We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for every golfer”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for every golfer”
Reviewed 7 November 2006

What a great way to start our dream golf experience in Ireland! We arrived tired from a long flight and were nurtured professionally to Irish time and prepared for our wonderful outing. The Vaughan Lodge would also be a fabulous end to a golf trip.

The rooms were extremely comfortable. The resaurant and bar (especially enjoy the Red Breast Irish whiskey) were perfect. In addition, the hospitality of Maria, Michael and Michelle was spontaneous and very welcoming.

Maria and Michael worked very hard to give us a special experience. Golfers and golf tour organizers shoudl be sure that the Vaughan Lodge is on their itineraries!

Mike Griem, USA
September 2006

  • Liked — roominess, great service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — a must for an Irish golf outing
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveledabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2006

What a lovely hotel. Our hosts could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were travelling with an energetic one year old and were offered a room close enough to the bar and restaurant that our baby monitor would work (enabling us to enjoy a romantic dinner for two whilst our daughter snoozed safely next door). We were offered an in-room kettle for bottle warming and the chef was more than happy to prepare special one-off meals for the baby when the gourmet food on offer would otherwise have been a bit over the top. Breakfast (which was included in the price of our room) was sublime, the evening menu was imaginative and the food itself delicious. The bedrooms/bathrooms were spacious and well laid out, with quality linens, fluffy towels and even a handy ironing board & iron. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and we would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Co Clare.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Derbyshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Vaughan Lodge. I cannot express how magnificent everything was from the excellent standard of the bedrooms to the stunning food served in a wonderful restaurant by a team of French staff. Everything was first class, better in fact than most five star hotels we have stayed in. I can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2006

What a pleasant surprise for our small golf group! A top-shelf B&B. If you are looking for a place with charm, class and comfort, look no further! Only two blocks from town and historic golf course. Extremely friendly and helpful ownership and staff. Tasteful, well-kept and clean rooms, outstanding breakfast and dinners. Even a classy tavern for evening drinks and nightcaps. Expect to get plenty of attention from the owners - Michael and Maria. I can't think of one detail (while at the Vaughan Lodge) that wasn't first-class!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2006

The best place we stayed in Ireland. Michael and Maria were the best hosts. Breakfast and dinners were excellent. Whether you're a golfer or not this is the place to stay to see the sites.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2006

A 5-star bed and breakfast in beautiful Lahinch, Ireland. The purveyors of the Vaughn Lodge are two of the nicest people you could ever meet. The lodge itself is well appointed and in each of the large rroms are a couple of the most comfortable beds you could sleep in (and there are four pillows on each bed). Meals in the restaurant are prepared by a French chef and are delicious and visually appealing.

Long story short. The Voughn lodge is one of the most welcoming places I have ever stayed and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2006

Maria & Michael Vaughan are running a new fabulous smaller hotel that is friendly & affordable but from a food, accomodation & facilities perspective, reminded me of some of the best 5 star hotels that I've visited. Rooms are beautifully finished; breakfast & dinner are superb and reasonably priced; Wine (& Irish Coffees) are great; Michael & Maria mix cosmopolitan sophistication with friendly hotel keeping in a way that's sure to charm.

As a US based "Lahinch Golh Club" lifetime member, I've found the perfect complement to Lahinch's wonderful golf course that's a mere 5 iron from Vaughan lodge. The golf equipment "drying room" is also a very nice feature. On an 8 day trip to Ireland playing 7 of the the greatest courses from Connemara to Watereville, our night at Vaughan Lodge was a memorable highlight.

Regardless of your interest in golf, Vaughan Lodge is not to be missed on any visit to Ireland's Atlantic Coast.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing