We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Glenview Hotel(Glen Of The Downs)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa(Dun Laoghaire)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin(Killiney)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beacon(Sandyford)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,793)
Filter reviews
2,794 results
Traveller rating
1,933
485
207
95
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,933
485
207
95
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssika restaurantthe ritz carltonsugar loaf loungesugarloaf mountainmountain view suitebathroom mirrorbeautiful hotelmcgills pubsugarloaf loungeirish barwalk in wardrobegordon ramsaythe river walkfive star hoteldressing roompure luxuryafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,699 - 1,704 of 2,794 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

5 star property, at best 4 star service. Stunning property with great amenities, but very poor staff training and certainly not up to 5 star standard. On arrival we were not offered any information about facilities or restaurants until we asked - left to find room ourselves without any assistance for luggage. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very well appointed - probably the best thing about our stay. Several areas had clearly not been vacuumed for days: around reception, outside the Sika restaurant and in the spa reception area. The cooked items at the breakfast buffet were served luke warm, as was the coffee. Again waiting staff at breakfast were not trained to five star standard.
On the outside, the building needs attention, definately ready for a paint. Guest car parks are being used by staff. Why put a staff smoking area right next to a guest car park?

In summary: the management are depending on the impressive building to cover up for poor training.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pittland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Pittland,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review of your stay at our hotel.

I appreciate your comments regarding the service and breakfast offering. We have ordered a new hot breakfast plate and breakfast buffet equipment which will improve the hot buffet offering. These will be in place shortly.

Our maintenance team is currently scheduling a time to paint the hotel exterior. We have had to wait until the Spring to do so, as we needed the weather to improve.

The location of the staff smoking area is currently being reviewed, but as an interim measure we have now placed bushes around it to hide it from view of guests. Staff have also been reminded to use the staff car park at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, so that you may experience our usual high level of service and leave having had a positive experience.

Warm Regards
David Webster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay here over the Easter break. The hotel even had two resident rabbits and a couple of gerbils in the lobby which were brought in especially for the weekend- my inner child loved it!

Rooms are fabulous - a large super comfy king sized bed and huge bathroom with double sinks, large bath and separate shower. They also have touchscreen technology to adjust the aircon or turn on/ off the lights, which was pretty cool. A few nitpicks were 1. The charges for a movie or to listen to music were extortionate- €11.50 for a movie, even movies a few years old and €5.50 to listen to an album, and worse there was no MTV or similar music channels on the TV. 2. I was initially so excited by the iPhone docking station beside the bed, until I realised it didn't work with the iPhone 5! Probably Apple's fault, rather than the hotel's, but still!!

The hotel is located on powerscourt estate in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and the views of the mountains, forest and lakes from the hotel are simply stunning. There are fabulous runs, walks and hikes that start right from the hotel - a great way to pass a few hours, or the whole day.

In inclement weather, there's a good spa onsite, as well as a pool and hammam suite. We popped down to the pool in the early evening on a bank holiday weekend and it was overrun with kids... their excited screams exacerbated by a low roof, so best avoided til later.

The sugar loaf lounge is a charming space for a few cocktails, a bite to eat or afternoon tea. The floor to ceiling windows overlook sugar loaf mountain- very scenic and romantic.

Food in the hotel restaurants is very good and pricey, as you would expect in a five star hotel. Service is impeccable and the staff are happy and pleasant.

Breakfast is disappointing for a hotel of this quality. Anywhere else, I would be happy with a buffet style breakfast of this type, but having experienced the vast range and quality of the breakfast offering of similar five star hotels, it simply just doesn't compare.

Overall, I would definitely stay again- the luxurious surroundings and views of this hotel are hard to beat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank whisper_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear whisper_6,

Many thanks for the lovely review of your stay at Powerscourt.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. The rabbits and gerbils were definitely a winner with our guests!

Your description of the runs and walks as well as the views on the Estate is wonderful to hear. The pool is open to children between 9am-12pm and 3pm-6pm, so during the holidays it can be a livelier scene than it usually is. I hope you got to enjoy it at a quieter time during your stay.

I am glad to hear that the food and service in our Lounge and Restaurant lived up to your expectations. My apologies that you found the breakfast to be of a lower quality than you had expected. We usually receive positive feedback on our buffet selection so I will review this with our Food & Beverage team to identify what issues were had.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
David Webster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for a Conference.
The hotel is located in a very picturesque part of Ireland, close by the Sugerloaf mountain, Powerscourt waterfall and the quaint village of Enniskerry. The hotel is finished to the highest standard and even though it has been recently built it does not look out of place on this historic estate.
The lobby is spacious and very well finished, the bedroom I was given was to the highest standard with impressive use of technology and comfort. The food at the Conference dinner was also very impressive as was the lunch and snacks which were served throughout the event. The breakfast was served in the main dining room overlooking the gardens and the selection was impressive.
Overall the facilities were superb as was the view. The service was very good but could have been better. When I requested a private dining option over breakfast for some VIP guests I was told no and had to ask three times to get some other options. I did not feel that this was 5 star service, but this is the only criticism I would have.

Room Tip: Room at one side of the hotel enjoy the magnificent view, be sure to request this when booking in.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Daragh H,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review of our hotel.

I am delighted that the food, service and facilities you experienced contributed to a positive experience during your Conference at the hotel.

My apologies that you experienced some difficulties when trying to arrange the private breakfast option for your VIP guests. I have asked the teams involved to inform me of the exact issue that was had.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, whether for business or leisure.

Warm Regards,
David Webster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel on 18th April for one night. It was only when we were shown to our room that we realised we were upgraded to a suite. It was out of this world, a huge luxurious room. However I'm sure all the rooms are of the same high quality. The pool was so beautiful, very zen like. We had a gorgeous meal in the Sika restaurant. The taste and presentation of the food was excellent. The wine list was excellent, but I felt that by having only 1 bottle to choose from at your starter price of €36.00 was disappointing. Service was excellent overall, maybe just a little slow at the lounge areas by the fires. I felt at times we were forgotten about. Overall a fabulous stay, and will definitely return in the winter.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeHappyTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear BeeHappy,

Many thanks for this lovely review of our hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff and service lived up to your expectations.

We are currently reviewing our wine list for Sika, so you may find it altered when you next visit. I have also noted your comment about the service by the fires in the lounge area and have discussed this feedback with our team in the Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the winter.

Warm Regards
David Webster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 16 and 17 April 2014. The hotel is very well situated on the Powerscourt estate, with the house and fantastic gardens a short stroll away and adjoining two championship golf courses. We were allocated a room on the fifth floor with a fantastic view of the Sugarloaf mountain. The room was spacious, comfortable, well presented giving a feeling of indulgent luxury. (Yes the TV screen in the bathroom mirror is amazing) The attention to detail continued throughout all areas of the hotel.Very impressive. All the staff we came in contact with were professional, looked smart and were very helpful. We struggled to find anything that could attract criticism. We have stayed in a number of top hotels around the world and consider this to be one of the best.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blue2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Blue2267,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review of our hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms, attention to detail and staff all contributed to a memorable stay for you. To hear that you would consider us one of the best hotels you have stayed in is lovely - we really can't receive a much greater compliment than that!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews