We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, a must see!”

Powerscourt Waterfall
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Powerscourt Waterfall is Ireland's highest at 121m (398ft). It is set in North County Wicklow just outside Enniskerry Village. The magnificent Waterfall cascades down over the granite rocks from the peatlands above. The crystal clear water flows down to the river below where it continues on its journey out to sea at Bray. The valley itself was carved out by a glacier during the ice age! Today Powerscourt is a haven for some of Ireland's wildlife, flora and fauna. The Sikka deer were first introduced here by Lord Powerscourt in 1858. The Waterfall is best seen just after heavy rain and the sheer volume of water and noise is certainly a sight to behold. The Waterfall is an ideal location for summer picnics and barbecues. There is a vast amount of space to keep children entertained. There is also a playground for younger children. Don't fret if you forget your picnic as there is a kiosk on site that serves everything from coffee and tea to hot-dogs and ice-cream. The kiosk is open everyday from the 1st June to the end of August and year round at weekends, if weather permits. There is ample car parking and toilet facilities at the waterfall. Dogs are welcome but they must be on a leash. Take time to explore the pathways that meander through the flora and fauna, walk along the woodland pathways and listen to the birdsong.
Reviewed 7 August 2011

A friend from Dublin took us to see the Powerscourt house and gardens, but we were pressed for time, so we just went to see the waterfalls. It was a great choice, because the waterfalls and surrounding area are beautiful. There isn't much to actually do there, so bring a ball to kick around and pack a picnic lunch if you are going to stay for any length of time. What was great for us with two small children is that they have a very extensive playground area. This was good to keep them entertained for a while while the adults chatted. I would recommend allocating a half to three quarters of a day to see all of the Powerscourt locations.

1  Thank Vasselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Waterfall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Hi good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and perhaps next time you will have some extra time to explore Powerscourt Gardens. Great photo! Warm Regards Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"entrance fee"
in 37 reviews
"natural wonder"
in 10 reviews
"per adult"
in 27 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 22 reviews
"great place for a picnic"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 34 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 10 reviews
"car park"
in 27 reviews
"play area"
in 12 reviews
"beautiful spot"
in 9 reviews
"on site"
in 12 reviews
"sunny day"
in 13 reviews
"wicklow mountains"
in 11 reviews
"bbq"
in 36 reviews
"nature"
in 66 reviews
"walks"
in 73 reviews
"ireland"
in 137 reviews
Filter

809 - 813 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

I can only echo what has been said already, it's a Waterfall in a nice setting in a nice part of the country with an unjustifiably high entrance fee.

That's about it really, if you love the great outdoors I guess it's worth seeing but if you have seen other more spectacular Waterfalls around the world you might feel indifferent towards Powerscourt. It's a very popular picnic spot so if you visit on a sunny day you can expect Kid City! Limited facilities on site and 3-4km to the nearest thing resembling civilisation (Enniskerry Town).

Big thumbs down to the €5pp admission fee, simply not good value.

Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Waterfall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission charge was quite high. It is indeed a popular picnic area because of its close proximity to Dublin and the playground is very popular too.
The Waterfall and surrounding parkland are privately owned by Powerscourt Estate therefore we do not get any funding towards the upkeep. Most recently we have had to repair the bridge at the entrance gate and also resurface the roadway at a significant cost. Warm Regards Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We paid €10 just to be able to drive the last 500 meters to the waterfall parking lot. The waterfall itself looks nice, but it is nothing special compared to waterfalls in other countries like the U.S. or Austria.
We believe that the Powerscourt House and Gardens is definitely worth a visit, but unless you are really into waterfalls, we would recommend to save your money and spend it on other, more thrilling attractions.

2  Thank Charly255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Waterfall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Powerscourt Waterfall for us. We welcome your feedback as this will help us improve our facilites and attractions for all our visitors. The Waterfall is Ireland's Highest at 121m and has recently been voted one of the Top 7 Waterfalls in the World on http://travelblog.viator.com/top-7-waterfalls-around-the-world. The Waterfall is privatley owned by Powerscourt Estate we do not receive any funding to assist in maintaining the parkland and facilities for our visitors. Many thanks for your recommendation to visit the House and Gardens and We are deligted that you enjoyed your visit. Warm Regards Carmel Byrne, Tourism and Marketing, Powerscourt Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

To quote Mr Johnson when speaking about the Giants' Causeway, "Worth seeing, yes; but not worth going to see." Ireland's highest waterfall but as has been said before, if you've seen one........ You might imagine it would be on the Powerscourt Estate but it's a few miles away just off the road back to Bray. 5 euro per person to see a waterfall is a bit steep too. Some nice walks around it though.

Thank martymac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2010

As you arrive to the falls, a kind middle aged woman comes out of a little cabin, and tells you where to park. We went in November, and there was hardly anyone there. A magical place, understated on one hand, but grand in another (hard to explain). Not far from the Ritz in Powerscourt, where we were staying.

Thank Haltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Powerscourt Waterfall also viewed

 
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
Laragh, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Powerscourt Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing