We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Escape”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel is aimed at younger families.
Only 10 minutes drive from Lahinch.
Very near to golf courses.
Excellent spa.
Free car park
Spacious pool, after 7.00 no children allowed.
Well fitted gym.
Kiddies club provided.
Free wifi
Plenty of historic walks
Food is well priced and has a wide varied menu.
Has lifts so perfect for buggies, wheel chair access etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Your clear and distinct review offers great information to any potential visitors to our hotel. I am delighted to see so many features of our property impressed you. I hope you and your family will return to us here in Ennistymon again. You certainly have listed enough reasons why we would be worth coming back to! Location, gym, spa, walks and so much more make us a very attractive destination.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Myself and my husband initially stayed on our own in March and decided it would be a lovely place to bring the kids during the summer. We weren't wrong. The kids had an absolute ball. The weather was also great for our stay which certainly helped and only rained a little on one day.
We managed to make the beach on 3 days, twice to Lahinch which is only around the corner and once to Fanore, only a car trip away. The Hotel is ideally based for travelling around Clare and there is plenty for the kids to do.
The package itself included 3 nights B&B plus 2 evening meals for the 5 of us and was brilliant value. We ate in the Restaurant on the first and last evening and both nights were lovely. The staff were great, especially on the last night as they were so attentive to the kids.
On the second evening the kids decided that they would like to go to the kids camp so we sent them off while us adults got to enjoy the Thai Restaurant. Another lovely meal with a lovely waitress (I think Fiona) who was so pleasant even when clearly under pressure.
The kids loved the room as they could see the river outside. The only negative being the rock hard mattress on the double bed...this seriously could do with being changed. The 2 single beds and the camp bed were sooo soft in comparison with it.
Even had the weather been bad for our stay the kids would still have loved it with the swimming pool and the games room.
Besides for the double bed, we only had one other negative and that was the very stand offish red haired girl at Reception who didnt really seem bothered at check out and also stood speaking to a member of staff on one evening whilst leaving me standing for a couple of minutes before speaking with me... and while this is very minor it is a pet hate of mine and did irritate me.
All in all a fantastic stay for the family with the majority of the staff so so lovely. Will definately return..

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Banner12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Trip advisor member,
Your last three words are key! "Will definitely return" proves that we did a lot of things right during your recent stay at the Falls Hotel and Spa. It's terrific to see that your whole family had such a good stay and we are over the moon in particular to see we even managed to turn the heads of your kids! Our location was a major plus for you, with our proximity to places like Lahinch and Fanore offering you the option of a few lovely days out. The quality of both our restaurants also left smiles on your faces. The staff and food at both the Cascades and Thai river all reached 5 star standards.
The mattress issue will be fixed before your next stay as gradually all of our rooms are being refurbished again!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My five year said it to staff at check out.."We will be back"! Cute yes...but so true!! Lovely ,Gorgeous and Friendly Hotel!!
Upon arrival we were not only greeted by a stunning view of the Weir that the hotel overlooks..sun beaming down on the Perfectly cut green grass and flowers that displayed so vibrantly... But also staff that just could not make you feel more welcome. Family room large and imaculetly clean..Food..portion size and taste excellent...kids club kept our two safe and happy!! Pub entertainment did not let's us down...music nightly and everyone joined in..very family friendly atmosphere.. Actually on the way home from our stay with the Falls Hotel.. Now and had to jump on TripAdvisor because I felt we needed to let people know about this Diamond in Ennistimin Clare

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for such a lovely review! The fact you had to express your opinions on your way home conveys exactly how happy you were with your recent stay here at the Falls Hotel & Spa. From the views and our landscaping outside to the welcoming nature of our family rooms proves every element of our hotel meets our required high standards. The opinions of children are always very important when considering future family breaks away and it's wonderful to see your five year old announcing at check out "we'll be back!"
We hope this return visit is already being planned.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked a family room for 5(3 nights & 2 evening dinners) and it was spacious with 1 double, 2 singles and a camp bed, adequate for us. For a hotel with a magnificent façade including the Falls, the initial reaction upon arriving was slightly under whelming as we parked the car at the side. Evening meals were excellent, staff very friendly (when booking request a table at the window overlooking the Falls), only thing the evening menu did not seem to change day to day, but this was not an issue for us as the menu had plenty of variety. Breakfast was buffet and was fantastic and again staff were friendly/humorous & attentive. Bar staff were as above and prices were reasonable. Swimming Pool very clean as also were the steam room/sauna & dressing rooms. Only complaint was the shower in our room(405) which had a life of its own and tended to drench the whole bathroom- in fairness we did not complain as it was not a huge issue for us, i wonder what the room cleaning staff made of us. Overall we were very happy and will return. This hotel is ideally located for Lahinch, Cliffs of Moher, Burren & Fr. Teds house(good luck in finding it - sat nav co-ordinates N53 00588 W9 01799).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AlanDunboyne_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
You have mentioned a variety of positives that you experienced during your recent stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa. Our staff throughout the hotel certainly impressed you as did the quality of our food on offer at both breakfast and dinner times. You rightly point out that we served a set Summer menu in our Cascades restaurant but we do offer up to 5 specials a night to provide variety to longer staying guests like you and your family. The standards of our accommodation and leisure centre also exceeded expectations. One of the key points you observe is our location. We are the perfect base for exploring the attractions you listed but equally all the other major destinations in the North Clare region. It's great to see you state that you will return again!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Great 3 star hotel, staff very friendly, food good and rooms large. It's not four star and doesn't pretend to be (which is meant as a positive). Honest hotel delivering enjoyable and good value service. I would be happy to return. The hotel is somewhat dated and shabby from the outside but clean and painted nicely inside.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Cionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
It's great to hear that you would be happy to come back to the Falls Hotel & Spa. I hope the return visit has already been planned and booked! Good value for money is one of our key aims so it's terrific to see we are fulfilling our ambitions. Good Staff, quality food and large bedrooms, what more those a guest need!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unfortunately this place needs a complete makeover and the website was extremely deceiving. We reserved a family room for four nights, but the accommodations were so poor that we had to leave immediately. The rug and bedding were filthy and the room had a motel 6 quality. Everything needs updated. The hotel itself needed a complete makeover and looked nothing like its website. It really was a very uncomfortable experience and I did not feel comfortable having my two children sleep in the room. The only good thing was the staff who refunded us our money immediately no questions asked. They were extremely nice and I cannot complain about the service in any way. There was a great view from the hotel, but it really was more like a hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I am very disappointed to hear your comparisons between us and a hostel. It's unfair to attack our family owned and managed hotel like that. Our website does not deceive customers in anyway. People are entitled to their opinion and that is why we were happy to refund your money when you decided to leave early but your criticism is unjustified.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we stayed in the falls hotel end of july start of august for 4 days had a really lovely time good food staff were really nice and very help full very peace full place nice walks around hotel.
used the swimming pool every day which my gran daughter loved .
we would not hesitate to return to this hotel again. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
It's wonderful to hear that you are already thinking about returning to the Falls Hotel & Spa! I am delighted you had such a lovely four day break here in Ennistymon. As with many kids that come and stay with us, our swimming pool was a big hit with your grand-daughter. Thanks also for the compliments about our surroundings, food and staff.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
6.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
642 reviews
14.8 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,673 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
104 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,324 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing