We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful small hotel with superb food, excellent friendly staff in a true West of Ireland stting”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful small hotel with superb food, excellent friendly staff in a true West of Ireland stting”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for one night and were at home immediately. The rooms are bright and very comfortable with attention to every detail you could wish for. We asked for coffee to our bedroom and were served immediately with tea and homemade shortbread(a winner!)
The food is five star and the restaurant was buzzing. All staff were efficient and friendly and advised well on social loife in Lahinch The owner /manager Michael Vaughan is attentive to all his guests and was present for both dinner and breakfast.
We will return to Lahinch and will stay at Vaughans forever.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleeping_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

If you travel frequently for work, this hotel will fit right in with what you are used to. It reminded me of a nice Crowne Plaza or Hilton-- the room was nice, modern, and clean; same with the bathroom. It was quite large too. However, like most business hotels, it was totally lacking in charm. Even the enlarged photos taken by the owner did not help. It was also totally overpriced in general (170e) and also as compared to other Ireland hotels (already fairly pricey). Since it's a perfect place from which to base a visit to the Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Doolin, they can continue to command the price. Overall, I would probably try to find a cheaper place but if the price were right here, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2009
Vaughan Lodge was designed mainly to cater for the golfing fraternity that visit Lahinch and it is a little masculine in decor. We would never class oursleves as a "Business Hotel" and at 22 rooms we are a little small for that moniker. We call it a designer country town house and most people agree with that. What we are not is a twee country inn or hideaway lodge. On prices, we have 5 months with which to trade and pay off our bills and that means we cannot offer bargain basement rates. Our prices reflect the quality we offer, our great service and friendly staff and that we are family run. Most of our business is repeat guests or recommendations by guests who have stayed so I guess a lot of people do like what we have produced here in Lahinch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We had booked one night at the Vaughan Lodge for my husband's birthday weekend with our small children. The welcome was very pleasant and genuine - doesn't happen too often nowadays. Our room was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. With two small children, we didn't feel that the very lovely looking and quite formal restaurant was suitable. But breakfast was great - lots of choice (although the fruit selection was a little sparse and tired) My one gripe is that some parts of the hotel (outside tables and bathroom) had not been cleaned and hand towels etc. were not replaced after the evening restaurant service which meant that things looked a little 'hungover' at breakfast. But all in all a great place to stay and explore a beautiful region.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galwaygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
The comment on the public toilet towels not being removed and refreshed early in the morning and the two outdoor tables cleaned is accepted. We would normally attend to these matters as a routine before 7am. Any review is just a snapshot of an hotel and our standards are normally very high throughout. We obviously neglected the loos and outdoors on the early shift. Even the best places can slip up at times and we can only endeavour to redouble our efforts and continue to meet the high standards of trip advisor members in the future. Our thanks to the trip advisor members for helping us maintain standards. One comment from an owner would be that it is always helpful to hear these comments first hand in person rather than have to wait for a review to be placed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Stayed only one night in May but would have been perfectly happy to stay longer had our itinerary permitted. Room quite spacious and comfortable, bathroom spotless, nice sitting area to one side. Situated at one end of the village, the hotel is walking distance to shopping/restaurants/pubs. We did not dine at the restaurant but if the breakfast is an indicator of the quality of the food, dinner would have been a delight. Front desk staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My husband and I stayed a the VL for the June Bank Holiday Weekend. We chose the hotel based on the reviews here on TA. The hotel is immaculate. The toilets were the cleanest I have ever seen on my travels! The staff were very pleasant, check in took all of 5mins. We had dinner on our first evening and it was an enjoyable experience. Though our steaks that were ordered 'well done', did arrive 'medium rare' Once this was pointed out, we recieved an apology and the problem was dealt with. The hotel is in a great location, quiet and just two minutes from the centre of things, Lahinch can be a very busy noisy place, filled with stags, hens and mostly young people having fun, but its still well worth a visit. All in all the hotel is everything that the previous reviewers have said, except that maybe the Sea view from the restaurant is a slight exaggeration, there is a distant sea view, from maybe just one table and it is a very distant one! We liked VL so much, we booked it when we were leaving for my daughter and her husband, (anniversary present) for the following weekend, and they had a very enjoyable stay as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We turned up on the doorstep on the way back from Limerick, checked in for one night and ended up staying for two. Lovely large comfortable bedroom in perfect condition and spotless, very comfortable bed and lovely linen. We parked the car and wandered downtown (2 mins walk) , there is a wide choice of places to eat. Afterwards we came back to the cosy bar in the Hotel and had a drink by the fire. Great nights sleep, Great Breakfast. We spent the next day touring the Burren with excellent touring maps designed by the hotel (how had we not done this before,? it is stunning), walked the beaches and generally relaxed.

A very well run hotel, with friendly and professional staff. It is both smart and welcoming with personal touches throughout, that help it to avoid the commercial feel you often get with newer hotels . You can tell it is owned and run by a Hotelier rather than a Developer !

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I recently stayed at Vaughan Lodge with my family of five. It was lovely. The rooms were clean, quiet, spacious, decorated lovely. The breakfast was also wonderful. Lots of choices from buffet - juices, breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts, fruits, followed up with hot-cooked full Irish. Lovely location a bit away from the hubbub of Lahinch.
The staff were always professional and very friendly. Michael is a real gem - loved having conversations with him. Dinner was absolutely wonderful. If we had known it was that good, we would have eaten there on both nights. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing