We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mutton dressed (up) as lamb ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed (up) as lamb ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A group of us had lunch in The Falls the other day; lovely place, fantastic view from the restaurant/bar , and friendly service. The beef was good as was the chicken. However, three of us had lamb. It was a huge disappointment and ruined what could have been a great day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevueDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Trip Advisor Member,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review as all of our visitors' feedback is greatly appreciated.
Firstly thank you for your positive compliments about our hotel, location, surroundings and the friendly service of our staff.
In relation to your lunch I am delighted you enjoyed the beef and chicken dishes but I am disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy our lamb. I hope on the day you raised this issue with our manager on duty and received an adequate replacement if you desired it.
Hopefully you will return to the Falls Hotel & Spa and you can see the very high standards of food we offer.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    280
    161
    86
    63
See reviews for
295
366
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Falls Hotel is a lovely hotel, we've stayed in the hotel itself and the self catering apartments which are very spacious. The staff are nice and friendly and generally it is a hotel I would recommend. We love the donkeys outside, its one of the main attractions. My only one worry is 5 donkeys last Christmas appears to have become 10 this Christmas. I wish whoever owns the donkeys would get them neutered so they are not reproducing even though the foals were a beautiful sight to see. There are just far too many abandoned horses and donkeys in Ireland much to our great shame living horrible lives. The donkeys at this hotel I'm sure are looked after very well and they really are one of the main reasons we keep coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We are delighted to see that you had a terrific Christmas stay with us. We also greatly appreciate your recommendation and it's wonderful to see you have been a regular guest with us here in Ennistymon.
We understand your concerns about animals that are not cared for correctly but as you mention yourself this is not the case at the Falls Hotel & Spa. We look after our precious donkeys with just as much care as any of our hotel guests! They are a major attraction to the hotel an we would never place their well-being in jeopardy.
Look forward to seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel has so much to offer guests ...we stepped out of the car and got a wonderful welcome from a man who turned out to be the owner himself! The hotel room was really spacious, spotlessly clean, cosy and warm despite the stormy conditions outside. All of the staff were so polite, quietly efficient and friendly that it made us feel very at ease. Nothing was too much trouble! It has a wonderful pool and spa, ideal for the Irish weather at Christmas time. The meal we had in the Cascades Dining room was superb and beautifully presented. We felt we didn't need to leave the hotel at all. However the town is so close (a five minute walk) it is lovely to stroll through it and experience the magnificent natural waterfall at the back of the town and situated in front of the hotel. We can highly recommend this hotel. We will be back!!! Sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have spectacular scenery even though rooms viewing the large car park on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted with your high recommendation and it's terrific to hear you are already planning your return visit to Ennistymon! We are a family run and owned hotel and the family always have a presence around the hotel and love meeting new visitors to our property.
Our Riverspa, Cascades Restaurant and our location and surroundings all ticked boxes for the duration of your stay and we are so delighted with all the compliments.
Look forward to seeing you at the Falls Hotel & Spa again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent Christmas Break at the hotel. Staff friendly and efficient. Food quite magnificent, but as always with Ireland, portions at table too big! Buffets where you could select portion size much better.

Outside hot-tub is brilliant!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We are pleased you enjoyed a Christmas break with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa. Your compliments about our staff and in particular our food on offer is greatly appreciated. Magnificent is a word that's never thrown around lightly so you really must have been blown away by the standards of our cuisine on offer.
Hopefully another visit back to Ennistymon may be on the cards.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel (house) was great!!!!!!!!!!
We had a fab time!!!!!!!!!
The waterfall on the view of the hotel it just made it magical!!!
The food & service was great!!!!
The beds were so comfortable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms were very warm & cosy!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would really recommend the hotel!!!!!
The pool is lovely & warm!!!!
The bar food & bar was excellent!!!!!
The breakfast was beautiful!!!!!
Co. Clare is a very nice county !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We had no fault with the hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rory w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Your last sentence of the review is the most catching and from our perspective the most pleasing! "We had no fault with the hotel" are music to the ears of anybody working in the hotel industry. You have a long list of the many wonderful features we offer at the Falls Hotel & Spa and they all put a huge smile on your face. Our pool, staff, food, waterfall and many more all contributed to a wonderful visit to county Clare. Judging by your positivity we expect to see you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel location is beautiful, the hotel is really used to its potential. The rooms were clean but a little cold. The shower was very old the water pressure was so weak I had to wash my hair in sink. The bar staff were lovely. The main feature is its view and when we went for breakfast we told the section of the restaurant which had the nice view was reserved but I think it was just to limit the amount of tables that had to fully reset. I wouldn't be recommend and nor would I stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoyle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel has it all. Wonderful and friendly staff the rooms are very spacious and spotless. The swimming pool is great and the hot tub could stay in it all day. Food very good and the Thai Restaurant has fantastic food. Definately be back.

Carmel. Co. Clare

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thanks for posting this review and we love to hear that "this hotel has it all." Our Aqua & Fitness Club certainly had the biggest impact on you during your recent stay and we're not surprised. Our pool and gym are fantastic but like many quest before you it's the outdoor hot tub that's blown you away altogether. I'd love to stay in it all day myself!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing