We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security alert!”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Security alert!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We were a party of thirteen and stayed for one night in this hotel . I was sharing with my mother , on checking in we received our key for our room and when we opened the door there was another couple in the room with the same key ! I went back to reception and informed them and it must be a regular occurrence as they really didn't seem concerned by the whole thing I had to tell them to ring the other couple we walked in on to apologise .My mother left her jacket in the baggage room for safe keeping , when she went to get it , it was gone again the reception staff were un concerned and even tried to say someone in our party took the jacket !!! They then tried to put the blame on a new employee again no apology , too bad was the attitude ! Unfortunately because of this I am unable to remember any positives from my stay at the Falls hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank morietac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    291
    167
    87
    63
See reviews for
299
378
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, the 18th, 19th and 20th of august. Here's my quick review...

Hotel .... nice and clean, nothing too fancy, good location, good kids club and nice leisure centre

Food .... we always found food good, had two evening meals during our stay and food was always well presented and tasty. Breakfast was fresh and tasty too apart from presentation.

Staff .... this is why I gave a rating of 2 instead of 4. Most staff in hotel were pleasant, reception staff were always lovely, girls servicing the rooms always friendly too. The huge letdown was the restaurant staff, alot of the older ones were fine, restaurant manager for evening meals was a lovely lady and had great patience with kids. Some waitresses were ok but some were incapable of basic human interaction like saying "hello". And as for breakfast, over the three mornings it was so bad it actually became laughable. The manager was fine but just obviously oblivious to how unprofessional some of his staff were. A young tall guy who greets guests with a cold stare serves up breakfast. Saying serves up is being far too kind. He actually throws the food onto the plate then half mumbles something to the guests while rolling his eves. Myself and my partner watched so many guests walking away with a plate of food shaking their heads in disbelief. Their is no effort put into presentation, everything is just threw on the plate then covered in beans like preparing scrapes for a dog.


Just ten minutes training would go along way for these zombies...

Hello, good morning, what would you like, thank you, enjoy.

Its an awful way to stard the day being made feel like a prisoner having food catapulted at you.

Its a lovely hotel, great for families, but unfortunately some woeful staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is certainly appreciated! Overall despite the final rating it appears you had a quality stay with us. Most aspects of our hotel impressed you including our kids club, leisure centre and especially the standard of our food at breakfast and dinner time. You also point out that most of our staff were very friendly particularly in our reception and laundry departments. Unfortunately you felt our breakfast waiting staff were a let down. This is something we don't usually hear but your feedback has been passed on to our restaurant manager. I hope the positives far outweigh the minor negatives and that you will return and stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just back from a two night break in Ennistymon... we really enjoyed our stay in the Falls Hotel... the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and suited our needs. The pool was great and perfect balance for a toddler and 2 adults. Enjoyed the breakfast and one meal we ate there. It's a lovely part of Ireland and there's a lot to see locally - Lahinch is less than 10 minutes away. Ennistymon has a few nice spots and is a very short stroll away. All in all good value.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from function room and bar... we stayed on the third floor - it was quiet but co...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RufusDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent two night break at the Falls Hotel & Spa. Every aspect of the service we provide matched your expectations. Our staff and accommodation standards were high while our leisure centre and pool provided the perfect source of entertainment for your whole family. Based on your recommendation for county Clare I hope to see you all back again very soon!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratoath, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent four nights/five days in the Falls Hotel, Ennistymon, in July, travelling with 3 yo and 7 yo. Overall we had a lovely stay and I would have no hesitation recommending the hotel. Restaurant was busy but food was good, though would have liked more gluten-free options (am coeliac) in the bar. Best sirloin steak I've ever had in the bar. Music every night and plenty of kids around, so felt comfortable having a relaxing drink after dinner, with kids in tow. There's a game's room for kids, though some machines not working. The pool was lovely and a big hit with kids. I had a treatment which was so good and relaxing that I fell asleep! Rooms were lovely, loads of space for family, only criticism is lack of places to hang wet clothes from pool - something I've encountered in most accommodation! All in all, lovely place, beautiful setting, in words of 7 yo, 'epic' view over the falls in Ennistymon. Lovely walks around, though Ennistymon is quiet. Very accessible for local area. Definitely recommend it and hope to return (maybe minus kids next time :) )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
As they say children know best so we're very happy with our "Epic" description! We are delighted that your family had such a great stay with us this Summer. Our games room and swimming pool certainly kept the kids entertained so no wonder they enjoyed their visit so much. Our location and setting impressed you with our beautiful surrounding walks and accessibility to Ennistymon town being the major reasons why. The spa also had a lasting effect and the fact you feel asleep during the treatment proves how relaxing it was. We also hope to see you return with or without the kids and we ensure that there will be plenty more of those steaks you enjoyed so much available again!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as a family break to explore Clare.

The hotel looks lovely from the front and its setting beside the cascade is beautiful. The lobby seems to be the only part of the hotel that has had money spent on it recently. I get the impression it's focus is on weddings and that's where the money has been spent.

Room:
Our room was on the second floor with a view onto the river. The rooms are old fashioned and a bit dated, but were very clean. It looks like its been the same since the 1970's. the bathroom is the same. Our room had a double bed, a single bed along with a cot and it still felt roomy. The beds are a bit on the hard side with hard foam pillows - didn't have the best sleep.

Spa and Pool
We used the pool area which gets incredibly busy - I found the quietest time was at 9am. They have a nice small pool for babies which was nice and warm. You need to wear swimming hats - you can buy at the hotel. The only downside was the lack of baby changing facilities. There were 2 disabled changing areas that doubled as baby changing rooms, but there were so many young families it was rarely available. The hotel need to put in a cot and changing mat in the ladies changing rooms. I never got to try any of the beauty treatments as they were fully booked. It's a shame as they use Elemis products, which I love.

Food:
Breakfast in the morning was an okay buffet. It was busy but we always got a table once we were there before 9am. Lunch at the bar was a carvery with the options of sandwiches and chips. Huge Irish size portions. No chance of going hungry. Dinner in the restaurant was a nice 3 course meal that was included in our deal. Food was a bit too quick to appear but was tasty and well made.

Kids club:
During our stay the kids club wasn't on all day, it was on one morning and the following day it was only on in the evening. Our 5 year old wanted to go in the evening. He had his face painted and did some colouring in. There was meant to be some dancing games but in the end they just watched movies. My son was happy enough and didn't want to leave until it finished at 9pm. The hotel has a small games room but they are all things that cost money. It would be nice if there was a soft mat and a few toys for crawling babies.

The hotel is close to Lehinch beach and the cliffs of Moher. The town of Ennistymon is quite small, although there is a big Supervalu and we tried a really lovely restaurant called Byrne's - It has a lovely outside terrace.

The winning part of the hotel were the staff. They were all really lovely and very friendly. Also, it was nice that the hotel was so family friendly. If they made a few improvements like having a real play room and a place to warm bottles and baby food, it would be so much better.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellaweeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It's very detailed so certainly some aspects of it will be very helpful for future guests of our hotel. I am delighted in your final summary that our staff impressed you so much. Our family friendly hotel prides itself in the standard of our staff so I'm delighted they impressed you so much. Other aspects that you greatly appreciated included our location, our leisure centre and our standard of food. I'm also happy to hear that your 5 year old had such a terrific time at our River Rascals kids club.
I hope that you would consider returning to stay with us again in Ennistymon and that next time you get to enjoy an Elemis treatment at our Riverspa.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is situated beside the cascades, so there is a lovely view from the restaurant. The outside of the hotel (around the back) doesn't leave you with a great impression but I found the hotel inside to be lovely. Quaint and old etc but it was lovely. Our room was very big and perfectly clean. We had no issues with the hotel itself at all. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. They also have a map of Clare at reception desk showing where all the attractions are, which I think is a lovely idea.
However, we had a meal included in the main restaurant and breakfast included. Went for the meal the first night and things seemed good as we were greeted by a lovely manager who showed us to our table. The waiting staff were not overly friendly, but were fine. However, when we were ordering dessert, we had a different waiter and he was quite short with us - he snapped the menu out of my hand, practically threw our desserts and tea and coffee on the table. However, breakfast was just chaos. It is badly laid out, with the busiest areas i.e. the fry, juice and toast, opposite each other so there was no space to walk through. Simply moving the juice and toast to where the cereal is would save all the bumping into people and apologies! On both mornings, we had to hunt a member of the waiting staff to ask for tea and coffee - there was no such thing as someone coming to ask you if you wanted some. On the second morning, my partner actually had to stand in the middle of the restaurant to try and get someones attention. I also asked for brown sauce on both mornings (which should be out with the red sauce really) and was told they would bring it down and I never got any either time. I am not blaming the staff - they seem to be students there for the summer and I would say they just got the minimum training and they seemed to be quite short staffed, but the restaurant needs to be run better. I don't care what star hotel it is, you shouldn't have to follow someone in order to get tea and coffee in the mornings!

Our dinner was lovely, no complaints there at all. We also had a meal in the thai restaurant which was gorgeous and we had a lovely waitress who really looked after everyone called Fiona, so a big thank you to her.

The town itself isn't amazing, but it is ideally located for all the sights in Clare.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenrayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for expressing your views as customer feedback is key to constantly improving our standards and level of service. In general you have said many kind things about our hotel. Our views of the Cascades and waterfall certainly impressed you as did the standard of your bedroom. Our reception staff were their usually friendly selves and your not the first person to compliment us on our policy of having free to take away Clare maps on the desk. Our Thai restaurant and Fiona in particular left a lasting impression and she will be delighted to hear this positive feedback.
Unfortunately our breakfast experience did not impress you. A lot of what you raised was probably due to the very busy nature of our high season. When you have over 400 people staying every night of the Summer our restaurant can get very busy and therefore some areas like the buffet section can be crowded. However that's no excuse for you not getting your brown sauce our tea/coffee on time. This feedback will be passed on to our restaurant manager and I ensure you it won't happen again.
We hope that you'd consider another visit to the Falls again in the future!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely hotel – quaint and quirky. We had a beautiful bedroom for the weekend although there was a wedding on so lots of noise with people going to bed late (not the hotels fault!!) Beautiful breakfast with lovely views from the dining room. An amazing spa. Love the hotel and will be back again. Gorgeous area to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thanks for a short and sweet online review! Quaint and quirky is a wonderful description as we certainly are a bit different to the usual nama owned modern characterless hotel. Our accommodation, breakfast and spa in particular left a lasting impression. I also really appreciate how you accepted that sometimes there can be a bit of noise at a hotel when events take place rather than turning it into a big issue. The hotel industry would love if all guests were like you and it's excellent to see you will come back and stay again.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
347 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
404 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,220 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing