We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Rockhaven House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfanaghy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockhaven House
Ranked #3 of 7 Dunfanaghy B&B and Inns
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Rockhaven House in May. The view is beautiful, the house is immaculate, the room very, very comfortable with a beautiful sea view, and the hosts were very helpful and lovely people. Heather encouraged us upon our arrival to drive the Horn Head loop and the scenery was fantastic. She also recommended places to have dinner and to go for some music and we weren't disappointed. The breakfast was delicious and we could have sat for hours in their lovely dining room looking over pastureland and a golf course to the sea. It was an easy and scenic drive the next morning to Glenveagh National Park. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling in County Donegal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

our room was lovely, the shower was amazing, the owners were wonderful nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with several choices, we sampled most of what was on off. would highly recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Sam greeted us the way only the Irish can.... An exceptionally warm and friendly welcome. He continued to be the best host I've ever had the pleasure to meet. This b&b is immaculate, and they serve a great breakfast. I would have no hesitation returning here. A must if you're visiting dunfanaghy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a fine B and B this is, one of the best! My wife and I spent a night here in July. We received a very cordial welcome, the room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. The breakfasts were very good and the service was excellent. Our hosts gave us ideas about how to spend our time in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeleaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Rockhaven House is a real gem of a B&B set in the beautiful town of Dunfanaghy .I have just stayed there with my wife and a friend for a short golfing break . Rockhaven has the most spectacular views across the golf course , Dunfanaghy bay and Horn Head .The dining room must have one of the best views in the whole region !
The bedrooms we had were immaculate , the guest lounge very comfortable and the breakfast superb . However what really adds to an already brilliant experience is the hospitality of the owners, Heather and Sam McElhinney . They both make sure that their guests have a great time and are helped with local information if they are new to the area -- I saw at first hand the care which they took with their guests . As an example Heather rang the local golf club to check out a few things for us without us even asking .
We struck lucky with the weather [ the golf wasn't bad either !] but will look forward to future stays with Heather and Sam whatever the weather . Thanks for a really enjoyable stay --much appreciated !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent for nights at Rockhaven. It is ideally located to explore the north region of Donegal. We were thankful after a long day outing or hike to return to our comfy, very clean and quite room or to relax in the guest lounge. Hosts, Heather and Sam were most hospitable and keen to share their knowledge of the region. The fabulous view of Sheephaven Bay and the golf course from the breakfast room and the superb breakfast were without a doubt the best way to start each day. We highly recommend Rockhaven and if we're back this way we''ll be sure to stay! Karen and David

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen and David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Rockhaven very much. I went with a walking tour in Donegal & Antrim and this was the best B&B. I stayed in a 'single' room which wasn't really a single room but a big room with a big bathroom, lovely and comfortable beds (including the blanket!!!) and I slept very tight at night as it was very quiet (my room wasn't to the front, so no sea view BUT very calm!) The owners are very friendly and good for a little chat. At breakfast you can enjoy the view to the sea and Horn Head. If you are in Dunfanaghy go to Rockhaven House, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
0.5 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
394 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
749 reviews
5.2 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
378 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
387 reviews
1.7 mi away
Corcreggan Mill
Corcreggan Mill
#1 of 3 in Dunfanaghy
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhaven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhaven House

Property: Rockhaven House
Address: Kill, Dunfanaghy, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rockhaven House Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing