We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, but issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

First off, there is much to recommend this lovely hotel with a kind and friendly staff. During our stay the hotel apparently had just transitioned from being a Ritz Carlton Hotel, so I attribute our issues to the changeover. If you are staying there in the future, I would recommend checking reviews after the transition to see if these issues still remain.

We booked using my husband's Platinum card for the benefits. This was one of the smartest things we EVER did. The room upgrade we received stunned us - we were given a corner room suite with a fabulous view facing Sugar Loaf mountain. We had NO complaints about the room itself which was spacious to the point of crazy, yet very comfortable and practical. The only caution to know was the drain in the shower was inadequate for the water coming from the shower with no lip between the door and floor, so we ended up with a huge puddle of water on the bathroom floor. Needed to use a couple of towels to mop up and dam all that water! Bath tub was like a spa, so there was an alternative. :) We also enjoyed our breakfasts that came with the Platinum card upgrades. We felt there was plenty of choice to suit our dietary needs. We both especially liked the poached spiced fruit, small scones and eggs (whites) made to order.

We loved walking the grounds and down to the village. Powerscourt Gardens is only a short walk away and worth spending a relaxing time wandering there. The hotel's location alone is enough to draw us back.

Our issues concerned dinner dining. We checked in on a Monday and were shown where the bar and restaurant dining areas were but NOT told that only the mezzanine informal dining was open on Monday. We had a light snack upon arrival, planning to try the formal restaurant that evening. It was not so convenient to find ourselves back at the same place with the same limited menu a few hours later. We would have just had a heartier meal earlier in the day had we known, and the pub was also closed as were nearby village eateries by that late in the evening. WARNING: Limited dining options on Monday evenings, and they may not tell you this!

Second dining warning - while the room service we used the second night (everything closes at 10 pm, with no village alternatives) was prompt and the sandwich ok - Never, ever order the pizza there. Never. I didn't expect perfect pizza but what I got can best be described as a frozen, not fully cooked item, that tasted like white bread with ketchup on top, with huge hunks of mushy tomato and greasy cheese. It was inedible. And expensive. It would have had better flavor had it been burnt. Frankly shocking that a hotel of this quality would serve it and charge 18 euros for it.

We also had a little trouble getting our car parked and retrieved. We solved this by self parking most of the visit, which was not a problem at all, once you know.

All in all we loved our stay. We would return, but maybe bring sandwiches. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

As a family of 2 adults and 2 children (7 & 5) we very much enjoyed our one night stay. The room was huge with a large walk in wardrobe area. There is a warm and friendly ambience in the hotel and the staff are, in the main, excellent. However, there were some small issues which we would not expect to find in a hotel of this category. Breakfast was ok, nothing exceptional and in fact the choice of cereals and hot food was quite limited. Also the elevator music that was playing during breakfast was far too loud and in fact wasn't necessary at all. It would have been much more sensible in my view to have some very discreet piano or classical music instead of the awful dross that was playing and disturbing early morning conversation. Another issue was the very heavy detergent smell that greeted us and also remained with us in our room. Perhaps it was preferable to the odour that preceded it...I dread to think! Anyway at least it was a clean smell and for that we were thankful. The sound quality from the TV was poor and I'm not sure the TV in the bathroom would really enhance anyone's stay but I guess that I can only speak for myself on that one. The swimming pool is certainly much more catered for individuals and couples rather than families as it was quite dark and moody!

All in all the stay was enjoyable but there is some work to be done to get the finishing touches to the expected standard

Room Tip: 3rd floor resort view have terraces which help to extend the space that you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViennaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The last time I stayed here it was a Ritz Carlton hotel and it was right at the height of the Celtic Tiger madness in Ireland. Nothing worked, the service was deplorable and it was well over-priced. I had long since decided not to bother returning. As it happened a gift of a weekend for myself and my mother made this a voyage of discovery - and we were pleasantly surprised. The service was attentive, the room was exactly the same (in need of an updating as looking VERY old fashioned) and the grounds were lovely. Food in the restaurant was fine but I was surprised that they insisted that we had to eat at 6.30 as they were full thereafter - the place remained at most 3/4 full the entire night! Overall the value was pretty good and we included a short visit to the spa which was very nice. Only downside was that when we inquired about the walks we were not told that we needed a key pass and as a result we could not find them! A nice stay, and the best bit was definitely the staff.

Room Tip: If you like wood walks you need to ask for the map and the gate key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Service was excellent. Facilities exceptional. Nothing left out. We had a suite on the main level and it was great. Big, big room with big living room, huge walk-in closet, and of course, elegant marble and tile master bath with walk-in shower (marble/tile) with rain head and TV in the dual vanity mirror. Huge king bed was extremely comfortable with downy pillows. Pool and spa was amazing. Made us want to go get our suits on immediately and enjoy the gigantic whirlpool, large pool with lounge chairs all around, in a great romantic atmosphere. Steam room felt great and the locker even had a bathing suit drying machine. Staff was extremely friendly and took care of every need, and want. Grounds of the gardens, gift shops and cafe on the grounds were all terrific. Beautiful scenery, setting and serenity. I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Stay on the main level. Easy to get wherever you want to go. We were only steps from the dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wraywhite123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was the last stop on the trip, and we saved the best for last. Beautiful rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We took bicycles out the first day and were a little disappointed at how run-down they were, but aside from that we couldn't complain. We ate at the pub one night and ordered room service the next. The nearby town was charming and it was easy to take the commuter train into Dublin from the Bray stop. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slizsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Absolutely amazing hotel very professional staff nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic food in all restaurants especially Gordon Ramsey's. Buffet breakfast must of had 60 different items all perfectly prepared. The only let down was the afternoon tea not quite the standard you would expect difficult to get some sandwich fillings changed and a little bit rushed. Overall highly recommended for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a balcony suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simong4536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked our stay months ago through Marriott Rewards when it was still a Ritz-Carlton property. Unbeknownst to me, the hotel was in the process of being sold. On October 1st, 2013, it ceased being a Ritz hotel and, with it, Gordon Ramsay's restaurant stopped operating. The hotel is still a Marriott but is now just Powerscourt Hotel and Ramsay's chefs are cooking under a new restaurant called Sika. I was a little disappointed about this but the well-appointed suite, the beautiful grounds, the turn-down service with yummy chocolates, and the horses more than made up for the disappointment. Sika is an outstanding restaurant with reasonable prices. The service was a bit slow and the chef made a mistake with our order: he prepared beef instead of lamb for our entrees so we had to wait while the lamb was being cooked. The food was delicious!
We stayed in a one-bedroom suite. The room was beautiful and the bathroom had both a jet spray as well as a rainforest shower. There is a big closet space with floor to ceiling closets. This is a separate area near the front foyer. Lights, temperature and window drape controls are all electronic using touch pads.
Powerscourt is 30-45 minutes away from Dublin. We rented a car. I have to take one star from my rating because of the distance from Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,111 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,063 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,045 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
11.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry A98 DR12, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range: £136 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection offers outstanding luxury among 5-star hotels in Wicklow, Ireland. We are set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country, providing travellers with a a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and giving guests a host of amenities. At our hotel nestled in the hills of Enniskerry, 30 minutes from Dublin, you will find a spa, Powerscourt Golf Club, on-site restaurant and perfect accommodations offering easy access to rustic Enniskerry and all of County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing