We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Summer stay in Summerhill House Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Summer stay in Summerhill House Hotel.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from one night's B&B with dinner at the Summerhill House Hotel. Our first impressions were good, the appearance of the building set well back from the road through a mini forest indicated a very peaceful stay. However, we were somewhat disappointed to see what proved to be a large wedding and knowing Irish weddings thought "bang! there goes our night's peaceful rest". We need not have worried because the very nice receptionist assured us that the bedrooms were well away from the function room and so it proved. The bedroom was very large - it contained two full sized double beds with a smallish but very well appointed en suite. There is individually controlled heating, plenty of chairs and flat screen TV. Our room on the third floor looked out onto what we assumed to be the back of the hotel. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. We had a rest before going down to the dining room. We were glad to have booked the dinner when making the bedroom reservation because the dining room was very busy. The menu was not large (about five mains) but the meal was three courses plus tea/coffee for Eur25.00 which is very reasonable. The service was first class and we had to wait only a few minutes before the first courses arrived. We were given just enough time to digest those when the mains arrived. The food was well cooked and plenty of it. One criticism. My wife does not drink wine and it would have been nice to have had the opportunity of ordering a half-bottle or carafe rather than a glass from a fairly small list of wines. We retired to bed and had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was serve yourself from a fairly large selection of hot and cold - but no scrambled eggs!! Again the service was good with refills of tea/coffee as required. All in all this is a really good country house style of hotel situated in beautiful countryside. It is not far from Killruddery House & Gardens, the world famous Powerscourt - both well worth visits and the bright lights of Enniskerry are a short stroll down the road. I noted that the hotel offered the hire of bicycles for the more active. We both strongly recommend this hotel either as a stop over or for a longer holiday.

Room Tip: We could recommend any of the 3rd and 4th floor bedrooms. The noise from the function rooms cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faughaballagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    162
    102
    70
    94
See reviews for
152
246
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, NI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were visiting Powerscourt & Enniskerry on a quick break, & looked at a few hotels in this area, & Summerhill House was definitely the right choice. There's a homely feel to the place, the staff (particularly Andrew) were helpful, whilst our room was well-decorated and spacious. Breakfast was good too, served in a nice room, so we would have no hesitation in recommending Summerhill House, & would love to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The ambiance on entering the Hotel is relaxed and welcoming and the decor is beautiful. The staff are so friendly and obliging without being ostentatious. The Spa experience was second to none. I had my eighty year old Mother with me and this was her first Spa experience and she loved it. The food was scrumptious and plentiful. All areas of hotel are spotless clean and the furnishings are luxuriant. The outdoor area is beautiful with plenty of seating. Thank you all so much for a lovely stay. We will be back in the near future. I am envisioning the Christmas period in your hotel with log fires and a big Christmas tree. We will definitely be down then if you open over Christmas. I was very impressed overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed at the Summerhill on 5 occasions including on my wedding night. Each time I have stayed there I have been majorly impressed with the quality of customer service that we have experienced as well as the attentiveness of staff. The food in the restaurant is always superb and large portions which is a nice change from some hotels that try to rip you off with small portion sizes.

The Summerhill is quite possibly my favourite hotel and I am looking forwards to returning many more times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Once the room we had actually reserved, was finally given to us...it was only to find out that it had no wall insulation whatsoever......which resulted in a very painful sleepless night. A piece of advice: ask for first floor courtyard rooms...or rooms with nobody upstairs

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Floriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this hotel to extend our holiday. After staying in budget hotels in England and Wales we thought we would treat ourselves! What a disappointment!! The budget hotels were clean and luxurious hotels in comparison to this. This is what you would refer to as "All front with no substance".we waited about 15 mins before anyone came to reception desk to check in, then we went to the room which was dated and dirty ....there is certainly no photograph of this room on the internet. It had a broken lamp, huge old big back tv with very little stations, no overhead light leaving the room dark and dingy. There was long black hairs on the bathroom floor (possibly from one of the cleaners who had her hair hanging around her that looked like it was never brushed ...dishevelled to say the least!) The carpet had never been hoovered and the water was brown. To be honest we kept out of our room until bedtime ....as our room was at back of hotel there was an entrance door just outside our window which attracted a lot of smokers so we had to close the window! This entrance was also where the cleaners seemed to congregate with bags of dirty towels and trolleys. We had good breakfast ... the only good point! after spending a few hours out and about we returned to find our room had never been cleaned ...3pm they came to the door and we were in room so we just asked for clean towels and some teabags. when we were packing up to leave we found rubbish which belonged to previous guests at the head of one of the beds ...which would have been seen when making beds but was obviously not removed ...dirty! so our treat at end of holidays was disappointing and I most certainly would not recommend this hotel and will never set foot in it again ...I have stayed in cleaner hostels!! As for the price it broke my heart to fork out 320 euro for such a dirty room especially after seeing lovely photos of other rooms on the internet ....very misleading and false advertising of this hotel!

Room Tip: spend a bit more and stay in the beautiful hotel across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L123332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear L123332,

Our sincere apologies you had such a negative experience while staying at Summerhill House. I would be grateful if you can contact me directly at manager@summerhillhousehotel.com

Kind Regards
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This inn is tucked down a road covered in foliage and sits on land with the most beautiful views of Ireland. The hotel staff is very accommodating during operating hours. I stayed in the apartment like rooms towards the back of the hotel. There was limited internet connection, therefore if this is work related then I suggest staying in the main part of the hotel. As for food, the breakfast is amazing and included with your stay. The bar is a great place to have a drink before you go to the downtown area.

Room Tip: The apartment like rooms in the back of the hotel are very private and easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,036 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
450 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,043 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing