We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vaughan Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Hotel & Spa(Ennistymon)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish Point House(Spanish Point)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
King Thomond Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
338
40
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
40
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courselahinch golf clubgolf tripplace to stayamuse bouchesmall hotelround of golfthe entire staffperfect stayporridgeshort walkcomfortable bedsdining roomrooms are largethree nightssmoked salmonclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just finished a 2 night stay at Vaughan Lodge with an eight person golf group. The facility is clean and modern in a good location close to the golf course and beach. Rooms were quiet. The entire staff and owner were excellent and went out of their way in a pleasing manner to accommodate all of our group's needs which were many. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

What a pleasure it was to have you all stay.
We love it when our guests make requests - isnt that what hospitality is all about. If it was as simple as giving out the room key and taking your money we would not be in this business at all. Our challenge is to meet your needs and anticipate most of them in advance.
The friend/colleagues who work with me here Martina, Laura, Ylonah, Breda, Dee, Dorota, Kaisia, Krys, Dan, Carol, Christian, Shane, Bugunia and Paul all say thank you for your custom and for keeping us in employment in the place we love to live.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My family of 6 stayed here for one night in May 2013. The reception desk associates were FANTASTIC at everything that they do. They made the best suggestions for dinners and activities for the girls while the boys golfed at Lahinch. The rooms were clean and had all new EVERYTHING.

Loved this place, loved hanging out in the lounge area with the bar.

We would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brit2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Manager at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

What can we say except ..."you are most welcome"
Laura Ylonah and Martina do a fantastic job at the front Desk and are always interested in ensuring our guests make the most of a visit to our lovely area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A great place to base a tour of golf courses, the cliffs of Moher, the Burren, Lisdoonvarna and near enough to Limerick, Shannon Airport etc to make life easy. Well run, staff alert and well trained, the owner much in evidence, well presented rooms and well decorated modern feel all went to make a good couple of days.
Dinner was good too. Just watch for the alarming array of whiskies in the lounge bar..a dreadful temptation when in after dinner mode!

Room Tip: Ours was at the front, but noise wasn't an issue
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trenchfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

It is never easy to restart a seasonal hotel each year and like all our seasonal hotel colleagues we try to match or better the service offered by year round professional establishments. We take great encouragement from this review and strive to deliver great care and heart in our service. The whiskeys are a culmination of the preferences of guests over the years. If we don't stock your favourite tipple we will aim to have it in the shelf for your next visit .
Thank you for your business
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This small family run hotel prides itself on friendly personal service and we were made to feel welcome.
The room was spacious, uncluttered and spotless with a very comfortable kingsize bed. There was adequate storage space and a small safe. (The hotel does not offer extras like a mini-bar or tea/coffee facilities in the room.)
We had dinner in the restaurant twice. The menu places emphasis on seafood and the food was very good with nice little extras - warm homemade bread, an interesting little amuse bouche as pre-starter and as pre-dessert. The service was second to none - an efficient and charming waitress - she knows who she is!
A nice hotel with a feel-good factor.

Room Tip: Traffic buzz from the main road noticeable from a room at front of hotel - largely ceases from about 11.00p.m.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScamallNaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We welcome theis review from our Italian guests - thank you for translating it for other reviewers.
The lady who knows who she is is definitely Breda - a well grounded and most hospitable lady and indespensible to Vaughan Lodge's great crew of friends and work colleagues.
We do not offer a minibar - it is a very impersonal way of dispensing drinks to guests when you have only 22 bedrooms. Likewise with the tea and Coffee Tray - why put up with UHT milk and Powdered Coffee when you can ask for tea or coffee during your stay without charge - we prefer to serve you a nice steaming tea or coffee with one of Carol's short bread biscuits or Dan's tiny but scrumptious chocolate chip cookies.
We would hate to be confused with a chain type hotel with formulaic service standards.
At Vaughan Lodge all of the team are concerned about service. if you ask for a coffee or tea tray of course we will provide it - Likewise we have some minibar type fridges available for guests who want to be a bedroom hermit - but there is little call on that here !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed only one night at the hotel and had connecting rooms on the ground floor. We were surprised ho everything is so well finished and modern. The rooms were spacious, the restaurant was really good and staff was just super nice - thanks Breda for putting up with the kids and entertaining them! We had alovely time although short. We could not commentas to locationin Lahinch, we stayed at the hotel and then drove to the cliffs from there.

Room Tip: Ground floor would not be my first choice- but it was quiet as slightly away from the main road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Merci Bien a vous .... Thank you for your kind words.
Yes... Breda is the best and I marvel every other evening at how she handles situations with such cool and treats children the way a child would want every adult to treat them!!
This review is for you, Breda,and Dorota and Laura who were all on duty when you stayed and are delighted to have their services complimented in such a lovely manner.
It is for guests like you that we continue to work in this intensive industry!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews