We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would deffo recommend”
Review of Oyster's

Oyster's
Ranked #15 of 19 Restaurants in Dunfanaghy
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Would deffo recommend”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Dunfanaghy has a lot of restaurants to offer after walking round them all reading the menus we choose the Oyster and we weren't disappointed! The food was tasty, the atmosphere was friendly and enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble for the staff....even when the chicken curry came out full of peppers and mushrooms after explaining my son doesn't like vegetables the waitress took it away and brought it out just chicken and curry sauce....very accommodating of the chef! The price isn't too expensive either....63euro for 4 people with a few drinks....will deffo pay a visit the next time we are in Dunfanaghy...the restaurant was quite busy but we didn't wait long either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Issoire, France
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good traditionnal music”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Nice place to stay for having a drink and listening to music. Traditionnal musicians evry night in sumertime. I don't know how food is.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casadei63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food and music here”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in Dunfanaghy a week, and visited Oyster's a few times. Food was good, staff friendly, and music two different evenings. LOVED the music!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 70elleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat last in Dunfanaghy and were attracted by the specials board outside the Oyster Bar. We went inside and were assured we could have food. We studied the specials board inside the bar but were then told the specials were not available on a Wednesday. We were given the menu. We selected the first two items on the menu but on ordering, we were told that neither were available. At which point, we said that we would eat elsewhere. While the member of staff who dealt with us was very pleasant, the atmosphere was gloomy and the bar quiet compared to eating places in the town - we got a very nice meal elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley95312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A bit of a tourist trap.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very Average Pub food. My Traditional fresh fish and chips was definitely not fresh fish.It was frozen battered fish. I hate that.
We were made wait 40 minutes for our food. Children were restless and hungry. Service looked disorganized. Not a great experience.

They dont accept cards either so I had to go down to an ATM in a nearby supermarket.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niallgilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster's also viewed

Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 

Been to Oyster's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing