tasteless! The lettuce wasn’t even dressed and the bloomer loaf they promised was plain white sliced.
This is my first bad review. I feel robbed.
You’d get a better sandwich in a fuel station.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sightsee61866998997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Shannigans Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for your review, although we are obviously disappointed that your experience was not up to the standards we pride ourselves on. I have spoken with both the Bar Supervisor and our Head Chef with regards to this and they do recall your visit yesterday with us.
Liam mentioned that you informed him at the end of the meal that you were unhappy and he immediately offered you a discount and explained that we would have been more than happy to replace the meal if you were unhappy with it and mentioned it at the time, when you were checked on during your meal.
The Sandwich does indeed include the Bloomers Loaf, which is supplied to us by Larousse Foods. This item along with all of our menu items are cooked to order, so you should have received this at the correct temperature and the salad is lightly dressed.
We try to ensure all of our guests leave the hotel with a positive experience and this is extremely important to us, all we ask is that if you are not entirely satisfied that you mention it at the time and we will be more than happy to replace or reorder.
Please do contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further - tom.shanahan@theinnatdromoland.ie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We will have a lovely family meal and as muscles Absolutely beautiful. Nice Guinness on tap Some nice bottle Craft beer the ipa from Clare was beautiful.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Tonycpfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomsM7536NJ, Director of Sales at Shannigans Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your wonderful 5* review , delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here and though the atmosphere and drinks were great the food was mediocre. Also, it seems to be a tour bus hotel so the pub filled up very quickly and tables were hard to get. We were a party of 6 and 3 enjoyed their dinners and 3 thought they were sub par! Fresh fish was the winner that evening. Pasta was horrible!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ARS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Shannigans Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and drinks while with us. We cater for a wide range of guests from Tours to local guests. I do apologise that some of your party did not experience the normal quality while with us, however thank you for letting us know, I will certainly pass on your comments to our kitchen.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shannigans Gastro Pub also viewed

Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 

Been to Shannigans Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing