We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”
Review of Shamrock Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamrock Inn Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Lahinch B&B and Inns
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel in Jan 2012. When we entered hotel the bar/restaurant looked lovely so we decided to inquire about a room for the night. The bar man who sorted our booking was helpful but told us they were having trouble with the heating after we had paid but assured us that it would be fixed very shortly.

We went to the room and it was absolutely freezing, you could feel the cold air come at you as you entered the room as the hallways were quite warm. We requested heater for the room which we left on while we went out for dinner but it did not heat up the room much. the hotel heating did come on but seamed to go off soon afterwards at about 11.

The bathroom was of a very poor standard. It was not properly cleaned, the shower tray filled with water (it took 20 mins to empty before the next person could shower), the tiles on the floor were cracked with pieces missing and it was tiny. Showering was difficult in the small space (I have never seen such a small shower tray) and there is very little water from the shower. (This saves the room from flooding with the blocked drain however)

The bed was very uncomfortable, you can actually feel the springs and you fall into the middle of it.

The location in the town is excellent and there is plenty of parking around the nearby streets.

When we were checking out we were going to raise some of the issues with the staff but despite ringing the bell and waiting for sometime no one came so we ended up leaving the key on the desk.

We were told the room would be 80 euro including breakfast. We asked for a price without breakfast and he gave us it for 60. (Breakfast is 9euro) Overall it was very poor value for money.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 11- Avoid this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crowlcrowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
26
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Fantastic Breakfast, Good hearty Irish Food.
Warm Friendly staff .
Good Bar with a band playing.
Clean rooms and bathrooms. Hot showers.
This is not 5 Star, but for a surfing weekend or a bed for the night it is fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South-armagh-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Shamrock Inn Hotel in the not too distant future.

Declan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

i thought the food was well prepared. I thought the staff were very nice and the atmosphere was good. I was with a large group of friends and i would come back any time. and if you in Clare, call in. (Eamon)
The staff were friendly to us. The portions were big, they couldn't be any bigger!! We had the best day and I would go back again. I would recommend it to anybody. (Tina)

The staff were great there. The food was wonderful, we had home-made soup with home-made bread too, it was very tasty. The dessert was also lovely. I had the profiteroles with chocolate sauce, it was delcious! I would tell anybody to try this place out. It is a lovely place to eat and I would go back again. (Andrea)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthTipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our chef and all the staff members. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the Shamrock Inn Hotel in the future.
Declan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeogue, Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We called in here by chance and found the bar man very friendly so we stayed and had a pint. We came back that evening and had a lovely meal. The meal was good and we also had a glass of wine. As it was only 10 mins walk from the Lehinch Lodge we could walk to it.

Room Tip: We did not stay in this hotel we only had a meal and a few drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at the Shamrock Inn Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you to the Shamrock Inn Hotel in the future.

Declan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Visited twice for dinner during our weeks holiday in Lahinch. We had a family group of 6 so mixed requirements for food. Good value dinners, bar nicely busy. Staff very friendly and accommodating to kids requests for changes to the dishes, sauces etc. Good value, lovely food, menu had the traditional bacon and cabbage as well as the more bistro style stir fry etc.
Definately worth visiting. Lahinch a great little town for a holiday break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yugscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Here, at the Shamrock Inn Hotel we do our utmost to provide for each individual requirement and we are delighted to hear that the service and food was to your satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Shamrock Inn Hotel in the future.
Declan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Was away in the Galway/Clare region for the weekend with my partner, after a trip to Ailwee caves we were abit peckish and headed for Liscannor to find very little to choose from and decided to head for Lahinch and stumbled across this fine place, from the moment we walked in we were greeted by the friendly barman, asking how we were etc

We took our seats, he gave us a moment to settle and we ordered drinks and asked if we were looking for food, showed us the menu and explained any questions we had on the menu.

After waiting little time for the starter, we thoroughly enjoyed and awaited the main course which was amazing i choose the roast beef with all the trimmings and she choose the bacon and cabbage, both dishes went down very well...

Would recommend this hotel for its friendly atmosphere and lovely food...

Thanks Shamrock Inn

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. Here, at the Shamrock Inn Hotel, we strive to provide the best service and attention at all times..
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shamrock Inn hotel in the not too distant future.

Declan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed here on a sat night with my gf, we were tired so went out for dinner and a pint and went for a relatively early night at midnight.

The band playing downstairs might as well have been in the room with us.

The door to the bathroom didn't close as it had swelled beyond the frame.

For the money it was the worst place we stayed on our trip round Clare Galway and mayo

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahinch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
584 reviews
7.1 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Inn Hotel

Property: Shamrock Inn Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shamrock Inn Hotel, part of Clare Coast Hotels group, offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Located along the Wild Atlantic Way, in the heart of Lahinch, all our rooms are tastefully decorated. Our Restaurant is renowned for its warm and intimate atmosphere offering a choice of excellent cuisine, catering for all tastes. Delicious home-cooked bar food is served daily and by night the bar comes to life with the sound of music. Ideal base for site seeing the beautiful West Coast of Clare, Golfing in the Links Championship Course or just strolling the mile long beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shamrock Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing