We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powerscourt Arms Country House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Powerscourt Arms Country House
Ranked #4 of 5 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I attended a wedding of by best friend in The Ritz Carlton and rooms were booked for us on a lower budget by the couple in the Powerscourt Arms. We had a fab time with a beautiful meal the night before. I had my usual emergency on the morning of the wedding which necessitated a trip to Dundrum shopping centre and the owner drove me there! When we got back from the wedding we had a session to end all sessions in the bar with "mash" the barman leading the proceedings.All in all this was a fun place, great value with nice bedrooms for the price. It is bang in the middle of Enniskerry . Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    38
    26
    12
    17
See reviews for
21
60
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I found this little gem of a hotel whilst on business in Bray. Its more like an old fashioned Inn with a modern twist. It is completely different than the regular chain hotels I normally stay in on business trips.The food is great and the personal attention makes a real difference.My room was more than adequate with a big comfortable bed.The bar is lively and the village is wonderful with lots to do and beautiful walks. I will stay again on my next visit and recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherg339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east long meadow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Booked into this lovely hotel whilst on vacation in Ireland. We dined in the Bistro on the first night which was fantastic and our waiter was very attentive. The quality of the food was without doubt the best on our trip .We had great 'craic' in mac's bar which is real traditional. Our room was simple, clean and cosy with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and the village is really pretty.Will definitely come back and recommend to all. Mellisa Massachusetts USA.

Room Tip: rooms to the front look out over the village square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Booked into this B&B through booking.com. It looked ok on the site and if as it read would have been good value. I'm sure the resturant was good and it had plenty of custom but I booked to stay not eat and it was very dissapointing to say the least. It was so basic it was surprissing it had a bed in the room. There was one wooden chair, no table, no tea/coffee facilities although they did say to come down and just ask. The girls were very helpfull and friendly. The TV which was small was up high which is a pet hate of mine, but it had NO channels on it so it was for decoration only unless you wanted to view snow all night. Actualy the bathroom was the best bit of the room. The booking.com site told me wifi was available all through the accomadation, unfortunataly not. I had to go down and sit in a room to do my work. At breakfast I was asked if I wanted cereal, there was a couple of choises and and when i said yes please I was told I'll have to get you a bowl and some milk then.. I'm very sure the full Irish was good but as i stay in hotels three nights a week I tend to stick to cereal and poached eggs. Maybe i'm just being picky but If your a resturant then be a good one, if your a County house B&B then be a good one!! it takes very little to make it good and comfortable. I dont want to sit in the bar all night and drink so make the room a little more comfortable to be in. Enniskerry is a beautiful Irish village but as a B&B this is not in keeping with the village. I deffinitaly wont be returning to this Country House.

Room Tip: Going by other reviews there all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Lovely picturesque village but the accommodation was disappointing. We stayed in room 8 on full display when in the bathroom to all in the car park. The wardrobe door falls off when opened. Restaurant staff in the evening helpful and efficient but we interrupted same hooded texting teenager ( see earlier review) to have breakfast . No tables set up and had to request bowl and spoon to eat cereal. Plate to eat toast and a glass of orange juice. Think we were the only residents and were awoken in the early hours by a domestic dispute between staff who then proceeded to bottle up, ie throw all the empties out at around 3.00 am. We will not be going back!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Myself and a friend booked for one night as we were doing a moonlight walk with a walking group, we booked on the basis of the website which looked very nice. I should point out we stayed back in March, the first week, but am only getting around to this now. When we arrived the room we were shown was very dirty, in particular the bathroom - which had grime on the sink, rusty chrome and a brown it was so filthy-light chord beside the mirror. We asked to be moved and the girl was quite helpful, if a little inexperienced. The next room was freezing and as dreary as the last. Now maybe there are newer up to date rooms but if there are we weren't shown them or they were occupied. We agreed to go back to the room which they told us would be cleaned while we went out for early dinner. On arrival back, the bathroom had been half cleaned, and when we pulled back the covers to have a nap before we went for our walk-we saw that the sheets had specks of dust and some hair, i.e. they hadn't been changed-or if they had, they'd put dirty sheets on there!

We decided there was no way we could stay so we packed our bags, went down to tell them and after eventually getting someone to come and talk to us (there was a hooded teenager behind the desk texting away who didn't engage though..) someone came out to us, obviously peeved that he'd been called out (I got the impression they were busy in the food bit and understaffed) he said 'fine' and gruffly left. That was it, no sorry, no explanation or can we maybe try and help you find somewhere else or change room, nothing. We were very polite (probably too polite maybe) and reasonable but the point is, and this is the clincher, they really didn't care. If I could give no rating I would but I have to click on one..the photos on their website are VERY misleading. We'd to drive back to Dublin quite late as it was too late to get anywhere else to stay, a maaajoor disappointment. (And I'm no stickler for luxury!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackyGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

We loved this place. Staff couldn't do enough for us. The accommodation is basic but very comfortable, which is all we were after.We sat in the bar chatting to the locals who are very willing to tell you what to do in their County Wicklow. Staff willingly organised anything for us and made sure our glasses were always full.
Breakfast was fantastic which was included in our room price, a bargain.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Myffy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
0.1 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
7.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Arms Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Arms Country House

Property: Powerscourt Arms Country House
Address: Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powerscourt Arms is an intimate country house that has been providing quality service since 1715. The character of this building lends to the charms which make Enniskerry so special. The Powerscourt Arms Country House is the perfect base for sightseeing and exploring all that Wicklow has to offer. The Country House boasts 11 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms. Delicious home-cooked food served daily using only the best of local produce. Country breakfast, lunch & extensive evening menu with blackboard specials is served daily in the cosiness of the lounge. The Powerscourt Suite located off the lounge is the ideal venue for group and private bookings where you can enjoy our home-cooked cuisine. The Bistro, Enniskerry an intimate, elegant & relaxing venue where our menus are full of classic bistro dishes and our daily blackboard specials allow the kitchen to create a continental style cuisine. Mac's Bar, a traditional Irish bar in the heart of Enniskerry village loved by locals & visitors alike. Our pub is the perfect place to experience true village life with a great atmosphere and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Powerscourt Arms Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powerscourt Arms Country House Hotel Enniskerry
Powerscourt Arms Country House Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing