We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arnolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arnolds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Certificate of Excellence
n ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just home from 2 night stay in Arnolds hotel .First class stay .Staff catered for every need ,and could not do enough us also the boss was at front desk and always greeted you with a friendly word .We had one of the front bedrooms and we had a great view across the bay . Will be giving this hotel another visit in the future ..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Arnolds Hotel, Dunfanghy Co Donegal for your recent leisure break. We really appreciate your positive feedback on your holiday experience with us in particular the quality of service and hospitality you received from management and staff. Sheephaven Bay is a very scenic location with lots of activities and scenic walks and drives for you to discover which makes it very popular with visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arnold Family Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    114
    30
    16
    10
See reviews for
75
167
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our two night stay at Arnold's got off to a great start when receptionist Laura warmly greeted us at check-in. In fact all the staff we dealt with were warm and helpful. Our room was above reception facing the sea and was well-proportioned. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom, while a little dated in terms of design and decor, had everything one needed. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and in the bar on our second. The mussels my wife had in the restaurant were among the best she ever had in Ireland she declared. High praise indeed from a Belgian! All the food we had in the hotel was tasty and well presented - not gourmet standard but perfectly acceptable for a hotel at this price point. Breakfast included the usual suspects, headed up by a good Full Irish but I would have preferred somewhat meatier sausages having recently been spoiled by McGettigan's award-winning sausages from Donegal town. The hotel has pleasant public areas for sitting around the reception area and the quiet Glenveagh Room for relaxing. We did not see any lift in the building so anyone with restricted mobility should be aware of this. The bar had traditional music on our second night which was provided by locals Dave and Ernin on guitar and fiddle and very entertaining it was too. Dunfanaghy has a beautiful beach and is a great location to tour Glenveagh National Park from (which we did). And Horn Head across the bay from the hotel is a must visit on a clear day - just make sure you get your map of the head from Laura before you set out to get the most of your visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea (eg room #5) for spectacular sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tablepourdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I've just come home from another visit to County Donegal, Ireland. This was my second visit to Dunfanaghy, and Arnolds Hotel. I can't say enough about my stay ay Arnolds. The hotel it self was wonderful. The most important part of the hotel is the staff. They are the greatest bunch of people I've ever met. From the front desk, to the housekeepers, you couldn't ask for better. . The dining was great, and the folks at Whiskey Fly Pub were terrific. I would highly recommend Arnolds to anyone travelling to Donegal. .It's a great location to visit many of the great sites of Donegal, and the staff are more than willing to help with suggestions, and directions. I'm looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENNYMOWDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Friends of ours recommended we come to Dunfanaghy on our tour around Ireland, and I will sending them a bottle of wine as son as I can. From the drive to get here to the town itself, this place is just delightful.
This hotel is a great place to stay when you do get here - it is just charming. Friendly staff, lovely rooms with a beautiful view out across the bay, great food in the restaurant, live music in the bar, and good parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clones, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Hotel of a thousand welcomes, Laura on reception was very friendly and helpful as where all the staff, made you fell you where a local. Room clean and comfortable. Food excellent. Drinks good price. Scenery beautifull. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay with lovely staff,we were travelling on honeymoon and they made it a great experience especially Laura she was very helpful and definitely went th extra mile for us.The food was also excellent.Will definitely recommend and if back in the area would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanConnieAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is a very special hotel that my wife and I have been using for many years. The Arnold family are always concerned that their guests get the best of attention and service and everything flows from this. The hotel is warm and welcoming with lovely staff who are engaging and always helpful. We were visiting in April on a photography weekend which was excellent with great craic. The food was of high standard and really enjoyable. Arnolds sits in a wonderful location in Dunfanaghy with terrific views out to Sheephaven Bay and across to the dramatic Horn Head. All of this against the backcloth of mountains and the beautiful county of Donegal. We will return to this special place again this year

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and premium room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polligull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
2.7 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
5.3 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
18.0 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
23.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Hotel

Property: Arnolds Hotel
Address: Dunfanaghy | Co Donegal, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arnolds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of discovery at the Arnold Family Hotel, Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the hidden gems of the local area steeped in History, Heritage, Culture and Music. Established in 1922 the Arnold Family hotel is renowned for excellence in food and hospitality using locally sourced produce. Indulge the senses and your passion for good food and wine in local Cafes and restaurants. Visit the local historic sites, explore miles of scenic walks, hidden coves and sandy beaches off the beaten track. Go Horse Riding, Golfing, Surfing and Fishing. Cycle the highways and byways, go island hopping to Tory and Arranmore. Visit the local Art Galleries, The Famine Heritage Centre and the Village Craft Shops. Donegal is simply paradise Local Attractions: Killahoey Beach, Horn Head Discovery Point 9 Mile scenic Drive and Walk overlooking Tory Island, the Errigal to Muckish Mountain Ranges. Glenveagh National Park, The Glebe Gallery, The Ards Peninsula, Ards Forest Park, Bloodyforeland, The Atlantic Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arnolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnolds Hotel Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing