We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, even if reach somewhat exceeds grasp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Salmon Arm
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great hotel, even if reach somewhat exceeds grasp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Formerly the Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, this luxurious hotel built on the Powerscourt estate property (presumably with some sort of land deal with the government since the Irish government now owns much of the estate itself) is very much a creature of the excesses of the "Celtic Tiger" days. It is undeniably magnificent (in a slightly exaggerated, imitative way -- the 18th c Palladians didn't put TV screens in their bathroom mirrors), and located in Wicklow, a beautiful part of Ireland just south of Dublin. It is easily reached from the airport and is situated just outside of the charming village of Enniskerry, about a two-kilometer hike from the hotel itself. From Enniskerry, regular buses run into Dublin (about an hour) and nearby Bray, where you can catch the train into the city center. The hotel staff was friendly, eager and helpful, though sometimes a bit raw (it seems that the hotel is being used in part for interns and training) and the rooms were big, nicely appointed and the beds comfortable. The transition from the R-C (the changeover occurred on October 1) was evident in minor ways (all the letterhead was being changed, so there was no hotel information in the room, for example), but overall it seemed like business as usual. The pool and spa are delightful. The McGill Pub was a good imitation of an Irish pub, but why not walk down the street to a real one?

Room Tip: We booked a lovely, enormous suite that looked out on the courtyard. It was great, but the regular r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,640
    421
    167
    72
    57
See reviews for
475
1,196
33
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nothing bad to say about this place at all. Little piece of Heaven in the Garden of Ireland. The room was mind boggling! HUGE, HUGE, HUGE. Everything was controlled by a touchscreen located next to bed and there was even a tv in the mirror in the bathroom! This room was beyond accessible! Plenty of room for a wheelchair. Bathroom was HUGE and very wheelchair friendly. The glass doors of the shower completly folded open and you could wheel your chair right up next to the shower chair provided. This shower could have easily accomdated 5 people!! We were greeted by a valet upon arrive who was with us from the time he opned the car door to let us out to through check in and until he unloaded our bags in our room and explained how everything worked. There were 3 of us staying the room so they had to bring in a roll away bed as the room had 1 king bed. the roll away bed was not a cot but an actual single bed. Beds were extremely comfortable and made it very hard to get out of in the mornings. pillows A+
They had a converter box to plug multiple devices in so you didn't need to worry about having a converter. We used their laundry service which I believed was reasonably priced and extremely prompt. Dining....was wonderful and you couldn't have asked for a better view than Sugarloaf mountain!
Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. DIdn't make me feel like a nuisance in my wheelchair.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a fabulous hotel, wonderful location, friendly staff, superb service. Accommodation was extremely comfortable and spotless. Heavenly spot, excellent place to relax a little spot of heaven. Plenty to do on site and the shuttle service into the local village was very handy. A trip to the gardens and a visit to the house is well worth a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Walking in really indicated what to expect, the big open lobby with views of the mountain was beautiful. Our room was spacious on the 5th floor for two people with two double beds. The bathroom was fantastic with a shower separate from the the bath which was a bonus, also when getting a bath the telly in the mirror with surround sound made it all the more relaxing. The ONE and only fault with this hotel i felt was the variety of channels on the television. Do not get me wrong the 3 sports channels were great as i was able to watch soccer but the variety was not up to standard to other hotels i have been to. The dinner and breakfast were fantastic with dinner being heavenly and breakfast the same. The pool and gym were also fantastic with the gym being a relaxing getaway and the gym easy to be in from the views in front of you. We will be back great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albie7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel very luxurious, fantastic facilities, location, staff are amazing helpful, wonderful towards children, lots activity for childern indoor and outdoor, food is very very good, all in all wonderful treat and not far from Dublin city, definitely a must for couples for a treat or those with young family needing plenty of options for play, highly recommend this hotel
Kingfisher cafe is excellent in the village for lunch and snacks
Good value for money in overnight B&B rate

Room Tip: Classic room will have all your needs catered for, baby cots are very good, even a tv in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

First off, there is much to recommend this lovely hotel with a kind and friendly staff. During our stay the hotel apparently had just transitioned from being a Ritz Carlton Hotel, so I attribute our issues to the changeover. If you are staying there in the future, I would recommend checking reviews after the transition to see if these issues still remain.

We booked using my husband's Platinum card for the benefits. This was one of the smartest things we EVER did. The room upgrade we received stunned us - we were given a corner room suite with a fabulous view facing Sugar Loaf mountain. We had NO complaints about the room itself which was spacious to the point of crazy, yet very comfortable and practical. The only caution to know was the drain in the shower was inadequate for the water coming from the shower with no lip between the door and floor, so we ended up with a huge puddle of water on the bathroom floor. Needed to use a couple of towels to mop up and dam all that water! Bath tub was like a spa, so there was an alternative. :) We also enjoyed our breakfasts that came with the Platinum card upgrades. We felt there was plenty of choice to suit our dietary needs. We both especially liked the poached spiced fruit, small scones and eggs (whites) made to order.

We loved walking the grounds and down to the village. Powerscourt Gardens is only a short walk away and worth spending a relaxing time wandering there. The hotel's location alone is enough to draw us back.

Our issues concerned dinner dining. We checked in on a Monday and were shown where the bar and restaurant dining areas were but NOT told that only the mezzanine informal dining was open on Monday. We had a light snack upon arrival, planning to try the formal restaurant that evening. It was not so convenient to find ourselves back at the same place with the same limited menu a few hours later. We would have just had a heartier meal earlier in the day had we known, and the pub was also closed as were nearby village eateries by that late in the evening. WARNING: Limited dining options on Monday evenings, and they may not tell you this!

Second dining warning - while the room service we used the second night (everything closes at 10 pm, with no village alternatives) was prompt and the sandwich ok - Never, ever order the pizza there. Never. I didn't expect perfect pizza but what I got can best be described as a frozen, not fully cooked item, that tasted like white bread with ketchup on top, with huge hunks of mushy tomato and greasy cheese. It was inedible. And expensive. It would have had better flavor had it been burnt. Frankly shocking that a hotel of this quality would serve it and charge 18 euros for it.

We also had a little trouble getting our car parked and retrieved. We solved this by self parking most of the visit, which was not a problem at all, once you know.

All in all we loved our stay. We would return, but maybe bring sandwiches. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

As a family of 2 adults and 2 children (7 & 5) we very much enjoyed our one night stay. The room was huge with a large walk in wardrobe area. There is a warm and friendly ambience in the hotel and the staff are, in the main, excellent. However, there were some small issues which we would not expect to find in a hotel of this category. Breakfast was ok, nothing exceptional and in fact the choice of cereals and hot food was quite limited. Also the elevator music that was playing during breakfast was far too loud and in fact wasn't necessary at all. It would have been much more sensible in my view to have some very discreet piano or classical music instead of the awful dross that was playing and disturbing early morning conversation. Another issue was the very heavy detergent smell that greeted us and also remained with us in our room. Perhaps it was preferable to the odour that preceded it...I dread to think! Anyway at least it was a clean smell and for that we were thankful. The sound quality from the TV was poor and I'm not sure the TV in the bathroom would really enhance anyone's stay but I guess that I can only speak for myself on that one. The swimming pool is certainly much more catered for individuals and couples rather than families as it was quite dark and moody!

All in all the stay was enjoyable but there is some work to be done to get the finishing touches to the expected standard

Room Tip: 3rd floor resort view have terraces which help to extend the space that you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViennaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
10.0 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Enniskerry, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing