We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You Ilona!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thank You Ilona!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I did not stay at the Vaughan Lodge, they were fully booked when I rolled in at 11:00pm 8th August, 2013 randomly looking for a place to sleep.

Still, I received a very warm welcome and much needed assistant from an amazing young lady attending the check-in desk by the name of Ilona. Between answering room service requests from guests, not only did Ilona take the the time to search for accommodation for me, but when every on-line search turned up no results, on a hunch she telephoned another facility a few minutes away and was able to secure a room for me, last minute, and at a reduce rate!! She then printed out directions for me to ensure I wouldn't get lost in the middle of the night.

Ilona, you are a *STAR* and Vaughan Lodge is fortunate to have you!

A personal and heart-felt Thank You to you!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Ylonah is a star and represents what we are about at Vaughan Lodge and what we try to achieve whether you stay with us or have some interaction with us on your visit to Lahinch.
We are lucky to have each other is how I would like to think the equation works!!

Stand out Ylonah and take a bow.... you deserve it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    39
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here one weekend recently. This small boutique type hotel really hits the mark if you want a little bit of luxury and style. service was efficient and friendly throughout and nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. Although the hotel was full it was very quiet late at night so a sound sleep was assured. Our room had a sea view , was large and spotlessly clean. It seems to cater for many American tourists especially golfers. The breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were simply superb as was the service. Being regular travellers to west Clare over the last 10 years we can't believe it has taken us this long to find a hotel like this that is well above average. Only small gripe is the price but you get what you pay for. Walking distance to the beach and town and a great base for exploring the west coast of Clare. Highly recommend this for couples.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamrocker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Another great expression of my Dad's was that the best marketing a hotel can do is within the four walls of the premises. No amount of Irish Times advertising can explain what the atmosphere of a hotel is like. We are delighted you found us and hopefully we will enjoy serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel displays thoughtful design, superior fixtures and 5* service. While our front facing best-in-the-house room was somewhat noisy for me, the room was spacious, elegant and flawless in all respects, & staff repeatedly volunteered change of room. Many quiet rooms available, some with views, but it is the overall superior quality of the ambience and style of the entire institution that stands out. Walls are decorated with high quality canvas-mounted colour plates of the magnificent Burren & Cliffs of Moher shot by the proprietor himself. Room colours reflect the earthy tones of the region and the understated elegance extends to the restaurant and bar.
The restaurant is fine dining with the surprisingly young but experienced Chef exhibiting bold and adventurous cuisine with strong independent flavours.
But it is the open warmth & true hospitality of the proprietor & his staff that wins ones heart!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjumMadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Well.... not sure that all that is necessary....lol
We just did what we would normally do for any of our guests and try to serve as best as possible.
Stars are immaterial really when it comes to service. It is possible to receive five star service in even a 2 star hotel. We just like to have happy satisfied guests and push ourselves to the limits of what we can achieve here in the wiles of North Clare on the Wild Atlantic Way!
That you considered us 5 stars is better than any hotel inspector's visit
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights recently as part of a road trip around the South West of Ireland. Though Lahinch town wouldn't win the prettiest town in Ireland award it does have the most stunning beach, great music pouring out of pubs and that world famous golf course. Vaughan Lodge was a great base for touring beautiful Co. Clare and came with quite exceptional service and food provided by the ever hospitable Michael Vaughan and his lovely team. The breakfasts were the best we had anywhere and dinner is not to be missed...The single nicest thing apart from the food was the warmth and helpfulness of the staff. Surf Lesson required? Not a problem, can be organised. Need some mid-tour washing done?
Laundry washed and returned promptly at a very reasonable rate. After checking out I discovered en route back to London that we had left some items behind us. The team found, packed and posted everything back to us straight away and refused any payment to cover the expense. Very impressed! Special thanks to the delightful Laura on front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gd2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
My 91 year old Dad who brought me into this business and was himself a 3rd generation hospitality man always said that families were the back bone of Irish Tourism.
If an hotel cannot afford welcome and hospitality to children and their parents then it is failing to serve. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed the hotel and Lahinch and we hope to see you return again
Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

stayed at Vaughan lodge for 2 nights recently on a golf trip with friends. wow! great location - walking distance to lahinch golf club and town. the rooms were setup perfectly. we ate at the lodge both nights and the food was superb. the staff was friendly, professional, and quite interactive. mention Big Bang Theory to Rita and you will be in-like-flint! laura at the desk (not nora) was very accommodating and friendly. I had an issue with phone/bank service and she went out of her way to make sure I had every opportunity to connect with customer service and thought of ways to enhance my experience by thinking outside the box. thank you Vaughan lodge - I plan to visit you again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgomberg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Its definitely Laura ( not Nora ) but alas its also Breda ( Not Rita ) lol
But no worries .... Breda will warm to your theories on the Big Bang or any other alternatives!!
In between she serves our guests with a disarming combination of professionalism, wit and low key Irishness that you just cannot manufacture.
All my colleagues are great people to work with and to work for - we all work for each other and for our guests - I am so glad that you saw that on your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I experienced an outstanding stay in Lahinch, all thanks to Michael and staff! From the big details (Michael provided excellent maps, directions, sightseeing recommendations, and dining suggestions) to the little details (110v outlets in the rooms for US visitors)...it was the best lodging experience we have ever had. Easy to find/park. Within walking distance to town, and driving distance to the Cliffs. The food was exceptional. Our extended family will be visiting Ireland next year, and this will be our #1 recommendation for place to visit/stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Gentle readers please note that I am not related to the reviewer !!!
Thank you for a superlative review
We probably should just blush .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We landed in Lahinch (Lehinch?) almost by accident, after following a suggestion from a B&B owner in Kinsale. We were headed to Galway and the Cliffs of Moher, and this seemed like a good spot to stay.

When we drove into this funky little surf village, it just blew me away! Such a cool little town.

Anyway, we hadn't organised accommodation, but based on a recommendation we ventured to the Vaughan Lodge and managed to grab a room. What a surprise! One of the biggest rooms in any accommodation we'd stayed in during our 5 week trip. Bathroom was brilliant, bed was absolutely massive! Room temperature was perfect given the high temps outside. And it was as quiet as a church mouse.

Location wise, it was less than 5 minutes walk into the town centre where the food and drink options were plentiful.

Breakfast at the Vaughan was like a fine dining experience. Loads of fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, coffee, tea, yoghurt, pastries.....you name it, it was there for you. Then, the hot freshly cooked breakfast with a number of choices, all beautifully served. Perfect!

This place is one of the most popular places in town for a reason. The perfect hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
I am blushing now .....lol
We take great pride in doing our work and it is lovely to have that appreciated
Saying that- we are only as good as our next guest's experience so we will enjoy the praise for a nano second and quickly get back to serving our guests !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing