We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
433
358
204
107
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
358
204
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrelovely hoteloutdoor hot tuboverlooking the riversteam roomcascades restaurantbar foodrelaxation roombit datedco clarewedding receptionboth nightsbreakfast and dinnernight breakchanging roomsenjoyable staylast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the falls hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the location of the hotel is great. Unfortunately the experience with the staff wasn't satisfying...they don't seem to enjoy their job. Waiting times at the breakfast (15minutes for tea on both mornings) and the bar were very long even though it wasn't very busy.
Most disappointing was the cleanliness of the hotel. Dirty windows, loads of cobwebs in the bar and badly hovered rooms...
Overall nice hotel but would recommend a good clean and a staff motivation program!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to construct this review.
It's positive to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Falls and that you were greatly impressed with our location.
However I am disappointed to hear about some of the issues you have raised included staff morale and the cleanliness of our property.
Usually all our staff members are praised for their friendliness and the kind welcome they offer to all our visitors.
Similarly this remark about how clean the hotel is very unusual. Our accommodation and laundry team are constantly cleaning throughout the hotel including the public areas and the bedrooms.
It's unfortunate that you were not fully happy with our usual high standards but I really hope you will return to us again in the future and see the wonderful service we offer.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last five years and we visited here again over the Oct' Bank Holiday weekend.The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the river and falls,and it is a great base for visiting The Burren , Cliffs of Moher , Lehinch and many other areas of beauty in Co Clare.As always we were made very welcome and Bernie at reception was really helpful and friendly.
There was a wedding on in the hotel ,so bar staff were very busy but they should be complimented on doing a very good job. A local musician , Laurence Harvey provided very enjoyable entertainment in the bar at night. We really enjoy music so it's a great plus to have this in the hotel. The fact that this is a family run hotel is plain to see , it's friendly and homely and its nice to see familar faces each time we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
The fact you have returned to the Falls Hotel & Spa on a few occasions in the last 5 years says it all! Your return business is greatly valued and I am delighted to see you have fallen in love with our hotel.
As many other of our guests have often pointed out we are a fantastic base for exploring the wonderful sites of North Clare. I am also impressed with how you noticed many familiar faces of our staff and the presence of the McCarthy family around the hotel.
Laurence will also be over the moon to have a new huge fan and we do understand that having music in the bar every weekend and sometimes every night of the week , greatly adds to the atmosphere of our guests.
Hope to see you coming to us for the next five years as well!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Last weekend with my family we spent a night in the Falls Hotel to celebrate our mother's 80th birthday. We had a fabulous meal on Saturday night and afterwards we enjoyed an evening of great music and dancing till the wee hours in the Hotel Bar. The scenery around the hotel and the view of the Falls from the bar is breath taking.The only negative thing I would say is that some of the rooms need a make over.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It's terrific to see that you and your family had such wonderful birthday celebrations at the Falls. Combining a fabulous meal with music and dancing in our Dylan Thomas Bar was certainly an inspired choice!
The scenery and views are our major unique selling point and attract many of our guests to the hotel in the first place.
I hope that you all will be back with us in Ennistymon again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is our second visit to the Falls Hotel, the first time was three years ago for a wedding. This time We were using a pigsback discount voucher, so I thought we might not be allocated a great room.
However, we were pleasantly surprised and had a lovely large room with a really comfortable bed and good size bathroom. We didn't eat in the restaurant but there was a good choice of dining options, from bar food to Cascades restaurant to a Thai restaurant(also in the hotel),
The breakfast was pretty average, but the service was extremely helpful and friendly.
The location of the hotel is stunning overlooking the cascades on the river and there are some beautiful grounds and walks along by the river(and even some donkeys which are a great hit with younger children).
Overall we had a really enjoyable break and will be return to the Falls in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Cascades, which are really beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
When we see a customer of ours saying that they will return again we know we have done something right! We don't do many pigsback offers but when we do we certainly treat our guests the same as we would with any other package or deal.
The accommodation, the food and the service have all been highlighted for praise.
Also you have chosen the location and surroundings for extra praise.
As in the case of many families who came and stay with us our family of donkeys were the biggest hit of all.
We hope that your return visit is being planned already.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I and 41 members of our walking group stayed in The Falls Hotel for a weekend recently and were very impressed with this hotel and spa. The location in Co Clare is an excellent base to tour the highlights of Clare. The hotel itself is well run and the staff were very helpful and friendly,the spa, leisure centre and outdoor hot-tub was most welcome after 26km walk around the Burren. We all had dinner there together on the Saturday night and despite the fact they had a wedding and another group it was extremely well catered for. One little thing the counter in the bar area is quite small and on both nights we were there it was difficult (but not impossible) to get served.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnG_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We love having groups like you! 42 walkers who all walked out of our hotel with smiles on their faces. I am so pleased that you all had such a wonderful stay with us in North Clare and I hope a planned return to the Burren region is well underway. The spa and leisure facilities were a big hit with the group and who could blame you seeking some relaxation after all the walking you did.
It's great to hear also that you felt well looked after and despite a few other groups in house including a wedding you still received 5 star service. Hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews