We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vaughan Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Hotel & Spa(Ennistymon)
US$154
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doolin House(Doolin)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish Point House(Spanish Point)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
337
40
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
40
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courselahinch golf clubgolf tripplace to stayamuse bouchesmall hotelround of golfthe entire staffperfect stayporridgeshort walkcomfortable bedsdining roomrooms are largethree nightssmoked salmonclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We come to Ireland regularly and Vaughan Lodge is one of our favorites for both lodging and GREAT dinners. We've been as a couple, with other golfers, and friends have stayed here on our recommendation - every experiece ha been excellent. The food is an absolute 10 - during my last dinner there in August I had the Doonbeg lobster with prawn risotta and shellfish bisque - it was spectacular as was my husbands monkfish. We think this is the very first choice of lodging in the Lahinch area - practically next to the course and the service as well as the food is first rate. Book early or it fills up because of irts reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

It has been a real pleasure to have you stay and offer you hospitality.
The greatest compliment is when a guest sends their friends to stay or visit ...
we are honoured

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at Vaughan Lodge for the second time and it will always be one of our favorite places in Ireland. The proximity to Lahinch Golf Club is convenient and the ability to walk into Lahinch is very good for shopping and entertainment. There's no reason to leave Vaughan Lodge for meals...nothing compares with the high level of cuisine that you'll experience and the cozy bar is a delight. We were leaving for Shannon after playing golf and had experienced "true Irish" weather that day (slightly drowned to say the least). We had already checked out but were going back to pick up our bags. Without hesitation, the receptionist asked if we wanted to take warm showers...it was just so thoughtful but we were already dried off and ready to get on the road. True Irish hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripster049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for writing such a kind note on Trip Advisor
We are small enough to offer an extra little service than larger hotels.
It is one of the best rewards a hotelier can experience when a guest returns and is as delighted on their return as they were when they departed.
Your tip is a good one but just to note that we do not advertise views or charge for them.
A neighbour obliterated three lovely views when they constructed a house near us so a view can be a fleeting thing.....lol
Having said that, it is always worth a request !!
Thank you again
Michael, Maria, Daniel and Ciallann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum for three nights and ate in the restaurant 2 nights last month.

The small hotel is very well run, rooms an excellent standard and service top class.

The bar is lovely and cosy and very welcoming. The restaurant was busy the two nights and service top class. The fish was to die for and nothing was an issue with waitress (from Cork who's name escapes me) was so perceptive as she copped I was in really pregnancy stages with nausea and suggested options suitable! Such a nice lady and so welcoming.

I would certainly stay again but I have two prices of advice for the hotel- one look at your starter options, a pregnant lady had little to choose from with lots of shell fish and fois gras! I have to add though when I asked for
Melon it was served beautifully! Secondly consider playing music in the reception area as on entry it does not reflect the warm welcome the hotel presents.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDowling_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review and the pieces of advice for us.
The very best of luck with your pregnancy from us all
Breda served you when you stayed.
My Dad always said the best music in a hotel was the sound of happy guests in banter and the sound of the welcome from the staff. I will mull over music in the lobby.... ....maybe!
The restaurant of course is advertised as a seafood restaurant but we are always happy to accommodate other requests. We do have Soup, Goats Cheese, a Salad and a Rabbit Terrine as alternative starters and there is always Melon as a back-up.
If you have a special dietary requirement it is best to let us know in advance.
The menu is available to read each day from 1.00pm and we will even email it in advance to give guests an idea of what may be in store when they arrive.
We would love to ensure guests have as much choice as possible from our menu.
A bit of advance notice will always ensure a good result.
All in all, thank you for your business and advice - It is only a committed guest that will offer a business the benefit of their experience and we are honoured to receive any words that will assist us in delivering good hospitality and care
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at the the lodge our first night in Ireland, Right around the corner from Lahinch Golf Club.
Wonderful dinner. Incredible full Irish breakfast. The food is obviously local, and you can taste the difference! Staff was extremely friendly, and helpful. After a round of golf, the shower was like having a massage! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed our small hotel.
Yes, you are right that the food is sourced and prepared with every care to ensure that it is to a high standards when you are ready to be served.
we hope you may come back to us again
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our 4th visit to Vaughan Lodge, and it remains one of our favorite places in Ireland. Everything about Vaughan's is excellent from its lodging, its friendliness, and most importantly, its restaurant. After a challenging day on the links it is very relaxing to come back to Vaughan's for a pint of Guinness and an exceptional dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you John
Lets hope that trip number 5 will be the best yet!!
We are grateful for your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews