We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not overly impressed”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were a decent size but there appeared to be a lingering smell in the air all over the hotel . It's a stunning building along a stunning river with beautiful walks but it was let down by the mildly dingy decor and that smell. Breakfast was not the best either , buffet style with rubber type bacon and all the trimmings which was cooked in another century. It was dissapointing considering the stunning exteriors and view.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your very kind words about our historical building and our beautiful surroundings. The Inagh River and the many walks around the Woodlands of the hotel certainly left a lasting impression. I appreciate that you had some issues during your stay but I hope they don't put you off returning to Ennistymon again in the future. I ensure a second visit would be even more positive!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    287
    162
    86
    63
See reviews for
296
372
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May as we were celebrating our sons making their First Communion. We were given a large family room that was very dated, with cracked floor tiles and mildew in the bathroom. One of our sons tripped and fell over a large lump of wood sticking out from under his bed went we first went to the room. It looked like an old drawer with nails sticking out of it. He was unhurt, so we left it on the bed for housekeeping to take away the next day. They put it back under the bed again!
Dinner in the smaller restaurant on the first night was lovely and the service was great. Service in the larger restaurant wasn't great. One particular waiter was unbelievably rude and obnoxious. So much so, we were afraid to ask for a refill of water and I wouldn't change the wrong main course I was given.
Breakfast was fair. They had a basket of bread and most of it was mouldy. They only put out fresh bread on the Sat morning when the hotel was much busier.
I complained on checkout as there were many other problems over the three days and was told my issues would be looked into. Two months later, I still haven't heard back from them.
I most defiantly will not stay in this hotel again and it ruined what should have been a memorable family celebration.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank family_phelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to construct this online review. Customer feedback is very important as it ensures our business constantly progresses and improves. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I'm even more shocked to see you say that you have been waiting to hear from the hotel for so long. Looking over your reservation details on our booking system there is no record of a request to speak to a manager. However I'd be happy for you to get in touch with me to discuss your recent stay now. I am contactable on sales@fallshotel.ie.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely views on a beautiful summers weekend the falls outside the hotel offer stunning pictures and you can walk around there and the town. The hotel is modern with nice rooms not overly impressive but it offers you a chance to go see the cliffs of moher and lehinch is a short spin 4km

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couchy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
You really can't beat our scenic location on a warm summer's day! There are certainly many wonderful photo opportunities at the Falls Hotel & Spa. Thanks for the review and we hope when your back exploring the Cliffs and Lahinch in the future, you will once again choose us as your preferred accommodation base.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel is in a great location. The reception and bar areas were modern so we were expecting the same of the rooms. We had no lift, to our floor. In a double room there was 1 double socket, this is ridiculous. The bathroom was dated the door didn't close. The weather was fabulous but with no air conditioning our room was roasting. We stayed for 2 nights and on the second afternoon our room wasn't cleaned with no fresh towels provided. We had one evening meal it was beautiful service was excellent. Overall the food was excellent but the rooms were poor and not what I had been expecting at all...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoifemce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of our hotel online. I am delighted to hear you praise our great location and also the high standards of our restaurant food and service. I am very surprised to hear you say however that your room was not serviced as every hotel bedroom without exception is cleaned when there is a minimum of a two night stay.
Only our suites and superior rooms have manual room controlled air con but we do offer portable fans on request to all of our bedrooms.
We hope your positives encourage you to return to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for a family celebration. Excellent food well presented and served. Nice hotel in lovely grounds overlooking the falls. Huge bedrooms with all very nice facilities and friendly staff. Very handy for touring and sightseeing. Do visit the Cliffs of Moher, Doolin and the Doolin caves. O'Connors pub in the village serves good food and is extremely popular with tourists.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Other guests will love to hear your excellent tips for places and activities to visit in North Clare when staying at the Falls Hotel & Spa. You have highlighted many positive features of the service we provide here in Ennistymon. All of our major departments including accommodation, food & beverages and staff & service all achieved your top marks. We hope to see you back staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The website lulls you into a false sense of a good quality hotel...well you could not be further from the truth. The Falls hotel is an old hotel, the room was rough cement plastered, with a 20 year old bathroom suite, old furniture, some of the carpets enroute to spa are very shabby, and don't use the stairs internal they are appalling.

The hotel staff in general are polite, the assistant general manger was very difficult to deal with when bill was incorrectly charged. Be careful what the offer says is included and make sure you check your bill as it took him 3 attempts to get it right!!
I would not recommend this hotel and I definitely will not be going back, thanks Andrew.

Room Tip: we didn't get one so hard to advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andybuoycork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding. Travelled with family and friends from England . Cannot fault anything. Rooms, food, hospitality and even the weather was fabulous. Thoroughly recommend it and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
So many positives for us to take from only five very complimentary sentences. To hear a customer say they could not fault anything is like music to our ears! I am delighted to see you had such a great time here at your family wedding and we will be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing