We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powerscourt Arms Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Glenview Hotel(Glen Of The Downs)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenaire Lodge(Killiney)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Reviews (166)
    Filter reviews
    166 results
    Traveller rating
    55
    46
    29
    15
    21
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    55
    46
    29
    15
    21
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsmashbusy pubbar next doorcountry housebed breakfastthe location is perfectroom numberan updatewould stay againb and blambshayirelandguinnessservingsmurphytlc
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    116 - 121 of 166 reviews
    Reviewed 30 April 2013

    I spent one night with my husband at this beautiful old house on the 27th April 2013. It was so so disappointing. We don't think we every stayed in a hotel that was so cold. The outside temperature was warmer than our room. The room was clean. However, there was a stale smell of cigarettes in the room. There was a stand alone heater in the room which didn't work. The water was cold. There was a tiny tv on a shelf and the wires were hanging down. The night staff did their best to assist us but the whole matter was out of their hands really. The owners of this establishment should be ashamed of themselves. The food in the hotel is lovely, there is a good ambience and the staff are great. This hotel will not stay open and it is so unfair to the people who are working here and taking a lot of unnecessary flack for proprietors who are just not taking heed!!! The General Manager is brilliant and is doing his utmost to keep the show on the road. 5 exclusive rooms at good value would be better than 12/14 rooms that you wouldn't put your family in!!!

    Room Tip: Don't stay here unless it's during the summertime and if you don't mind taking cold showers.
    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Truefriends00
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 April 2013

    We had an 80th birthday party in the private function room which is at the back of the Lounge area of this small country hotel. We had a pre-set 3 course meal for 48 guests. The food was delicious and great value for money. The young I would imagine part time staff were extremely attentive and polite and couldnt do enough for us. This is a small room but adequately takes up to 50 guests - we had 4 round tables which were ideal for our needs. It was a great choice of venue as we had privacy and yet felt part of the rest of the hotel.

    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank doylemary2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 April 2013

    Stayed here for one night. There was a function on in the hotel till 1am. Mine and my mum's room was directly above the function hall. Very loud music and talking kept us awake all night. Did not get any sleep. The rooms were dirty and very basic. Would not recommend anyone to stay here.

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank reillus
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

    The only negative with this B&B I that the rooms were uncomfortably cold. The service was great, very friendly and helpful staff but I would not stay there again simply evaluate the rooms were too cold. It really is a pity that such a simple problem can detract from an otherwise quality establishment. If it was rectified then I would have no qualms about staying there again.

    • Stayed: March 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mmax7
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 February 2013

    My partner and i stayed one night in powerscourt arms. accomadation is basic , clean and very reasonably priced . Our only complaint was our room was freezing . My impression was that the room had not had guests for a few days and it was not aired or heated . The room should have been heated prior to our arrival, unfortunatley we had to ask for the heating to be turned on . The radiator did eventually heat up but the room did not get warm. We eventually decided to go out and find a pub which was warm , we did and we warmed up in no time . We initially were intending to eat and watch the match in the powerscourt arms but we were annoyed because we were still feeling the cold. having said that we may have cut off our nose to spite our face we missed out on really good food and good athmosphere . and the staff were very helpful

    Room Tip: go in summer that way you dont need heating everything else is fine food good staff friendly rooms clean.
    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank marie c
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews