We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful.”
Review of Coolakay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniskerry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coolakay House
Ranked #1 of 6 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Arrived in this magical spot after a long tiring car journey to be greeted by Yvonne with an offer of tea or coffee and a big smile. As yvonne showed us to our room she was telling us what we could do and see in the area. We had a lovely comfortable room with all mod/cons as they say..Breakfast lived up to the high standards we had already seen with great variety of choice. Staff lived up to these high standards that we came to realise was par for the course.nothing was a problem. Ask for directions and you got a map as well. Brilliant and we hope to return before too long. Fintan C.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fintan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Coolakay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived at Coolakay midday after an overseas flight. Before we even checked in, Yvonne had a cup of tea ready for us to relax with. It was the best tea we had anywhere - Lyons tea. We had a beautiful triple room overlooking the hills with Powerscourt in the distance. The beds were extremely comfortable. The staff could not have been kinder. Yvonne provided us with maps of the area and when we left she told us the most scenic way to arrive at our next stop.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 617Judith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed for one night only and found the B&B on the way to Glendalough, we like the location in the country down a real Irish road surrounded by trees and green fields and hills. On arrival Yvonne made me a cup of coffee and showed us straight to our room, which was beautifully presented, in fact the whole B&B was astonishingly beautiful and tastefully decorated. The shower was fantastic. We also loved the water feature, the deck and lighting and the statue of a deer out the front. We had a great breakfast, a lovely young lady served us, and we also had a chat to a couple of Americans. It was a very comfortable and homely B&B 11 out of 10.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location for exploring the Wicklow Mountains area. The B&B was easy to find, the room was just right for one person, and breakfast was good. The B&B is in the country, surrounded by fields and pasture. The rate was reasonable - just make sure you have cash, as they do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKDJuniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was our first night in Ireland, after a long flight and conenction from Dubai. We had already been in contact with the B&B to book and highlight we would be coming in late (after approximately 8:30pm).

When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and shown our room. Mindful that it was late and we hadnt had dinner, Yvonne recommended we scoot off to one of the local pubs for dinner, as they shut off order at 9pm....HOWEVER, we should mention her name if we ran into trouble.
Managed to sneak in a meal order just before dinner (at the Old Forge) and it was great.

Our room at teh B&B was wonderful and cosy. We had a blissful night's sleep in a comfortable large bed with the warmest duvert/ doona imaginable. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful....and make sure you ahve the black and white pudding...don't listen to anyone who says they aren't nice...they are delicious, as too are the soda bread and the spice bread (the latter a recent addiotn to the menu and made in-house).

All-in-all...a wonderful stay, and I wish our stay could have extended beyond one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWJH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a lovely B&B with SPECTACULAR views of the Wicklow Mtns. If you've seen the film P.S. I Love You with Hillary Swank and Gerard Butler, this is literally where they filmed it! The room was small but tastefully appointed and the beds were comfortable. The water flow is not the strongest but the water is nice and hot. It's a short drive into Enniskerry which is a spectacularly picturesque village. The morning meal was ample and very satisfactory. Thanks you Coolakay!

Room Tip: If you are a couple and desire a single bed to share, say so. We did not and were given two twins...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bschoenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our second trip to Ireland. We stayed with Yvonne on the first trip and knew we'd have to stay again. We stayed 2 nights each at the beginning and again at the end of our 5 week Irish wanderings. Yvonne goes out of her way to make you feel at home, the food is wonderful and the peaceful view is very refreshing. Coolakay House is situated perfectly for wonderful day trips as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
1.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
6.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
456 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolakay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolakay House

Address: Waterfall Road | Coolakay, Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Price Range: £73 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Coolakay House Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing