We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, some reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We are unaccustomed to staying in a hotel at this level, so we jumped at the chance when this package appeared. All the superlatives about the rooms, view, and the service that you read in these reviews are 100% accurate. Loved our room....comfy bed, maybe the biggest we've ever slept in. Free internet. Lots of light. Terrific views. Honor bar is nicely stocked but very expensive, so stay away if you're on a budget. We missed having an electric coffee maker, but I guess the hotel wants you to pay 10 euro for coffee/tea plus its delivery to the room. We brought our snacks, water, wine, etc. A minor quibble. TV in the master bath's mirror is amusing, but unnecessary.

Staff is uniformly gracious and helpful. Always a smile. Always accommodating. Friendly and chatty. Always ready with bits of information and extra service.

Food is a bit of a problem, as it is also very expensive. We went into Enniskerry for all our breakfasts and most of our dinners during our 5 days. Plenty to choose from. 3 places for breakfast, of which Poppy's was our favorite. Dinners at the pub and the town's hotel bistro. Quite good, serviceable but not terrific. Emilio's, the Italian restaurant next to Poppy's was, however, excellent, and we do recommend a meal or two there.

We had one dinner in the hotel, at the Sugarloaf Grill off the lobby at the big windows facing the mountains. This was at once the the most expensive and the worst meal we had in our 10 days in Ireland. We were tired from driving all day, and just didn't want to get back into the car to drive into town. I had the burger. How can anyone, especially a 5 star kitchen, so totally screw up a burger? Puny, dried out, overcooked with a chew roll. $30. My wife had the goat cheese tart; cheap piece of chewy commercial grade puff pastry with a piped on creamy goat cheese filling. Disappointing. $25. We tried to find the humor and irony in this, but, really, for a five star establishment, this was an insult to guest, food, and cookery. We took seriously the warnings of other reviewers about the food at the hotel, so we made sure that we dined outside the hotel most of the time.

We looked at the pub, but did not try it out. It just didn't feel right. It's a pub in a faux Disneyland kind of way. Expensive materials, but too pretty, too neat, no warmth. Also no Irish, no noise, no laughter, no music. Want a pub?....go to the real deal....they're everywhere.

A car came with our deal, and we took full advantage of that. We drove a lot. The roads are narrow, and can get a little confusing. Driving does take a little getting used to. Not much room to spare on the passenger side with hedges and stone walls whizzing by, and not much on the driver's side either. And Irish drivers, accustomed to the roads, coming at you at seemingly breakneck speed. But the beauty and the quiet are magical. Particularly liked Wicklow National Park, where there are several hiking trails. Glendaloch, also a beautiful hike, and an interesting historic site. Beach at Brittas Bay, a spectacularly beautiful drive along the coast. And the wonderful Mount Usher Gardens in Ashford, about a 45 minute drive south.

There's also lots to do on the Powerscourt grounds. Beautiful formal garden. Wonderful river walk. Browse the garden store. Play golf too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the mountain side; upgrade to sn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,355 - 2,361 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

My sister and I spent six nights at Powerscourt and we were very pleased with our holiday experience. We explored as much of the country, via car and rail, as was practical for us whilst still enjoying the exquisite beauty of the hotel, Powerscourt estate and County Wicklow. The weather was picture perfect for the entire week and many locals told us this was the best month of the year to tour Ireland. The Ritz lives us to Ritz standards. Our only disappointment was the lack of an iPod hookup and a charge to listen to music.

Enniskerry Village is a brief ten minute walk from the hotel and is a remarkably quaint venue to take meals and provision for drinks and snacks. Restaurant quality is extremely high, with a particular call out to Pandan Court for some of the best Chinese food we have ever had. It may seem counter intuitive to eat Asian food in Ireland but we can assure the reader that this 25 Euro prix fixe dinner experience will not disappoint! The 185 bus takes you to the Bray DART station for easy access to Dublin and points beyond, and we found the Irish rail system to be dependable in all categories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orbiedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I was on a conference there and I'liked this place very much. Actually it's rather far from Dublin (90 EUR for the taxi from the airport), but if you want to concentrate on work or leisure (golf, spa) than it's a perfect place. Wi-fi is free of charge. Breakfasts are perfect. There is a rear irish pub on the ground flor which is much cheaper than minibar in your room.
Stuff is very friendly.
Unfortunatly I didn't play golf there but the plece is real good for it (see picture of my view from room).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This was simply the most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in. We had a garden suite and were dismayed that we were only there for one night, as we loved the comfort, convenience, quality of food, attentiveness of staff, and most of all, the comfortableness of the bed!

The walking trails on the property are wonderful, and we saw many people taking advantage of them. If we had been there longer, we certainly would have tried the river walk.

Although it took a map, GPS, and directions to get there, it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiTennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My wife and I wanted to go someplace special for our 30th anniversary. I saw a deal from Sceptre Tours for Ireland - one week with hotel, car rental and airfare at a packaged price that was good value. We had stayed at a Ritz (Naples, FL) on our 10th anniversary and knew how impressive of an hotel chain they are.

The hotel is not very far off one of the major highways running south of Dublin - relatively convenient to the Southeast coast and a short drive into the city. We liked the location as it seemed like we were in a different world; you drive down narrow, stone walled line streets in a beautiful and lush rural setting with quaint Enniskerry a short walk away and the Powerscourt Gardens next door...

The hotel is simply stunning. The lobby and main level restaurant have huge windows overlooking beautiful mountains. The grounds are gorgeous. The pool is incredible and a wonderful place to relax and unwind; probably the nicest pool and spa area I have ever seen. The exterior of the rear of the hotel is outstanding as well.

Regarding our room, as part of the package with Sceptre we opted to upgrade to a suite (also included an upgrade to an automatic and GPS for the rental car). The suite is the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. It is huge, especially for European standards. You walk into a tile lined foyer with the first of two bathrooms and a bar/butlers pantry with minifridge. The sitting room is hardwood and appointed with beautiful furniture. The bedroom and master bathroom (#2) are gorgeous, this bath comes with a walk in shower (rainshower, full steam shower as well), separate water closet, large garden tub and sink with large mirror and the TV built into the mirror. It is all beautifully tiled with extensive trimwork and elegant decorations. The rooms come equipped with panels that control the lighting, HVAC, etc - we really like this effective use of technology. I cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our room, the pool and the hotel as a whole.

We arrived midday and they were able to get us into a room fairly quickly, which we appreciated after flying through the night.

While we had little to complain about there are a couple of very minor things to mention. First, the staff is very helpful (Robbie in concierge, Paul at the front desk - were a couple who stood out) but several are young and with concierge closing early getting good recommendations on places to eat could be a challenge. We found out from a local restauranter that they have menus of nearby restaurants but we were never offered them. The price for food is very high, as you might expect in a Ritz, as we paid $66 US for two sandwiches in the Sugarloaf restauarant (and frankly the French Dip sandwiches could have used more meat). We also ate at the pub one night which was okay and not quite as expensive (the pub did have different activities or music acts on different nights, especially the weekend). We did not eat at the Gordon Ramsey restaurant as we did not want to spend that much but several nights I was not sure that it was even open. Frankly we were quite surprised how it seemed like we had the hotel to ourselves as we were there when it was very slow, especially during the weekdays - which we did not mind! Having a fabulous huge pool and steam room to ourselves was a delight! While it was not a significant hassle there were some families there with young kids that were running around more than we would have preferred. Don't get me wrong, we raised three children of our own and know what that can be like...but how some parents are oblivious to their kids running roughshod and disturbing other guests is beyond me.

Bottom line, this is a magnificent hotel that we hope to stay at again. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Almost goes without saying that the Ritz here was fantastically beautiful, set in the Wicklow mountains, just up the hill from charming Enniskerry! My daughter and I traveled to Dublin for St. Patrick's Day 2011 (more about that later!) which was also her 21st birthday. I booked the flight/hotel/car package with Sceptre Tours about 5 months prior to departure, for what I thought was a really great price. As it turned out, I passed on the car once we arrived, as the insurance was hideously expensive and I just wasn't certain we would use it that much as we were planning to spend a good bit of time in Dublin and along the coast. Boy, was that a wise move for us! The roads through the Wicklows are narrow, winding, and confusing -- in my opinion, best left for cabbies and buses. We found a bus at the airport that took us as far as Bray (the closest "large" town to Powerscourt and home to the commuter train station where we purchased a 7 day train ticket for transport to and from Dublin, Malahide, etc.) then hopped a cab the rest of the way to Powerscourt (about a $20 cab ride). Once at the really lovely hotel on the breathtaking grounds, we were told that our "garden view room" was not ready (the place appeared to be deserted for the first 3 days we were there, so not sure who was hogging our room or why it wasn't yet readied), but that for an extra 10 euro/day we could move immediately into a "mountain view room". Not a tough decision after traveling for nearly 20 hours, so off we went to the upgrade. And WOW....what a 10 euro/day view it was!!!! Worth WAY more....absolutely gorgeous, and complete with a helicopter landing pad. The room was huge, beautifully appointed and meticulously clean. The bathroom was huge, marble, and well laid out for 2 girls with lots of stuff!!! The "closet" was really more of another room....quite lovely. The spa/workout facility are lovely as well, and the swimming pool is like none I had ever seen --- amazing and tranquil...great place for a nap if there aren't any kids splashing about! The restaurants are expensive as other reviewers have complained about, but we ate in the lobby one morning from the breakfast buffet and were only charged for a Continental Breakfast since we weren't interested in the meat, potatoes, etc. (about 9euro each). It was all exquisite and delicious, and well worth the price and convenience! One evening, we ate in the Pub downstairs. Fun atmosphere, friendly staff, and SO delicious Bangers & Mash!!! There are plenty of options around for breakfast - either next door at the Powerscourt Estate (not sure what time it opens), or down the hill which is a gorgeous morning walk, to Enniskerry. If you're not up to the walk (the return trip is mostly uphill), the kind folks at the Ritz will whisk you down to the village in their little Audi which stands ready to ferry visitors back and forth from "town". All of the merchants in the village know their number and ring them to come fetch you for a return ride to the hotel....quite nice!! There is a bus that comes through Enniskerry about every 1/2 hour or so; one goes all the way into Dublin, the other goes over to Bray and the train station. As I said, we purchased a 7 day train pass so that we could come and go easily to Dublin. Turns out, the bus (which we took into Dublin on St. Pat's Day) was a great way to go too, but the scenery along the coast on the train is too good to pass up! Mass transit runs until around 11:00pm or so, but cabs are available in Dublin and will HAPPILY take you all the way to Powerscourt for about $65.00 (I think I paid 52 euro one night). The hotel IS out of the way....make no mistake. You will incur some sizable transportation costs in the course of a week either way --- driving or taking public transit/cabs....but it was SO nice having that lush retreat in the countryside to return to - by whatever means - at the end of a long day of sightseeing in the city!!!! Would NOT have changed the experience and stayed in Dublin even for the cost savings....WELL worth the travel, and fun to see how the locals live, chat with the cabbies, etc. Back to the food in Enniskerry: There are several little restaurants and 2 pubs. For breakfast, The Kingfisher has the most delicious scones and cappuccino I have ever had (they have other stuff too, but we eat light for breakfast), Poppy's has all sorts of hot food, bakery items, etc. We ate a late lunch at Mac's Bar where they had a "Burger & a Pint for 10 euro" special running which was really quite good. We ate one other time at their hotel/restaurant next door and found the fare to be good there too. Twice we had dinner at the charming, upstairs Italian restaurant, Emilia's. Great pasta, good wine, wonderful cozy atmosphere!! We loved this place!! The Ritz will arrange for a taxi to take you to dinner at Johnnie Fox's --- up the mountain a piece from Enniskerry and the highest pub in Ireland!! Even if you have a car, take a taxi!!! The ride up is harrowing and circuitous to say the least (in the dark), and the drive back after a few pints in the pub would not be wise!! It's a large place, known for their seafood and Irish entertainment. We passed on "the show", but heard some great music later in the pub. The mussels were delicious, as was the roasted Irish salmon, and the crab roulade was to die for! I'm going to cut this short as it really isn't a review of Dublin, but here are a few suggestions: A restaurant called Dunne & Crescenzi near Trinity College was a wonderful Italian restaurant we wished we had gotten to a 2nd time. Really good! We pretty much just grazed along the way, but don't miss Gogarty's Pub in the Temple Bar area, especially if you are there for St. Pat's Day. Great pub with the best old American music ever! HaHa...it's true! Regarding St. Pat's Day there, it is quite a spectacle, but not for the feint of heart or claustrophobes!!! Arrive at the parade route by 9 or 10 and expect to stand there for about 4-5 hours with waiting (parade started at 1) and viewing. The parade itself was somewhat bizarre, more on the order of Mardi Gras or Halloween, but interesting.....for awhile. We left our viewing post and headed for Gogarty's before the crowd dispersed and that was a good move. It becomes a MOB SCENE in the pubs! No food service, but they somehow manage to fill everyone with plenty of beer!! It's fun to meet people from all over; everyone is in a very festive mood, that's for sure! As the evening wears on and everyone has been at if for a good 8 or 9 hours, it turns into more of a giant mosh pit (for lack of a better description) and you would be well advised to watch your step for broken glass and vomit.....get the picture?? It is REALLY fun and something to experience....but be forewarned...it gets a wee bit crowed & crazy there! Guiness is well worth seeing....the building is amazing and it does come complete with a Pint and a view of Dublin! We also enjoyed Kilmainham Gaol -- the old prison. You can get close via the little light rail that goes through the city, then walk over to the gaol (jail). The tour is really good and it's a GREAT lesson on Irish history. Cheap too! Jameson is a pricey little tour, so we just parked it in the lobby bar for a Jameson Hot Toddy and a rest, then moved on. Last but not least, take the train beyond Dublin to the last stop (3 or 4 from Dublin) to Malahide....a lovely little beach town. You can walk down to the beach, there are a few little shops (the boys from U2 have places there I'm told), and of course restaurants and pubs. A friend of mine from England says the BEST PUB IN THE WORLD is in Malahide...it's called Gibney's, and I believe he may be right. Great atmosphere...and if the owner, Barry, is there, he's happy to sit down and tell you the history of the place and the family. Great guy....great hospitality!! Enjoy Ireland...it is a WONDERFUL, beautiful place!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gohappy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

where do I start???we had an amazing stay at the ritz carlton,from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty,staff are so attentive without being over powering,they can not do enough for you.The rooms are so spacious and clean(the only little thing I would say is that tea and coffee making facilities are not available in room,this was a bit disappointing as I am caffine addict!!!).We decided to go to the village of Enniskerry so we rang reception for a taxi,when we arrived for our "taxi"we were shown to the hotels courtesy car and driver,the car was fantastic and this was free from the hotel,they also picked us up too(our driver Greg was very friendly and gave us good advice on where to go and what to do).,the food is beautiful too very expensive but really worth it,over all I would definitly suggest this hotel if you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy luxury surroundings,It truely is a beautiful experience,personally I would like to say Thank you to Suzie who was very helpful to me and I know she went out of her way to be of assistance....wonderful experience...I most definitly will be back..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moss36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,076 reviews
11 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,058 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,132 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry A98 DR12, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range: £123 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 194-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. Recently named AA Hotel of the Year, two championship golf courses, a 30,000-square foot luxury spa by ESPA, a signature restaurant and traditional Irish pub are among this luxury hotel’s distinctive attractions. Powerscourt Hotel Resort & Spa's Palladian design forms a majestic crescent on the side of one of Ireland's most celebrated valleys. The layout of the seven-storey hotel gives a lot of our rooms and suites views of the remarkable Sugar Loaf Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing