We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot.”
Review of Lahinch Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lahinch Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Lahinch is a lovely place and the hostel has a Great location, and is very tidy & clean. Very cheap. Lovely ghowers. Short walk to the beach, shorter walk to the pubs. It's all good. Friendly service too. I would recommend to any one. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevOM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed in this hostel as part of a large group of college students and could not have been happier with the experience. The staff encouraged having a bit of craic and although we had every intention of cleaning up the next morning (I swear!) they beat us to the punch and had done all the work before we woke up. Cannot wait to stay there again next year!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

First of all, it's a hostel, so don't expect a regal interior. If you can get over that and just want somewhere to stay overnight in Lahinch, this place fits the bill. Admittedly I went with a group of friends aged 18-20 so we made a long night of it, but we didn't need the lap of luxury to enjoy ourselves. As for having Sky TV...take a bow!
The red-haired lad who booked us in was very polite and didn't mind us coming and going as we pleased. He did ask us to call it a night eventually but that was fair enough - it was 4am after all! It's near everything in Lahinch as well which is a plus, although you may be searching a while for on-street parking.
The rooms are basic but again if all you want is a bed for the night they'll suffice. All in all, an acceptable hostel which never threatened to truly amaze.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamt505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Booking this hostel was a nightmare. Do NOT give out your credit card details to them over the phone. This hostel is badly run and unorganized. The hygiene levels are very poor with no hand soap provided in the shared bathrooms. The dorm was very cramped and not very clean. The staff were rude and disturbed our stay with constant phone calls as they could not seem to keep track of the booking. There is no car parking provided. The kitchen wasn't very clean and cups had a stale smell in them. I definitely would not stay here again and do not recommend it. There is no value for money at all. The walls of the dorm are not sound proof and we were rudely disturbed at 4am to people knocking on the door. 8am the next morning people were singing loudly and could be heard clearly through the walls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodgau, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hostel was not very clean (I found a coke-bottle under the bed), the linen feeld a little damp and the sitting area dounstairs was not comftable. The TV was always on and very loud. The kitchen wasn´t clean at all so we washed everything bevor we used it.

I guess this is a hostel for joung guys going surfing.

The only good thing was the free wifi and the indian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I have stayed here a few times [whenever i wasn't invoved in picking the accomodation]. It's fine - a grand place to come with a group of friends. But I find the bedrooms and bathrooms VERY basic in comparison with a place i stayed last year the West Coast Lodge, which I thought was newer and fresher, and we had an en suite shower and toilet there.

Sharing 2 bathrooms with a load of men on boozy weekends is dangerous!! [dangerously disgusting that is!]. We bought liquid handwash for the bathroom as there was none, no soap or anything.

Showers were freezing as so many people came in from surfing at the same time. Does that not happen every day like??? Could they not get electric hot showers? Madness. Though, the showers are very powerful which is good.

On a positive note staff are very pleassant, location could not be better, kitchen area is clean and spacious, tv area is social and cosy.

Room Tip: 2 x 4 bed rooms is better than 1 x 8 bed room...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank wickedchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisburgh, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We spent a night here while travelling up the west coast and were bitterly disappointed. The decor is old and musty and the place could really do with a clean.
We were shown to our room where the linen clearly hadn't been changed since the last people were there, one of the beds even had someones wet surfing towel under the covers. Rooms are small and basic, it was also quite loud as it is on the road.
Showers were very poor and so dirty non of us could actually face taking a shower. Kitchen wasn't terrible but you had to re-wash things before you used them for cooking. At 17euro per person I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Good location for surfing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 27_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Inn Hotel
Shamrock Inn Hotel
#10 of 17 in Lahinch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahinch Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahinch Hostel

Property: Lahinch Hostel
Address: Church Street, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lahinch Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing