We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and service”
Review of VL Restaurant

VL Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: VL Restaurant is a fine dining restaurant at Vaughan Lodge Hotel. The Restaurant opens normally on Tuesday evening to Saturday Evening. Dinner only is served with a set menu and A La Carte selection. The emphasis is on classic french cuisine with a modern style and presentation. There are seafood and meat dishes and vegetarian options also. Booking is essential as numbers are limited each evening. Closed November to April
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This restaurant is 5star dining at reasonable prices. Food is excellent, staff are great. If you are in Lahinch and wish to have a quality meal, you must eat here.

Thank AdelaideGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Great to have a far travelling Tourist endorsing our efforts
This is exactly what we work to achieve
It is good to read your words of praise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for VL Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We picked this restaurant as it was listed in a number of guides but we had been disappointed by other choices from the same guides so were cautious.
No need to worry. This restaurant is awesome. Lovely decor and ambiance, excellent service from well trained staff and wonderful food.
Three of us ate completely different choices and nobody was disappointed
Highly recommended to anyone looking for good food in nice surroundings.

1  Thank Broughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thanks for the vote of confidence
We try to please a broad plate with our menu choice
We are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Got a seafood platter and a fish'n'chips to share between my girlfriend and I, and some white wine (can't remember which one though). The food was very pricey, but also super delicious, and very worth it - and the vibe and waitress was really good.

1  Thank Mikaelfromcopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Seafood Platter is not on our menu
This review was for Liscannor
Sounds like an old record playing now lol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Top class restaurant. Large group with kids and everyone was completely satisfied and kids were very well treated. Food, Location and service all excellent. Will definitely return when back in Lahinch again.

Thank ronnydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Family groups are always welcome
We like to cater for all generations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Vaughan Lodge has been in our sights and we finally booked a dinner there in June. It turned out to be a gem. This restaurant has excellent seafood choices but the duck for mains was a really nice presentation and was memorable as a dish. Staff were attentive and provided excellent service. The restaurant is a little bit retro or traditional in appearance although the facility was built relatively recently. This restaurant is a keeper for casual and special occasion dining and has good parking facilities. Judging by the clientele it is frequented by overseas visitors probably golfers. Michael Vaughan the owner introduces himself and makes sure that your visit goes well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at VL Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

We are delighted to be a bit retro....lol
Nothing wrong with a bit of Tradition we think
The reviewer obviously enjoyed the fare
We are delighted to be on your radar now !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VL Restaurant also viewed

 
Lahinch, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 
Lahinch, County Clare
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to VL Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing