We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent just one night at Vaughan Lodge in July 2013. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out the entire experience was outstanding. The staff were very welcoming and genuinely interested in providing a fantastic service. Their manner and efficency was exemplary, professional and top class, exactly what you expect but often never receive in the Ireland of 2013. The front of house staff were brilliant and very efficient and the dining room staff were fantastic. We came with two children in tow and the head waitress brought crayons, stickers and other amusements to keep them happy all of which meant we stayed and enjoyed an amazing meal for two hours!! The food was lovely with lots of little flourishes and surprise courses. The room we stayed in was spotless and furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Absolutley 10/10. We managed to leave an item of clothing behind and the staff really bent over backwards to track it down and post it on to us in the UK. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and the Vaughan Lodge experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fobuach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We have a motto here in Vaughan Lodge " Nice People deserve Nice things" !!
Not that any other sort of temperament will be shunned or treated in any less than favourable manner either lol
But you know what we mean!
It was our pleasure to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at the Vaughan Lodge in Lehinch on my last golfing trip to Ireland (July 10 – 17). We landed at Shannon airport and drove straight to the Vaughan Lodge on a beautiful summer day. I must say that the Lodge exceeded all my expectations. The owner Michael Vaughan personally manages the Lodge and has succeeded in provided all modern comforts at the Lodge with the warmth and personal touch of a family home. The room was spacious and bathrooms were excellent (definitely 5 star quality), however, it would be nice if a kettle with tea/coffee could be provided and there is no fridge in the room. Breakfast is included and was excellent

We stayed 2 nights and dined at the Lodge on both evenings. The food is superb – better than I have eaten at very highly rated resturants in Ireland and the price per head is approximately 40 euros which I thought was good value for what was served.

If you are a golfer than Lehinch Golf Club is superb and a 5 min walk from the Lodge. There are a few eating places in town which is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Lodge but I would recommend the restaurant at the Lodge.

I would rate the overall experience at the Lodge as really superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arif99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for such positive feed back
I take the kettle suggestion on board
I prefer to offer complimentary tea or coffee to guests during their stay as it will be accompanied by some nice home made cookies!!
Bur saying that.... if the season yields a better than last year financial result I may just buy a few nespresso machines altogether!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, België
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

great hotel, very friendly staff, big rooms. in the rooms its cool even when its almost +30 C outside ( not unimportant). good location, close to everything: the ocean, beach, golf, cliffs of Moter, castle of Bunratty

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelika_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
You can fit a lot into a few lines when you write a pithy review like this.
The reason for the cool rooms is that Dorota and Kaisa close the curtains ( Drapes in the USA) early in the morning and prevent the sun's warm rays from heating up the space.
If we could only store that rare heat for other cooler days that would be pure magic!!
You were a cool guest yourself .... as in ....we took pleasure in accommodating you!!
Thanks for appreciating our small Inn
All at Vaughan Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

One of the best things about this hotel are your hosts, the owners, who are friendly and well informed, and provide a great welcome. Our room was massive and decorated to a really high standard, with everything you would need and more. The whole hotel seems to be knitted out to an American standard, which is understandable as the majority of guests seemed to be American, golfers or otherwise. Breakfast was a slight letdown, but not enough to take away a star. It was just a bit cheffy, with artfully scattered parsley and cherry tomatoes, when I really just wanted beans and a mountain of toast. The continental selection was excellent though, so we certainly didn't go hungry. Lehinch is a couple of minutes walk away, with loads of good pubs and restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmcsnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
It is always a delight to get children interested in food!!
A trip to the Kitchen is on the cards for those who finish their meals or manage to show enough of a clean plate lol.
Breda gets the plaudits for the child care as she cannot be out done for effort and interest in what a child wants.
We would love to have you stay again - you make the hard work behind the scenes worthwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We decided at last minute to head to the seaside for an overnight stay in Lahinch. We had such a great time in Vaughan Lodge. The welcome from Michael and the team was everything that is great about Irish hospitality. The room for perfect and we had our 2 children with us. The team in the restaurant look after us so well and the kids were taken into the kitchen to meet with the chef. The overall feel of the place is relaxed and informal but with very sharp and attentive service. The breakfast offering is also top notch and with a par if not above many hotel offerings with fresh breads and pastries and fruits etc. We will definitely be back for more of the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnachaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you kind Sir for your review
I am always wary that we might slip from a pedestal when I read a review as praise giving as yours, but that in itself is the control - we like to do well for our guests and you have given us encouragement to continue
Happy days and mornings and evenings ......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory Corners, Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My golf buddy and I stayed at Vaughan Lodge in early June, 2013 for two days and nights. Everything about the lodge is wonderful, absolutely wonderful. The room we had was very clean, and everything in it seemed new. After coming off a miserable flight across the pond it was just the ticket for relaxation. But first, the receptionist did yeoman service getting my friend's cell phone to work in Ireland, she went way beyond what I would consider "normal" assistance. We took all of our meals there, but for lunch at the golf course which is about 1/2 mile away. The owner's omelets in the mornings were delicious, as were all of the meals there. The second night we each had filet of Irish beefplace I look, each was prepared to our particular specifications, and spectacularly delectable. The bar right off the lobby is a central meeting place after golf for the guests, and it is very well stocked, including some excellent Scotch whiskys not available in the USA. The views from the lodge are of the golf course and clubhouse, where you can watch the golfers head up number one. Vaughan Lodge is a very charming place with excellent staff, who are well trained and attentive, and with delicious food and drink, I ask you. What more could anyone ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for the kind words.
I am really glad that we managed to please you on so many levels
It was our pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just finished a 2 night stay at Vaughan Lodge with an eight person golf group. The facility is clean and modern in a good location close to the golf course and beach. Rooms were quiet. The entire staff and owner were excellent and went out of their way in a pleasing manner to accommodate all of our group's needs which were many. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
What a pleasure it was to have you all stay.
We love it when our guests make requests - isnt that what hospitality is all about. If it was as simple as giving out the room key and taking your money we would not be in this business at all. Our challenge is to meet your needs and anticipate most of them in advance.
The friend/colleagues who work with me here Martina, Laura, Ylonah, Breda, Dee, Dorota, Kaisia, Krys, Dan, Carol, Christian, Shane, Bugunia and Paul all say thank you for your custom and for keeping us in employment in the place we love to live.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing