We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Just back from a two night stay in Vaughan Lodge. The bedroom was very comfortable with the usual facilities. The service and friendliness of the staff is what makes this hotel stand out. The owner appeared to be very 'hands on' and was a visible presence at all times thoughout our stay. He took the time to speak to all the guests. There is a quaint little bar in the hotel and drinks are served with complimentary nuts, which is a lovely touch. We dined in the restaurant on Saturday night. The food was top class. We found the restaurant to be rather expensive, but having said that, the menu was a la carte, rather than the usual set price menu one usually finds in these establishments.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank master78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    39
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
144
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Stayed here with 2 of my friends for the weekend. Really enjoyed our weekend in Lahinch. Hit the beach and the pubs. The golfing looks good aswell but not my scene. The hotel was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. The high light of the hotel is the restaurant. It is top class so should def book a table here if you are staying the night. There is a need to book as it is used by non residents as well as residents. It is a short walk from the town. If your a stag or a hen you should probably stay in one of the hotels in the centre of the village. Not sure would i be mad about bringing kids here as there is no pool mind you that is all in the village. Would def recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwaygirlSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Where to begin. All eight in our family could not have agreed more, that in the two weeks of traveling in Europe this was by far the best of our journey. The staff & service was incredible, the breakfast was tremendous,(not to mention they went above & beyond for my wife & mother who both needed Gluten-Free options), & the rooms were not only clean but charming as well. You can't miss staying at the Vaughan Lodge if you are coming to the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdpetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bend, oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights while playing golf at Lahinch and Ballybunion. Owners were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Location was close enough to town to walk into Lahinch. If you are in Lahince to play golf, the Vaughn Lodge would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbscone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed for one night and were at home immediately. The rooms are bright and very comfortable with attention to every detail you could wish for. We asked for coffee to our bedroom and were served immediately with tea and homemade shortbread(a winner!)
The food is five star and the restaurant was buzzing. All staff were efficient and friendly and advised well on social loife in Lahinch The owner /manager Michael Vaughan is attentive to all his guests and was present for both dinner and breakfast.
We will return to Lahinch and will stay at Vaughans forever.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleeping_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

If you travel frequently for work, this hotel will fit right in with what you are used to. It reminded me of a nice Crowne Plaza or Hilton-- the room was nice, modern, and clean; same with the bathroom. It was quite large too. However, like most business hotels, it was totally lacking in charm. Even the enlarged photos taken by the owner did not help. It was also totally overpriced in general (170e) and also as compared to other Ireland hotels (already fairly pricey). Since it's a perfect place from which to base a visit to the Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Doolin, they can continue to command the price. Overall, I would probably try to find a cheaper place but if the price were right here, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2009
Vaughan Lodge was designed mainly to cater for the golfing fraternity that visit Lahinch and it is a little masculine in decor. We would never class oursleves as a "Business Hotel" and at 22 rooms we are a little small for that moniker. We call it a designer country town house and most people agree with that. What we are not is a twee country inn or hideaway lodge. On prices, we have 5 months with which to trade and pay off our bills and that means we cannot offer bargain basement rates. Our prices reflect the quality we offer, our great service and friendly staff and that we are family run. Most of our business is repeat guests or recommendations by guests who have stayed so I guess a lot of people do like what we have produced here in Lahinch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We had booked one night at the Vaughan Lodge for my husband's birthday weekend with our small children. The welcome was very pleasant and genuine - doesn't happen too often nowadays. Our room was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. With two small children, we didn't feel that the very lovely looking and quite formal restaurant was suitable. But breakfast was great - lots of choice (although the fruit selection was a little sparse and tired) My one gripe is that some parts of the hotel (outside tables and bathroom) had not been cleaned and hand towels etc. were not replaced after the evening restaurant service which meant that things looked a little 'hungover' at breakfast. But all in all a great place to stay and explore a beautiful region.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galwaygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2009
The comment on the public toilet towels not being removed and refreshed early in the morning and the two outdoor tables cleaned is accepted. We would normally attend to these matters as a routine before 7am. Any review is just a snapshot of an hotel and our standards are normally very high throughout. We obviously neglected the loos and outdoors on the early shift. Even the best places can slip up at times and we can only endeavour to redouble our efforts and continue to meet the high standards of trip advisor members in the future. Our thanks to the trip advisor members for helping us maintain standards. One comment from an owner would be that it is always helpful to hear these comments first hand in person rather than have to wait for a review to be placed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.3 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
1.7 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
7.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing