We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Wicklow
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

went here for a Christmas party and loved it from the minute we drove in. Staff very friendly food excellent great atmosphere at the party even though the place was packed. . Ate in restaurant the following night and food and service were fab. Very happy with this hotel will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Spa is definetly worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eibhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We love to hear customers saying they will definitely return! Our Christmas party nights are infamous for all the right reasons, most of which you listed in your review. It's all about high quality food, service and atmosphere. It's terrific to see you were equally impressed with your 2nd night stay. Also I must say anybody reading this review must pay attention to your tip and visit our Riverspa. Nobody is every disappointed!

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    277
    159
    85
    62
See reviews for
290
360
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What an old fashioned hotel . Grubby carpet and furniture in rooms. Sanitary wear on bathrooms ancient. Service of food in the bar is all over the place. The staff are not yo blame for this. Just no organisation.

The doors to the rooms still use the old keys.

However great location for west Clare

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am disappointed to see that you left our hotel with not a very positive impression. What you claim to be old fashioned is often complimented by other guests. We are regularly praised for our traditional room keys because of their functionality but also as they tie in nicely with the theme of our hotel. We are a historical manor house so we aren't as modern as some of the newly built hotels around the country but that's why people love the Falls Hotel. It has character and charm and is owned and ran by a small family rather than by the banks or NAMA.
I hope you reconsider and return for another visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived our break was a disaster sky news was the only tv channel working called reception housekeeping staff member turned up after 30 minutes to outline that she knew nothing about TVs and everyone else was very busy. No problem insisting on swim caps but to look for 17.50 for 5 swim caps a bit rich. Informed by rude leisure centre attendant that it's the law it isn't their isn't any regulations relating to swim caps in pools no problem with it being hotel policy but don't fleece your guests. Service in the bar chaotic no structure with everyone running around in circles. Do not stay here.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nortel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
As always the feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated but it's very unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. You are correct to stay there were issues with our tv signal during your stay but this was something that was out of the control of our house-keeping staff as it was to do with our aerial system. It was fixed as quickly as our tv suppliers were able to do it.
In relation to the swim caps we feel our price is fair and on par with most other hotels in the area. Our policy regarding hats is also clearly stated on our website.
I really hope that you would consider giving the Falls another chance as most visitors really do experience a lovely stay with us in Ennistymon.

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently stayed for two nights through evoke.ie,I spend 6 months every year in European hotels and in general we were very pleased!Our room was large, refurbished and overlooking the river,wi fi good and all areas clean and heated,the staff were helpful and I was very impressed with the health club,pool and jacuzzi,steam room,all pristine and correct temperature.On both evenings we ate in the Thai restaurant with a panoramic view of the falls,the service was very good and we enjoyed an excellent Thai meal on one evening and the other an inclusive dinner.My starter of scallops(small supplement)outstanding followed by sea bass.I appreciate that not all the bedrooms have a river view but all three restaurants do,I was impressed and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 190Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thanks for such a lovely review. You have highlighted a number of our services for vast praise. The two primary areas being our leisure centre & spa and our restaurants. The pool, Jacuzzi and steam room left you happy and relaxed while both the Thai River restaurant and Cascades restaurant also blew you away. It's wonderful to see that you would be happy to return the next time you are visiting Europe.

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights , arrived late but the bar still served us food, food was excellent had fish and chips and a burger , both were very nice , and staff were all very very friendly !! The room was great and we had a fantastic view of the river . The leisure centre was lovely - has an outdoor hot tub !! Would definitely go back , it was really relaxing !!! Thanks again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cherry60589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
You are very welcome! We'd love to have you back again and it's wonderful to hear that you had such a relaxing stay.
We like to look after all of our customers and even though bar food may have stopped we would never let anyone go hungry! It's great to see that both dishes impressed you so much.
Our friendly staff also left a lasting impression as did the view of the Inagh river from your bedroom.
Our outdoor hot tub pops up in numerous reviews and once again it has left guests with very big smiles on their faces!

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel over St Patricks Weekend. On first appearances, the car park looked shabby, as did the outside of the hotel. I would agree with other guests comments in relation to a lick of paint outside and perhaps tidying up the car park. First impressions did not let us down. The room was also dated, grubby, the carpet was torn and stained. The bathroom was old and dated and the room was freezing. The view was out onto said carpark. Furniture is basic and dated and the reception on the TV was terrible. Surprisingly, the WiFi worked fine.

We didn't eat in the hotel, however, room service stops at 9pm, as does the bar and restaurant. Ennistymon is limited for places to eat after this time also.

The leisure centre was lovely, nice outdoor hot tub, sauna, steam room, pool. It was really busy in the morning so we left it till later in the evening and it was fine.

The staff were very friendly, the reception girls were so helpful and the bar staff were also chatty and interested in their guests.

I think a big cash injection might be required to bring this hotel up to the (basic) standard that is offered elsewhere in the country.

The location is good for the Cliffs of Moher and the burren - but I don't think we will be rushing back.

Room Tip: Some rooms were nicer than others... anything in the 200 mark appeared to be the oldest, dated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarranH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for the review and I hope that you had a great time exploring county Clare during your visit to our hotel. You rightly compliment our location as a base for exploring the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher.
You have also highly praised our modern leisure club and the overall friendliness of all the hotel staff.
In relation to a few issues you raised unfortunately we cannot offer all of our guest views of the river and woodlands and some rooms have to face the car park. Rooms with the amazing views are allocated on a first come first basis. In terms of the food and room service we offer we feel in particular before our high season starts that food being available from 8am to 9pm is quite a sufficient service to deal with the required demand. Of course this is different in the Summer and at the peak of our season.
We hope that you do change your mind and return again because of the positives you have alluded to.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights very disappointed with the overall state of this place. I accept it's an old manor house but come on a make over doesn't cost that much surely?a lick of paint and a pair of new curtains or even clean carpet is this too much to ask for in 2014. The views of the falls itself is nice looking into ennistymon however Windolene would work wonders with a bit of elbow grease thrown in one might see out the filthy windows. The breakfast and evening meal was like feeding time at the Zoo, breakfast resembled the leftovers from a bad deli counter greasy spoon effort disgusting altogether. The evening meal horrendous the portions like a throw back to the 1980's with mash brought to the table in a big bowl as was the other vegetables. I had the lamb it was shocking I'd say it was Mutton. The Thai restaurant provided us with much entertainment totally under staffed with one girl serving the entire restaurant again the decor here very poor with ceiling falling down in one area however the service so poor we had to ask for plates to eat our food as we were just given the portion in a bowl on a hot plate!!!! The Spa ok along with the pool area. Relaxation area poor as too bright and not conducive to sleep/relax. I travel a lot and spend a lot of nights in hotels and I haven't encountered this sort of hotel ever I'd say. 3 stars it's nothing shy of a hostel rating. Totally overated ,under staffed ,poorly managed ,run down destination. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to construct this review. We greatly appreciate your feedback as the opinions of all of our guests is respected. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly striving to ensure our standards of service reaches 100% of its potential so this review in many ways is surprising. For your example your description of our breakfast contradicts considerably with the review before your own where our breakfast was labelled as being one of the best in Ireland. However I strongly believe that if you were willing to give our hotel another chance you could see for yourself the many positive elements of our business and the terrific things we offer here in Ennistymon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing