We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for one night on 17/7/14. We found this hotel so welcoming and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were tastefully decorated with extra attention to details, like a fan in the rooms, a music stereo, quality bathroom products, and fluffy large towels. Excellent comfortable beds & pillows to ensure a great nights sleep. We had an evening meal in their restaurant which was fabulous and served by very attentive staff. Breakfast had a large selection of breads, ham, cheese, fruit, cereals etc on the buffet table and then we had a menu to pick from for our breakfast such as freshly cooked fish to bagels and irish cooked breakfast just making you feel spoilt and special ......just like you should when you are on holiday. This hotel goes that extra length to make you feel spoilt and enjoy your stay with them. We would defiantly recommend a stay here and only wish we were able to stay longer & hope to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cupcakequeen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are all so delighted you enjoyed yourselves here.
Everyone would love to have you back too!!
If you cant return you can always send the money .... !!!
Only Joking!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently stayed at Vaughan's for 4 nights, it has to be one of the best places we have stayed and we have stayed at a lot of places around the world.

The physical attributes of the hotel are great, with very good sized rooms, a great bar and even better dining room. The hotel is located a short walk to the main part of town so easy to dine at other locations as well.

The best part of the hotel is its people, everyone, yes everyone, was a delight to deal with. Michael, the owner, really has selected and trained his staff to perfection. They are welcoming very efficient, courteous and professional.

The restaurant serves a great breakfast and has a fantastic dinner and compared with other places is not expensive. Also has a great wine list.

Highly recommend, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

It is so rewarding to read that our efforts are appreciated.
I have very little training to do really as my team are all attentive caring professionals who enjoy serving others.
Long may it continue
Thank you for your custom and THANK you to all my wonderful staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I believe the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, and Aran Islands pull up the prices of accommodation in this area, but compared to other places we stayed in Ireland, Vaughan Lodge seemed to be twice the price for about the same product. It is more like a hotel than a B&B and is close to restaurants in town.

Breakfast was lovely and the room was clean; I really can't say anything negative about it besides the higher price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed our service and hotel. It is a hotel alright and not a B&B .... we have never advertised it as anything other than a full service four star hotel.
The stay here cost Eur70 per person bed and breakfast on the night in question. Looking through the other places the reviewer has stayed, only one matches Vaughan lodge for standard and facility. The price at the similar establishment was €10 more than the stay in Lahinch. It is incorrect to generalise about the price of other hotels of similar standard being half the price. The reviewers other stays were at B&B's where the price will always be roughly half of a hotel price.
We have a new hotel built right at the peak of the Boom so it will take many decades to recoup that investment.... All told, we run a nice hotel and charge what is a fair price. Charging less would put us out of business given the modest returns the hotel generates.
The reviewer is entitled to an opinion but gentle reader, please remember the old adage of comparing apples with apples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I and another couple recently returned from a golfing trip to Ireland. Our travel specialists, SGH Golf, booked us into this small boutique hotel in Lahinch. What a find! This is billed as a small luxury hotel and restaurant and was everything as advertised and more. The owner, Michael Vaughn, was terrific and chatted with us on many occasions. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. We ate dinner in their restaurant the first night and were treated to a fabulous 4 star meal. This is a definite don't miss opportunity. Just down the street from Lahinch golf course and only 15 minutes from the Cliffs of Moher.


Linda and Ron from Chapel Hill, NC

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljay43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We would like to agree with you as being a must stay hotel!! Lol
We work hard to deliver a great standard to all our guests.
Your review encourages us to continue our quest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our group consisted of four couples on a nine day golf and sightseeing trip to Ireland. We stayed at the Trident Hotel in Kinsale for two nights, the Malton in Killarney for four and spent the last two nights of our vacation in Lahinch. The Vaughn Lodge exceeded our expectations enormously. Two things were particularly impressive. First of all, the service was simply wonderful. I can honestly say that the service here was better than the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons. It seemed as if they were happy and willing to do anything and everything they could to make us comfortable. As one of us (who is not known for being easy to please) said, "If I had asked them to run into town for Polish sausage and beer at 3 in the morning, they would have done it with a smile!" The food (breakfast, dinner) was quite simply the best we had on our entire trip!

Room Tip: Some rooms had views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank William_from_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

It was our pleasure to deliver to your exacting standards !!
We enjoyed your company and custom.
It is so nice when guests get to stay more than a night or two with us as we can get to know them and their needs and have the opportunity to delight them a little!!
Come visit anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are in the Lahinch area it is a MUST stay. The location is perfect to reaching all areas of interest and right around the corner from the golf course. They have a restaurant that serves up the best hospitality and the food is better than excellent. You can experience the warmth of home in the lobby room for drinks and casual conversation before dinner or other.

However, the BEST is Michael Vaughn and his staff that make you feel from the moment you enter until your departure you are part of the family. On my recent visit they helped with restaurant reservations on the night they were closed, driving instruction and a hotel reservation in another city.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

Michael from Chicago...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blarney262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Family best describes our hotel.
The team here are almost family after so many years with some and the new arrivals are always cherished!!
Staff members recommend their friends and family to work with us so it does become a bit clubby for our guests.
We are so delighted that you chose to share your experiences with other TA members! we would love to extend the season beyond the 30 weeks that business allows, but maybe the winter break refreshes us all and allows us to shine again each year.
Thank you for your business and staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Vaughan lodge in Lahrich County Clare we booked it on line before we left Australia and stayed there for 2 nights we wish we could have stayed longer - this hotel was one of the best we had stayed in our travels around Ireland - right in the heart of two great Golf courses
All the staff at Vaughan Lodge were great from the time we checked in and the breakfast each morning was wonderful a lovely young lady Emily was so very helpful she gave us such great service on the first morning we were there & she gave us so much information of where to go around the area of Lahinch
(Cliffs of Moher /Rock shop and great places to eat each night ) (1st night The Cornerstone Bar on Main Street / 2nd night The Shamrock inn hotel) both great pubs in the town & a must is to walk along the beach (rocks) each night in the town
Michael Vaughan is the owner of this great hotel & his wife was so friendly and also very helpful

Also very helpful was Shane on our 2nd morning breakfast great pouched eggs & bacon & best pasties & Lindie service was excellent each night when we stopped for a night cap she was also very friendly and helpful the bar was well stocked with what ever you were wanting
If we ever lucky enough to come to Ireland again this will be the hotel we will be staying at

Room Tip: If your are a golfing group you will all love the service for the golfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 739Malcolm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, General Manager at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Emily is indeed a great asset to our team and she brightens up every morning she contributes to guest service.
I really am blessed to have a wonderful team of committed service people who really do like to help others get full enjoyment from their visit to Lahinch.
Thank you for pointing fellow travellers our way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
152 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,051 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,648 reviews
7.3 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range: £164 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing