We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arnold's Hotel... A genuine welcome awaits”
Review of Arnolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arnolds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Arnold's Hotel... A genuine welcome awaits”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was invited by some friends to the picturesque costal area of Dunfanaghy in North West Donegal. Our accommodation at Arnold's Hotel was easily found as we came into the town. Overlooking Dunfanaghy Bay, the view from the hotel was simply breathtaking. The hotel reception had a lovely roaring fire which warmed us while we were checking in. The hotel staff were all very welcoming. Our room's decor especially it's bathroom was a little tired BUT well maintained and very clean, I slept very well. Next morning the hotel served us a very welcoming and tasty 'cooked to order' Irish breakfast. I loved Dunfanaghy and I especially enjoyed Arnold's Hotel. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Kernohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on your recent holiday experience with us at the Arnold Family Hotel Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    116
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
79
176
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The wife and I had the occasion to dine at Arnold's last week with friends. We were not looking for anything special so we were gobsmacked by just how delicious everything turned out to be.

Several of us ordered the Irish Prime Sirloin cooked from medium rare to well done. Everyone was satisfied.

Others had fish and were equally pleased.

The dessert list was very enticing and the wine offerings suitable to all but fussiest of consumers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Revcdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent dining experience with us at the Arnold Family Hotel Dunfanaghy,overlooking Sheephaven Bay. It is really pleasing to note that the Steaks and Fish met with your expectations. It is also good to note that the Wine List and dessert menu were enticing to all of your guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Arnolds Hotel. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo in Bibbiano
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent a few nights at Arnolds as part of an "Irish experience" touring around. Generally things were fine but our bathroom was rather tacky and in need of some decoration. The bedroom was above the kitchen extractor fans and with the window slightly ajar the noise was annoying. Guests should also be aware that the rooms with a view of the sea front onto a busy road and with the window only slightly open the noise is annoying. The bar was lively, the food was average but the staff were exceptional, especially the bar staff and the young lady at reception.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with a window open, forget about a sea view and ask for a room at the rear of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContadinoDiVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for spending a few nights with us at the Arnold Family Hotel Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay. I have noted all your comments and observations regarding repairs to the bathroom and the noise levels. I sincerely apologise that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I took a horseback excursion in this part of Ireland and my stay at Arnold's was amazing! People bent over backwards to assist in anything. The friendliest, most outgoing, wonderful, helpful people I've had on a vacation. Thank you!

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the street. Very noisy if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garoidin, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Kimberley
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on your recent 7 Day Horseback Holiday with us at Arnolds Hotel Dunfanaghy County Donegal Ireland. It is very encouraging to note that you received such a friendly welcome and that you received assistance to sort out any enquiries you had during your stay. The stunning scenery for the horseriding trail around Sheephaven Bay is magical and we have received many positive reviews from people who have experienced the wilderness and rugged landscape on this magnificent trail around North Donegal. The We are really proud to receive your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent one night here on on a two day sightseeing tour of Donegal. The hotel is easily located on the main street of the lovely village of Dunfanaghy and is over the road from a beautiful bay.The hotel was warm and welcoming and the staff were all very friendly, especially the girl on reception. We had a meal in the bar and the food was excellent as was the breakfast in the restaurant the following morning. There was entertainment in the bar in the evening and a great atmosphere. Only one problem, the bed was so comfy we had trouble getting out of it in the morning. I would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieqYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garoidin, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent positive holiday experience with us at the Arnold Family Hotel Dunfanaghy County Donegal Ireland. We really appreciate your very comprehensive review including the hotel location overlooking Sheephaven Bay, the warm friendly welcome, the food and hospitality as well the entertainment in the bar is very much appreciated by the Arnold Family and Staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at Arnolds hotel for our wonderful stay at the weekend. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and cosy. The food was excellent and the staff were great. A very friendly atmosphere. Looking forward to our next stay.
Kind regards
Martin Hilferty

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHilf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garoidin, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for the very positive feedback on your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to hear that you enoyed your stay with us and the level of hospitality you experienced including, the friendly atmostphere, food, service, accommodation and the friendly welcome you received from the staff met with your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our customers and we really appreciate your very comprehensive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arnold Family Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Visited here during the Jazz & Blues festival. A great place to base yourself for the weekend with some great shows. The loyalty point are an added bonus if you frequent often. The beer garden is well situated to get the best of the sun when it's out

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ootnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garoidin, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review on your recent stay with us for the now famous Dunfanaghy Jazz and Blues Festival. It was a very successful weekend once again with lots of excellent musicians providing great entertainment. Customer Loyalty is rewarded and we really appreciate our customer feedback at al times. We Look forward to welcoming you back for the Halloween Celebrations followed by Christmas and New Year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
2.7 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
751 reviews
5.3 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
261 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
378 reviews
18.0 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
407 reviews
13.7 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Hotel

Property: Arnolds Hotel
Address: Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arnolds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of discovery at the Arnold Family Hotel, Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the hidden gems of the local area steeped in History, Heritage, Culture and Music. Established in 1922 the Arnold Family hotel is renowned for excellence in food and hospitality using locally sourced produce. Indulge the senses and your passion for good food and wine in local Cafes and restaurants. Visit the local historic sites, explore miles of scenic walks, hidden coves and sandy beaches off the beaten track. Go Horse Riding, Golfing, Surfing and Fishing. Cycle the highways and byways, go island hopping to Tory and Arranmore. Visit the local Art Galleries, The Famine Heritage Centre and the Village Craft Shops. Donegal is simply paradise Local Attractions: Killahoey Beach, Horn Head Discovery Point 9 Mile scenic Drive and Walk overlooking Tory Island, the Errigal to Muckish Mountain Ranges. Glenveagh National Park, The Glebe Gallery, The Ards Peninsula, Ards Forest Park, Bloodyforeland, The Atlantic Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arnolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnolds Hotel Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing