We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the hospitality of Yvonne and co.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coolakay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniskerry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coolakay House
Ranked #1 of 5 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy the hospitality of Yvonne and co.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had our last night on the Wicklow Way at Coolakay, and it was also the best stay. Extremely helpfull and friendly people. Selfservice the and coffe all day, great WiFi, fantastic view, nice and clean room, and driving us to the city twice during our short stay. We hope to come back some time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheDanes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    50
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
68
130
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroke City NI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

In my recent journey on the tremendous Wicklow Way, my group and I had occasion to stay at Coolakay House for the night. We had completed a long day's walk from Marlay Park (about 21 km) and were delighted to have a comfortable place to stay.
Yvonne and her team could not have been nicer: we were met on the Way (Crone car park) and transported to the B&B (a few km). There was fresh coffee and scones on arrival and very pleasant company of other guests.
Transport was available to Enniskerry (about 3 km) for dinner that evening and the publican (at the recommended pub) also provided transport back to Coolakay for us. Breakfast the next day was hearty and ample before our transport back to the start point of the Way once again. This is Irish hospitality at its simple best. The pricing was very competitive, the room spotless (if a little small - only adverse comment).
Put Coolakay house on your itinerary!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay when you are in Enniskerry. The B&B is in the countryside with stunning views, and yet close to the village center. Very friendly owners/staffing who support you in all they can. Clean and modern rooms, good parking possibilties and exceptional breakfast. We will surely come again here, once we are in the neighbourhood.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My mom and sister and I stayed at Coolakay and we loved the experience! It is really close to Powerscout Gardens and waterfall...and an easy drive to Wicklow National Mountains, Bray, and Wicklow. Yvonne did a wonderful job of making everyone feel welcomed and at home. She cooked an amazing breakfast for us (full irish breakfast, oatmeal, omelettes, etc) each morning. She also have us great directions around town and was always so helpful and sweet. The house itself is really nice and has a great view of Enniskerry, especially when you take a little hike up their pastures with the horses and sheep...breathtaking! Green mountain hillsides all around you and you can even see the ocean! My family and I loved this place and would definitely go back! Thanks Yvonee!! We love Coolakay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namiko u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down, northern ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here mid June for easy access to enniskerry and powerscourt. A warm welcome awaited from Yvonne Monika and Clare. The room and bathroom were rather on the small side especially the bathroom but what more did we need really? The beds were clean warm and comfy and there was a great powershower though apparently it went cold on the second person to use it in the morning in our room! Wifi did not work in our room wch was disappointing. The breakfast was good though not excellent. Several items needed to be replenished (yoghurt, fruit, prunes) and the orange juice was cheap and extremely nasty. U made ur own tea or instant coffee and there was percolated coffee too. There were a few cereals ask. Breads were good and cooked breakfast good too. Lovely location and scenery and ideal for powerscourt etc but car essential. Would I stay again? Certainly I would....,., recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dfw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Yvonne runs a beautiful B&B. She has all of the amenities! She forgets nothing. The furnishings are as if you are staying at a beautiful home. The baths are furnished with every nicety. The surroundings are wonderful! Such a beautiful and quiet environment. Quite a bargan! Her cooking is great. A marvelous experience. It is convenient to everything in Wicklow.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was the most expensive B and B we stayed at in Ireland but though good I wouldn't say it was the best. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed but it was in the annexe so a walk in the wet would have been necessary had it rained. It was the only B and B we stayed at which didn't have tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was rather disappointing. We were told coffee/tea was always available in the lounge, true but not what you want first thing in the morning when staying in the annexe. The host and her staff made us very welcome and provided tea on arrival - a nice touch. She also offered us the use of her own computer and printer so that we could print our boarding passes, very handy though again the WiFi didn't reach to our room.
The house is in a lovely position with great views from the lounge at breakfast but our room only had a view of tour buses which apparently also stay the night there.

Room Tip: There might be better views from the main house and the WiFi will work there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneR682, Owner at Coolakay House, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hello Gray666,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We weren't aware that the WiFi did not work in the Annix and as a result of your feedback we have upgraded our WiFi so it now does extend to the Annix rooms.
We also took your point on board with regards to the tea/coffee whilst it is available in the dining area that it would be nice to have it in the Annix. A new tea and coffee station as now been set up in the Annix which will allow guests to make a cup of tea or coffee at anytime. It is proving very popular as guests are now enjoying a cuppa in the morning on the decking. So once again thank you.

If you plan on staying with us again let us know and i will ensure you get a 'view' room.

Regards

Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
1.8 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
6.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
6.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolakay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolakay House

Property: Coolakay House
Address: Waterfall Road | Coolakay, Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Also Known As:
Coolakay House Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing