We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Great 3 star hotel, staff very friendly, food good and rooms large. It's not four star and doesn't pretend to be (which is meant as a positive). Honest hotel delivering enjoyable and good value service. I would be happy to return. The hotel is somewhat dated and shabby from the outside but clean and painted nicely inside.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Cionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
It's great to hear that you would be happy to come back to the Falls Hotel & Spa. I hope the return visit has already been planned and booked! Good value for money is one of our key aims so it's terrific to see we are fulfilling our ambitions. Good Staff, quality food and large bedrooms, what more those a guest need!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unfortunately this place needs a complete makeover and the website was extremely deceiving. We reserved a family room for four nights, but the accommodations were so poor that we had to leave immediately. The rug and bedding were filthy and the room had a motel 6 quality. Everything needs updated. The hotel itself needed a complete makeover and looked nothing like its website. It really was a very uncomfortable experience and I did not feel comfortable having my two children sleep in the room. The only good thing was the staff who refunded us our money immediately no questions asked. They were extremely nice and I cannot complain about the service in any way. There was a great view from the hotel, but it really was more like a hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I am very disappointed to hear your comparisons between us and a hostel. It's unfair to attack our family owned and managed hotel like that. Our website does not deceive customers in anyway. People are entitled to their opinion and that is why we were happy to refund your money when you decided to leave early but your criticism is unjustified.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we stayed in the falls hotel end of july start of august for 4 days had a really lovely time good food staff were really nice and very help full very peace full place nice walks around hotel.
used the swimming pool every day which my gran daughter loved .
we would not hesitate to return to this hotel again. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
It's wonderful to hear that you are already thinking about returning to the Falls Hotel & Spa! I am delighted you had such a lovely four day break here in Ennistymon. As with many kids that come and stay with us, our swimming pool was a big hit with your grand-daughter. Thanks also for the compliments about our surroundings, food and staff.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Checked in with family, us and three kids. Room pleasant, not as modern as other parts of hotel, but clean and spacious. Bathroom and shower quite dated with weak pressure. Extractor not working but was soon fixed.

Staff very friendly, bar and restaurant nice, restaurant menu was ok, selection was small, kids meals very small but overall package good, bar menu was better.

Grounds are beautiful and cascades very pretty, breakfast menu covers all tastes and was good. There's a happy, friendly feeling to this hotel, Ennistimon is quaint and Byrnes in the town does a nice lunch.

The pool was lovely and well used by all of us.

I would go again only I've seen most of Co. Clare in the last two years visiting the area and if you haven't the weather, you're stuck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank wifenmumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stay at The Falls Hotel & Spa on July 5/14. Great location for visiting the Cliffs of Moher and Doolin Caves, both about a 15 minute drive away. The grounds are beautiful. They even have donkeys on site.
Our room was on the 7th floor it was huge but dated with a great view of the falls. It was disappointing to know there was no elevator to the 7th floor. We had to go through the back entrance, get the elevator to the 6th floor and carry our luggage up 2 flights of stairs to get to our room. (strange layout) It was very warm when we were there and there was no air conditioner. No ice machine either.
We paid 130.00 Euro for one night, and expected more amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JRodway2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night during the Willie Clancy festival. We were very impressed with the "Can do" attitude of the receptionist, Sinead-- A very nice girl and extremely friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed two meals in the bar (one lunch and one dinner) and both were of good quality. Our room was very nice, very spacious and comfortable and the coffee and tea were most welcome at the end of a long night in the pubs. The night porter (Rasheed?) was very cheerful at 3 in the morning and gracious enough to fill a request at that time. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laureena_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Every Summer we have many visitors that stay at the hotel during the Willie Clancy Festival. In many ways we are the perfect destination for it because we are only a short drive away but we then also have the often required peace and quiet for the in between quiet times! The main thing that impressed you was the quality of our staff. Sinead and Rachid in particular stood out for you. They will be delighted to hear your compliments. We hope to see you back again next year!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a shame - this hotel has everything going for it, location, facilities, grounds, but lacks the most important element - Customer Service. A smile is a rare commodity, everyone seemed in a hurry and had no time to attend - it almost felt like we were in the way. We spent 2 nights there, to celebrate my husband's 'significant' birthday. Twice I asked for it to be acknowledged - the second time I asked for a simple candle on his dessert at dinner - nothing!!! We will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank marybirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. You have acknowledged that the hotel has many positives but I am disappointed to see you felt we lacked in the customer service department. As you can see from all the reviews on here our staff are always praised so your opinions are very surprising. In terms of marking important occasions the hotel always go out of their way to do something special when we have prior notice. Whether it's a complimentary cake or bottle of win we always go the extra mile when we know about but unfortunately it appears that your request was some how overlooked. I ensure if you do return we will look after you!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
95 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,332 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
378 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,249 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range: £98 - £917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing