We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This is most definitely a taste of luxury deep in the Wicklow Mountains. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way possible. The room was enormous and the bed was comfort personified! Every member of staff was courteous, friendly and extremely helpful; 2 warm and welcoming fires in the lobby set the tone for our stay. The pool was totally unique in both the décor and atmosphere of relaxation. The dining experience was fantastic and the food in the bar and Sugar Loaf lounge was most memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deruis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,011 - 2,017 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

Having stayed a number of times and being familiar with their rooms I thought I had seen it all but this time I was upgraded to a huge suite - I would actually call it an appartment as it even had a kitchen! It was absolutely amazing and made this particualr vist a joy. This hotel is the ultimate in luxury here in Ireland so you can expect to pay top price for food and drinks. Stunning location and wonderful views from the room and patio. They think of everything and have lots of little nice touches like chocolates greeting you on arrival and everything you could think of in the bathroom (shaving kit, dental kit, etc). The hotel was looking particularily beautiful as the Christmas decorations were up!
Everyone has to visit this hotel at least once in their life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio and views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We are now spoiled for other hotels. Having stayed in a Best Western Plus our first night in the country, followed by four nights in B&Bs, this was the perfect way to top off our trip to Ireland.

To our surprise we were upgraded to a patio room. The room was huge compared with any other hotels we've stayed, anywhere. The walk-in closet alone was nearly as big as the bedroom portion of the Best Western Plus.

The bathroom was massive and featured a double vanity (with embedded TV), a soaking tub and separate closets for the rainforest shower and toilet. The bedroom area was also huge, especially for Europe - but even by American standards - with two very large, very comfortable beds, a welcome treat after many nights on twin beds. The electronic touchpad that controls lights, temperature and the curtains was an added bonus.

We ate an early dinner in the pub which was very reasonably priced and enjoyed our meals. We later had dessert at Gordon Ramsey's and found it excellent. Traditional Irish music in the pub later that evening topped off our trip.

It would have been great to have had a chance to experience the spa but we ran out of time. Every staff member we encountered was unfailingly polite and very pleasant to interact with.

The free wi-fi was great and it was so nice to have that when so many high-end hotels charge for it.

We hope to visit again next time we're in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is my third trip to this ritz. The rooms are stunning, the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced. The location is magnificent with the most beautiful scenery. Superb food. Gordon Ramsay restaurant has improved since we were there in March. Fabulous Spa and treatments. And very good value for such luxury. If I had one minor quibble it would be that the reception staff should know thst you have been there before and as such you should be welcomed back . It's a tiny bit impersonal but overall superb.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Have just returned from a luxury wedding anniversary weekend at the Ritz Carlton, Powerscourt. We booked for two nights in a garden view suite with dinner booked on both nights, first night in the Sugar Loaf Lounge and the second in the Gordon Ramsey restaurant. We arrived early on the Friday and had a short wait before our room was ready. The hotel is beautiful and the reception area is very nice with lovely christmas decorations. We arrived at our room which was beautiful and huge. A very comfortable bed and fantastic amenities. The soaps, shampoo's etc were of the highest standard and beautiful.

The remote pad to control the curtains, lighting, Air Con etc is a little gimmicky but I loved it. We ate in the sugar loaf restaurant and the food was nice (had the club sandwich) but very expensive (€18), I have had an equally as nice club sandwich for half the price. We also had lunch in McGill's bar on the Saturday and it was very nice and better value for money.

Breakfast was beautiful and plentiful with a great selection. The dinner in the Gordan Ramsey restaurant was the highlight, beautiful food served beautifully by excellent staff. This meal was included in the package and was well worth the price.

Overall a very enjoyable break, a couple of minor and I mean minor gripes - The hotel was way too warm, even with the air con switched off it was very warm in the rooms. I love my coffee and it was very nice but was always hovering at warm, not once did I get a hot cup of coffee. It is a 5 star hotel and guaranteed not to be cheap but the price of the drinks was quite expensive, €7.20 for a bottle of Erdinger, cocktails at about €17, soft drinks at €4.50 etc.

Overall a great (not a cheap) stay but worth the money for our anniversary splurge. The staff very very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Would love to go back and very family orientated from what we could see....may bring the kids next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP28-11-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

No question about it, the Ritz at Powerscourt is a gorgeous hotel in one of the most beautiful locations in the world. The scenic mountans, the rolling hills, the natural setting - all magnificent. The hotel's service was very, very good. They realize their job is to attend to the needs of their hotel guests and they do that very well. The rooms we stayed in (two different ones on two separate stays) were clean, comfortable and beautiful. The two hotel concierge we consulted were knowledgeable and very helpful. The workout facility was fabulous. The food and McGill's was as good as or better than any I've eaten at any hotel restaurant. But with all that said, I have to also mention some small details that were les than perfect and which should be better avoided by a hotel of this stature:
1. On one morning I opened a clean towel that had been delivered the day before and there were large, ugly brown stains on it.
2. One day my coffee supply had not been restocked.
3. The TV stopped working in one of the rooms.
4. The ice machines did not work on at least two floors.
5. I asked the hotel to ship a package and they went overboard in their efforts to comply -they shipped it from Ireland to US in one day which was great but the cost of doing that was outrageous and I was never consulted on the cost. A more judicious decision regarding shipping time and cost was in order.

These are small things but they add up. At a Holiday Inn I might have overlooked them all. At a Ritz I cannot do that. Overall. I highly recommend the Ritz Powerscourt but they should also be aware that the devil is in the details.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have stayed in Marriott and Ritz carlton properties in various different cities so this one should have really had the Wow factor - given the amazing setting of powerscourt. My major gripe was that the electronic curtains in our room failed to work.....they wouldn't open. We had no daylight in our room and so on a beautiful autumn morning, we found ourselves with lamps on all over the room to see what we were doing and pack up our luggage. Such a shame ! Despite calling the concierge and room service 4 times, and being promised that 'engineers' would come to our room, it was never fixed - meaning that we could not see out of our room window for the duration of our short stay, Not what you go to powerscourt for - or pay the exorbitant prices we paid. I literally had no idea what lay outside our room window. When we challenged the hotel manager at check out, he offered 10% off the cost of our room rate.....not the total bill! INSULTING!!!! I am a frequent stayer at marriott properties ....loyalty not appreciated at this hotel. Very disappointing.....at these prices, you should expect nothing less than impeccable service and attention to detail. We checked out and left the hotel immediately after breakfast. wont be back!! If you do stay.....check that your curtains open! On a positive note the rooms are large with fabulous bathrooms. The lobby area is beautiful and the bar downstairs is a nice surprise.

Room Tip: check that the electronic blinds work before settling into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slopster408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,148 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,076 reviews
11 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,061 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry A98 DR12, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range: £122 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 194-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. Recently named AA Hotel of the Year, two championship golf courses, a 30,000-square foot luxury spa by ESPA, a signature restaurant and traditional Irish pub are among this luxury hotel’s distinctive attractions. Powerscourt Hotel Resort & Spa's Palladian design forms a majestic crescent on the side of one of Ireland's most celebrated valleys. The layout of the seven-storey hotel gives a lot of our rooms and suites views of the remarkable Sugar Loaf Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing