We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back to the 90s”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Meath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A trip back to the 90s”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived at this hotel for valentines night looking for a relaxing evening and stay. We instantly thought it was lovely on the outside. When we got inside there was a wedding which was playing very loud music in the bar. Took ages to actually find the reception area..no signs to direct you. Waited 5 mins before anyone came to the desk. Told we were being upgraded to a room in the house as we had booked a courtroom. Delighted to hear we were upgraded, we made our way to our room and Opened the door and thought I had stepped back in time. I understand the hotel likes to keep in time with the house but this took the biscuit. 2 dirty armchairs,a tv with a huge back on it with little or no channels, 2 pictures on the wall, one with a huge hole in it, broken lamp, dark teak bedside lockers, and as for the bathroom. I decided to have a bath and the water was brown. We contemplated on leaving as soon as we got there. Couldn't relax in the room so decided to go to the next town for dinner. Came back to the bar, dead... Hard leather chairs, you just couldn't relax in it. We went to bed and got up early for breakfast which I have to say was the only positive about the hotel. Lovely fruit, smoothies and usual eggs bacon etc. We also had to look at some of the wedding party who decided to eat breakfast in their pyjamas in the restaurant. We left and checked out, raising our concerns with the receptionist who said it would be brought to a managers attention. We certainly won't be back, very very disappointing. Has the potential to be a lovely hotel. Very pricey for a dirty dated room. Don't waste your money, stay in the village instead or the ritz.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Derina T,

Our apologies on your below standard bedroom, basic cleanliness should have been achieved. While yes our rooms are very traditional and we do receive positive feedback on the size of our rooms so guests relax in comfort.

The music you experienced was unusual, however I see the bar was relaxing afterwards for a quite drink.

We do have a minimum dress code for all meal periods, you should not have experienced guests coming to breakfast in unsuitable dress code and is one we have never experienced before.
Like you mentioned we do agree the potential is great, we do however have to manage each department on resource as a small private operator.

Regards,
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    159
    102
    70
    94
See reviews for
152
244
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here recently with my partner as part of a(n overpriced) deal that included dinner, breakfast and two spa treatments. Arrived on a Saturday afternoon at the same time as a large wedding party, but believing we were in a professional establishment we didn't think this would be a problem. The Rainforest spa was pleasant if not slightly small. However the evening took a horrendous turn at dinner time. On being seated in their small restaurant we were placed right next to a number of sets of double doors leading out into a foyer where all the wedding guests were loitering after their dinner. Consequently the restaurant was completely overpowered by their loud chatter and shouting. It was such a bizarre arrangement, we could barely conduct a conversation, the atmosphere of the restaurant was ruined. The lacklustre menu of roast beef and chicken breast etc. was disappointing but not as disappointing as the meal itself. Never have i been served a worse meal. The roast beef was drowning in a dark hideously oily gravy and as I tried to cut it I realised it was 95% gristle, just pure fat. We decided to save our comments until the we checked out the next day as there was only one waitress serving the 4 or so occupied tables...Also I'm sure the only placation she would have offered us was something else off their poor menu. We went to the bar for a post-dinner drink but upon seeing it was over-run with raucous wedding guests we retired to our room with a sour taste in our mouths...both figuratively and literally. We then spent the night wide-awake as we listened to the wedding celebrations below. Attempted to call the reception to complain about the noise but to no avail. W decided to skip breakfast the next morning due to the poor quality of the previous nights offerings. When we were checking out the next morning we told the lady at the front desk about our dissatisfaction and the poor excuse she offered us was that 'the kitchen was busy due to the wedding' - is that what they call customer service?? Perhaps then if the Summerhill can barely function while they are hosting a wedding they should not be open to other PAYING customers at such a time. While we tried to speak to the receptionist we were interrupted by another guest and the receptionist just turned away from us and started speaking to him. I am not a picky person of very high standards by any means, the best hotels and restaurants are those which treat the customer well and do the simple things right; neither of which the Summerhill can manage. Even more of an insult when you are paying upwards of 200euro.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFGF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear HFGF88,

Our apologies you felt our restaurant is very small as being a country house we are very limited and restricted with space. We have to work as best within the resource's we have. The double doors next to your table is the only access route for wedding guests to access their rooms and other areas of the house, but yes we should have managed the logistics better for it not to impact on other guests.

We will give your feedback regards to your experience with dinner. We are always looking at areas to improve our food even with a lot of positive feedback also.
Your call should have been answered by the night manager on duty and is a poor reflection on us.

As you mentioned, you had experience poor customer service during your stay and on check-out, being such a small hotel we cannot afford incidents like this to happen as it has a huge negative impact on our business.

If you were to give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves I would be grateful if you can contact me manager@summerhillhousehotel.com

Regards
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

Wexford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a package deal with spa treatments included for 5 of us. It was very relaxing and lovely stay. The rooms were clean however could do with some repair work but nothing so major it turns you off! Dinner was nice and waitress couldn't do enough for us. Only downside was when we booked for 5 they couldn't give us a triple and double so they gave us three doubles and assured us there would be no extra cost for the person on their own however when it came to check out there was a single supplement we had to pay. However would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

On arriving thought the hotel looked lovely, however the meal we had was disappointing and then we were treated to a group of all singing clapping guests well past midnight. It is currently 2.30am and guests in the reception are still singing and laughing and shouting. The front desk was vacant past 11pm despite promises of 24hour service -we tried calling several times to complain about the noise to no avail. We were not advised when checking in that there was a large party of people and this is definitely not a hotel that I would recommend or come to again. We were looking forward to a relaxing night and a good nights sleep I brought my partner for his birthday- very disappointing,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Jessica,
Thank you for your honest feedback.

Our apologies that we did not manage the level of noise accordingly coming from the restaurant. Any group staying should not have impacted on another guests stay.

Your feedback regarding our food will not go without action and yes your call should have been answered by the night manager when you call in the early hours.

We will share your feedback to minimise similar occurrence's once again.

Regards,
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Enjoyed our night here, place is lovely, right beside powerscourt estate and 10min walk to enniskerry. The staff were helpful and nice, no complaints. They were also kind enough to ring the week before our stay to let us know that the restaurant was booking up if we wanted to book dinner there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroke City NI
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here recently and for the first time. I have known this hotel down through the years as a wedding venue in the pretty town of Enniskerry. On this occasion, I was invited to a party locally and decided to avail of a room. My first impression was of the nice and welcoming vestibule and lobby area - typical of a small country house hotel.
The price point is perfect, the bedroom tired, though well-heated and spotless. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi with no silly codes or hidden charges: the fancy 4* and 5* hotels in Ireland cannot seem to figure this simple and satisfying customer privilege out.
The bedding was comfortable and the sheets/duvet were crisp/fresh.
The bedroom itself had seen better days with worn furniture and light fixtures and the old tube TV in the room. Though a little jaded in the furnishings, things were spotless. Concrete walls ensure a quiet night's sleep too.
In the morning, as I read the paper after a nice fresh breakfast with a grand selection of bread/fruit and hot Irish, the staff had the fire in the lobby lighted and it created a lovely atmosphere. I could have sat there all day. The main modernization is in the front of house/reception areas, but I give the hotel a thumbs-up for a job well done and would stay again.

Room Tip: Away from the reception-room/ballroom things are quieter and the floors and walls are all concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here for a wedding in September 2013 and it was a disaster, rude staff, dirty rooms, bride abused when she arrived as there was no room ready for her and she foolishly asked the receptionist for assistance......,meanwhile no wedding planner to fix table errors as he was busy showing another couple to hotel for their wedding. Genuinely awful experience. The hotel staff ignored people trying to check in, gave them dirty rooms and worst of all managed to lose the brides bag!!!! I've stayed in a lot of places and seen a lot of things but I've never seen a hotel treat a bride with such disrespect. Never mind the smelly rooms that they didn't bother to clean properly as apparently it was busy as they had a wedding the day before.....

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel or else stay in the bridal suite, when the bride was eventually allowed in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DindyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear DindyDoodle,

I would be grateful if you can contact me at manager@summerhillhousehotel.com, in relation to the feedback in your review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,033 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
450 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
603 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing