We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have just been to Summerhill house with my fiancé and parents for Sunday lunch. We had one main course with coffees after. The food was great- good portions and cooked to perfection. The waitress was very friendly and provided a great service. the hotel looked great- fires in all the main area- very cosy atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Iameasiliypleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for one night one a package including a massage at the spa and use of the facilities, afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. We had a lovely stay! Any staff member we met was more than helpful, chatty and friendly. We had a particularly lovely waitress during dinner! We were really happy with the afternoon tea, and the menu selection in the restaurant for dinner.

We booked a king room - and it actually was a king-sized bed, not just two mattresses pushed together like you often get! The room was clean and very comfortable. Lovely location! We're from the area so didn't explore from the hotel, but there are lots of beautiful walks nearby and the village of Enniskerry is lovely. Not too far from Dublin city too if you fancied a break from the countryside!

Room Tip: The king room was very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay! Did the mother and daughter package with an extra nights stay was excellent value. The spa is lovely and the view from the hot tub is spectacular. Only reason I didn't give full marks was that on the 2nd night the fire alarms went off all through the night and not much was done to apologise or let us know what was happening. But will certainly visit again! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my partner as part of the vintage spa deal. I am 28 weeks pregnant and my partner rang ahead to ensure I could still avail of even some of the spa. When we arrived the receptionist was very friendly . We went for our afternoon tea which wasn't great and went to the spa. I was given a pregnancy massage which left me with bad sciatica afterwards for two days and was then told I could not do anything else in the spa so we had to leave After been reassured weeks before I wouldn't miss out. Dinner wise the staff couldn't be more helpful and kind but the food wasn't great with a very poor selection available on the menu. Our bedroom was comfortable but dated and the bathroom dirty . We went for breakfast in the morning which was very tasty however the minute we put our forks down we were asked to leave by the waitress as they where under pressure for space. This was really annoying as we wanted to have something else but she rushed us out saying we could have our tea at the reception outside . We found this very unprofessional and quite irritating.Overall we were very disappointed with summerhill house and will not be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Harvey12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Harvey12345678,

We will review our offering of our dinner menu, as its a fine balance of offering value with the correct price point and not adding supplements to many menu items.
Our apologies regarding your dirty bathroom, this should not have been the case as its a basic standard.

We normally receive very good feedback for our breakfast at the desk, however not on your occasion. I will share your experience with the restaurant team as we don't wish to make our guests feel rushed and uncomfortable during breakfast.

As the Spa is run independently, your feedback will also shared back.

Regards
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for a wedding which was really 1st class. But that is where it ends. Our room was awful. Carpet was dirty and bathroom flithy. The room was over heated even with all three windows open. When I went to turn the radiator off I found that both thermostats where actually broken and just placed back on. Rang reception 3 times before a porter answered. He was not much help anyway after fiddling around with what I believe to be a pliers he turned the mains heating off from out side. It was back on when we woke completely stuffy the next morning. Breakfast (room service)was stone cold,although others had said the buffet was fine. To top it all off we have been constantly harresed by the staff about the room being unpaid to which my partner insists he paid upon checking in. I have stayed here for the past four years for pamper packages but unfortunately will not be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irishhometravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel has a very nice location hotel it self is old and run down needs a lot to bring it up to any desent standard reception staff not very helpfull room was cold and not well equipt food in restarant was very bad from what we could see the bar food was much better as to value for money it dose no compair to any i think you will do much better in a bed and breckfast in this area will not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived at this hotel for valentines night looking for a relaxing evening and stay. We instantly thought it was lovely on the outside. When we got inside there was a wedding which was playing very loud music in the bar. Took ages to actually find the reception area..no signs to direct you. Waited 5 mins before anyone came to the desk. Told we were being upgraded to a room in the house as we had booked a courtroom. Delighted to hear we were upgraded, we made our way to our room and Opened the door and thought I had stepped back in time. I understand the hotel likes to keep in time with the house but this took the biscuit. 2 dirty armchairs,a tv with a huge back on it with little or no channels, 2 pictures on the wall, one with a huge hole in it, broken lamp, dark teak bedside lockers, and as for the bathroom. I decided to have a bath and the water was brown. We contemplated on leaving as soon as we got there. Couldn't relax in the room so decided to go to the next town for dinner. Came back to the bar, dead... Hard leather chairs, you just couldn't relax in it. We went to bed and got up early for breakfast which I have to say was the only positive about the hotel. Lovely fruit, smoothies and usual eggs bacon etc. We also had to look at some of the wedding party who decided to eat breakfast in their pyjamas in the restaurant. We left and checked out, raising our concerns with the receptionist who said it would be brought to a managers attention. We certainly won't be back, very very disappointing. Has the potential to be a lovely hotel. Very pricey for a dirty dated room. Don't waste your money, stay in the village instead or the ritz.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Derina T,

Our apologies on your below standard bedroom, basic cleanliness should have been achieved. While yes our rooms are very traditional and we do receive positive feedback on the size of our rooms so guests relax in comfort.

The music you experienced was unusual, however I see the bar was relaxing afterwards for a quite drink.

We do have a minimum dress code for all meal periods, you should not have experienced guests coming to breakfast in unsuitable dress code and is one we have never experienced before.
Like you mentioned we do agree the potential is great, we do however have to manage each department on resource as a small private operator.

Regards,
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,057 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
627 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing