We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Park House(Ennistymon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveller rating
426
344
191
101
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
344
191
101
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrelovely hoteloutdoor hot tuboverlooking the riversteam roomcascades restaurantbar foodrelaxation roombit datedgames roomself cateringco clarewedding receptionnight breakboth nightsbreakfast and dinnerchanging rooms
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This is a really cosy intimate hotel.Don't come here looking for Siver service treatment. Staff are friendly with a very good front of house. It's a lovely hotel very comfy.Magnificent view of the weir from the restraunt. ROOMS ARE spotless with a rustic ambience.Spa and pool are good.Breakfast was lovely however evening meal just ok..the only black mark.Reasonably priced,friendly well run hotel... well done

Room Tip: Ground floor for less mobile people
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ramb01968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi ramb01968, thank you for such a balanced review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the 'rustic ambiance' of our rooms. We like them too! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

On our recent trip to the west coast of Ireland, we had a change of plans and ended up staying here one night. I was surprised to get a room on such notice at a decent price, so my expectations were pretty low. The place is huge and at one time was probably pretty spectacular. Our room was fine. A little outdated, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant was great with lots of windows and an amazing view of the falls. We were pleasantly surprised and our experience was good. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was delicious too. Wifi is pretty bad, but it's better to be unplugged when you're on vacation so it wasn't too big of a deal for us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maryn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Maryn67, thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you happened to stay with us on your trip and that you enjoyed your stay! We have made improvements to our breakfast offering over the last few months, we are glad you liked it. Yes, the speed of wi-fi is an issue for us, due to our location - you are right, it is great to unplug when you are on vacation! Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Positives...

Staff are very friendly across the hotel, and do their best to be accommodating as possible. I had emailed in advance and requested a Waterfall facing room, which was allocated.
Bar was great, with lovely views of Ennistymon and the Waterfall. The drinks and food at the bar were of a good standard.
Good location, with the high street a short walk away.
We didnt go, but though the spa and treatments looked good value.

Improvements...

The whole hotel is in need of a facelift. From the outside, it looks lovely, but inside is really dated. Looking through pictures online, it seems the hotel has renovated their suites, but their standard bedrooms are very basic and in need of a complete overhaul. I opened the window in our room, and genuinely thought it was going to snap off its hinges.
Wifi was continuously dropping out, and after mentioning to reception to staff, it wasn't fixed during our stay.
We stayed during peak season, but felt the hotel was overpriced.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel, but feel with some cosmetic updates, the hotel can be an gret place to stay.

Room Tip: If available, pay a bit more and stay in a suite, which look lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JBoyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi JBoyyy, thank you for your review. I will pass your compliments onto our team from you. We do carry out upgrades to our bedrooms every couple of years. In February, we are closing 40 to renovate them and the bathrooms. We will do more towards the end of the year. Our bar is being completely renovated in January. Being a large family run hotel, it is challenging to keep up with changing styles but we are conscious that it needs to be done and try to update our rooms as regularly as we can.
As you experienced, we do have an issue with wi-fi. We have the best bandwidth that our national provider can provide, but due to our (wonderful!) location, it is nowhere near the speeds of urban areas. We do ask guests not to expect it to be. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

A beautiful view of the falls and the river from the front of the hotel. Very accessible paths for walking along the river. A great indoor pool with lanes for exercise separated from the more open family area. The rooms were spacious and clean and there were no problems with service. Check-in was fast and easy despite us being a family group of 11 that included 5 children. I really don't have a bad thing to report. They only score a 4 because of their restaurant. We had family members who could not get around very easily so we ate most nights at the hotel restaurant. The food was standard pub fare which was fine. But the service was a little confused. Drink orders came that were wrong or sometimes never came at all. They were friendly and did their best for us but at times they seemed to be struggling. Entertainment was provided by a gentleman with a guitar singing country - Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, etc. - most nights except for those when a more traditional Irish trio took his place or when there was no entertainment at all. I was wishing we could have gone to explore more of the restaurants that were just walking distance away in the nearby town. Since the restaurant kept bringing up memories of the restaurant staff in Fawlty Towers, they lose a point.

Room Tip: Request a view of the falls or the river.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Paul, thank you for your review. We are delighted that overall you did enjoy your stay with your family. I take on board your comments regarding your evening meals in our bar. It is disappointing to read of your experience, particularly when you ate here several nights. I have passed your feedback onto the manager and it will be acted on to provide a better service for our guests. Thanks again for your feedback, it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is a big and old hotel, and shows signs of age. It sits right along a river, beside a series of falls on the river, presenting a wonderful setting. Inside it's a bit dated and could use a revamp but it's clean and staff are very helpful. Busy dining room for breakfast, especially with a wedding on! And by the way, check if there is going to be a music event on because that might influence where you'd prefer your room to be. Room was good and spacious. Bar area is rather dismal. Good base for anyone interested in going hill walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the river. And that is away from the function room as music can be loud.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotelSpa, Guest Relations Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi DublinEdM, we are glad that you appreciated the lovely view of the river surrounding our property and the wonderful setting. The original main building of the hotel was built in the 17th century, the rest of the hotel was added on approx 30 years ago. We are by no means a new modern hotel, our decor is in keeping with the tone of the original building. Saying that, we do upgrade our rooms every couple of years, 40 of which are due to be renovated next February - we do our best to keep up with changing styles! Our Dylan Thomas Bar is being completely renovated in January. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews