We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes!”
Review of Cove Restaurant

Cove Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Dunfanaghy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$47
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bistro-style restaurant in an amazing location overlooking Hornhead, Sheephaven Bay (our holding tank for Crab and Lobster!) and the distant hills and fields which provide the best quality, fresh produce for your enjoyment. Elegant relaxed surroundings, attentive unobtrusive service, and attention to detail are our hallmarks.
County Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ticks all the boxes!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just back from such a lovely evening with my parents & brother in the Cove restaurant, food was so enjoyable, calamari for starter is a must if you go here for a starter (the real deal, not the munching on rubber bands,as I've had in other restaurants!!) , we all had the Ribeye steaks for main course, flavor & tenderness was yum yum yum washed down with good glug of rich velvety Merlot!! We topped it all off with Creme Brulee & trio of home made ice creams. This restaurant prides itself on home-made/fresh produce with a wide variety of fresh seafoood. The staff are very professional & helpful with the owner Peter making a special effort to call to each table. Would I go back??.....definitely & I'm a tad difficult to please!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiekins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    29
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“best hake I've ever eaten”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a lovely restaurant in port na blagh. It has a great atmosphere in the bar upstairs and the dining room too. We were a party of 7 there to celebrate a wedding anniversary and all of us loved our food. All of us had lovely starters but my favorite dish was the gorgeous hake, and that amazingly tasty sauce that it sat in, was the highlight of my night. Another lady had it too and fully agrees. 2 of the lads had pork belly which was delicious too and the other 3 people had other fish dishes which they loved. We didn't have desserts cause we were too full. The vegetables that accompanied the food were also very tasty.
It was busy in the restaurant but the service was great. Prices were reasonable too.
We will be back. Can't wait to find an excuse to go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return !”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From Hello your very welcome to goodnight safe home this restaurant excelled
The sophisticated menu completely satisfied our varied pallets.
Wow on flavours , presentations portions and service .
Top drawer experience

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneBirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

In 2 words "simply amazing " 100/100 we can't deduct even one point.. And delicious reserve cognac to top it all off.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The quality of food and level of service associated with owner operators”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our party of six dined recently in the Cove. 11th of July and exceptionally busy night for the restaurant, not that any guess would have noticed. The food was superb and the service excellent. A really well set up restaurant with a casual bar/seating area upstairs where you can view the menu in comfort. Orders are taken while seated upstairs and then shown downstairs to table when starters are ready. Our party had a selection of seafood and steak and all were extremely impressed. Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cove Restaurant also viewed

Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 

Been to Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing