We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little treasure”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The House

Front view of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of house
Side view of house Side view of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front view of house
Side view of house
Side view of house
Living area
Kitchen area
Open plan view
First of downstairs bedrooms
Second of downstairs bedrooms
Downstairs bathroom
First of upstairs bedrooms
Second of upstairs bedrooms
Landing/chill out area upstairs
Upstairs Bathroom
View of Tranarossan Bay
Dunfanaghy Golf Course
Glenveigh Castle and National Park
Horse Riding on Dunfanaghy Beach
Dunfanaghy Beach (Walk from House)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Björn J
1 review
“Little treasure”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spacious house will all amenities you need except WIFI. It is close to the beach and all shops, cafés and restaurants Dunfanaghy has to offer.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Glad you enjoyed yourselves Bjorn. Perhaps you can spread the word about the delights Dunfanaghy/Donegal has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stewart l
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Dunfanaghy,A home from home with everything to make a stay enjoyable.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived on Friday around lunchtime and were greeted by Kathleen who showed us round. We settled in very quickly and proceeded to the beach via the secret path. The scenery was breathtaking and as a bonus the weather was excellent for Dongal which we know very well.Shops pubs Restaurants are all within a 5 minute walk and a convenient store less than a minutes walk away.The house was spacious clean and very homely and we will be back for a more extended stay in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in the evening after we had been out to dinner with a drink in front of the open fire.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always great to hear that visitors enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deve365
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great house in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We know Dundanaghy pretty well and quite frankly the choice of places to eat, standard of food and service and range of lovely little shops just keeps getting better. John and Imelda's house is in an ideal location - a stroll from the breath taking beach and easy walking distance to the village. The house is well fitted out, clean and tidy and so comfortable. We'd definitely recommend this house to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
A lot of guests comment on the location which is great to hear. Thank you so much for nice review - gives us a nice lift and confirms that we are providing good quality accomodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia D
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I could live here and enjoy every moment!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our family visited from Tennessee to County Donegal, Dunfanaghy in mid May. Renting a property on the internet and trying to determine if a house might be well-suited is difficult at best but John, The owner of "The House", took all the difficulty away. John emailed me periodically and kept me advised of things I would need to know as our date of travel neared. He sent me detailed directions and had someone at the house to greet us when we arrived just to make sure everything was in order and to show us the "secret" path to the beach and to the village. Everything was ideal.

As we were traveling with extended family members ranging in age from early 20's to late 60's, we were delighted with the number of bedrooms and the size and location of the rooms. We didn't spend a lot of time at the house as we were traveling to see the sights of County Donegal almost all day, but when we would return in the evening, it was like coming home. The small enclave of neighboring homes is charming and the location of the house to the town of Dunfanaghy is perfect. We walked everywhere in town, to eat, to the pubs, to the beach. Everything was an easy, slow stroll and family members could come and go as they wished, not when the group wanted to go.

I realized that if I could move to Dunfanaghy, I could and would live permanently in this house and enjoy everything about my life there. It was a home away from home and I can't possibly recommend it highly enough. Our trip was amazing and we have John to thank for allowing his house to be on the rental properties. Please, don't hesitate to rent this one if you are planning to visit this area of Ireland. Writing this review has made me "homesick" for our short visit to an amazing place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location excellent. Wonderful house in an ideal location for beach and walks to village.
Liked least: Clothes Washer provided but no dryer. We encountered a bit of rain and had to dry on racks.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasH35...
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Clean,comfortable ,with plenty of room,and convenient to the beach and village,
"The House"proved itself an ideal base to relax ,and to explore the surrounding countryside.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Wolfp...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, great location – could not recommend highly enough!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed here back in September with my partner but I’m only just getting round to writing the review now.

This is a really beautiful house in a stunning location – Dunfanaghy is a hidden gem on Ireland’s coast. The village had everything you need for a stress-free break with excellent pubs, convenience stores and great places to eat all within walking distance (The Mill is amazing!).

The house was a real home from home and impeccably clean. We cooked in the house for a couple of the nights and the beautiful kitchen was stocked with everything you could ever need. Luckily, the weather was fine for our stay but we are already planning to return with some friends now the weather is colder to take advantage of the large log fire and to explore more of the local area.

Great house, great location – could not recommend highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely open plan living/ kitchen area
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F
London
2 reviews
“Fantastic group New Year break! Great house in lovely surroundings!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I and a group of friends booked to stay here over the New Year having been impressed by the positive feedback already posted on Trip Advisor. Our journey to Dunfanaghy was seamless; having flown into Derry from London, we picked up a couple of pre-booked hire cars and the hour or so drive there was easy and comfortable and took us through some spectacular countryside!

The house itself was superb, and everything that we had hoped for. A very clean and well presented property, with both the beach and Dunfanaghy’s village centre – with a couple of handy shops and pubs etc – just a few minutes walk from the front door.

With 4 spacious bedrooms and two bathrooms, the house was plenty big enough for all of us. Equally so the very sociable open plan living space which was great for us all to sit together, eat and drink, play games etc. One of the groups’ highlights seemed to be the open fire which was hugely cosy and great to get going after some fine wintery walks! The kitchen had a smart finish and had everything we needed to store 3 days worth of supplies and cook several group meals.

Whilst we stayed in Dunfanaghy we took advantage of the lovely nearby Glenveagh national park, the aforementioned pubs for NYE(!) and the picturesque beach for a New Years day swim (just those that were brave enough mind!) And there seemed to be plenty more going on around, and places to be explored, if we had been afforded more time.

Overall, a really fantastic stay! The house was brilliant, and the local area equally so. I would definitely stay again, and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing