We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Priceless view and secluded location”
other travellers have booked this property
Sideview / entrance of  Guest Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sideview / entrance of  Guest Lodge
View over the roof of the Guest Lodge looking into the ocean your view from guest lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sideview / entrance of  Guest Lodge
View over the roof of the Guest Lodge looking into the ocean
your view from guest lodge
Small conservatory of the bedroom and en suite
door going into bedroom
View from the Bedroom
Bedroom king size bed  Bed .
into bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nottoofus...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Priceless view and secluded location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This little place is located in the most beautiful surroundings; if you want rest and total relaxation then this is the place to go. The view is stunning and there are no unwanted noises to disrupt your peace....you can feel the stress leaving you as you look out over the sea. The bed was so comfortable and the bath&shower were also very high quality. The only thing we would have liked was to be able to use a bbq as there are no cooking facilities and because it's so beautiful you don't really want to go out anywhere else!!There are absolutely beautiful beaches close by, Glenveagh castle isn't too far either and it is a stunning walk.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet beauty at the edge of Ireland”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a fabulous place for a short stay. The bedroom is spacious and comfortable, the bathroom luxurious and stylish. The facilities to make coffee, tea and toast are basic but fine for breakfast and lunch. Dunfanaghy is close enough by and boasts some great eating places. The winner is the conservatory facing out over the ocean. Here you can sit for hours watching the light change, and the weather fronts roll in and over the land. You are at the edge of Ireland (and Europe) and feel the sense of wild isolation.
Donegal is full of contrasts and within an easy drive are great places to walk, explore, and visit.
If you want a break from stressful work, noisy cities, or anything else distracting, then it is hard to think of anywhere better. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The unparalleled location and views from the property
Liked least: The lack of kitchen facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weejimmy1...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, quiet & tranquility”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I picked the cottage because I wanted peace, quiet and tranquility away from the daily pressures of life and that is exactly what I got!! Everything was as advertised and I was very impressed with the standard of finish and maintenance on this excellent property. It provided the ideal base to explore the area and was not too far from Dunfanaghy where entertainment, food and shops were all to hand. After a week in this magical location, with excellent views across the water, I felt refreshed and re-energised. I definitely want to go back thanks for a great stay.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky T
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Booked only a few hours before arrival. The owner was very accommodating. The roaring fire and friendly owner made for a cosy welcome. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous in style, comfort and location. The amenites are excellent especially the Aga which kept the whole place feeling warm throughout our stay. The cottage lacked for nothing - truely luxurious. The views are magnificent and constantly changing with the different lighting throughout the day. The coasal drives and walks are literally on your doorstep yet the cottage is tucked away from view. Looking forward already to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyCm
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Donegal Getaway”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing time we have had! We decided a last minute break to Donegal over New Years and fell in love with the cottage and it's stunning views before we arrived, but nothing prepared us as we arrived on Horn Head! The ocean is so close and the cottage is right in front of it. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. It's the perfect place for people who want peace or even a romantic break, you really get sense of Donegal life.

Dunfanaghy is over 5 minutes drive but we just stayed in and cooked ourselves.
We highly recommend this cottage, it is the best place we have stayed in, in term of of comfort etc, it was hard to leave .... we are talking about going back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
922desk
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Ideal short break”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The scenery is breath taking and being able to look across the bay with a full moon and complete peace and quiet was magical. The cottage is remote enough to provide a quiet retreat but still only 10 minute drive into the village and about 30 minute drive to the beautiful Glenveagh National Park and castle. A short drive or a walk up the hill to Horn Head is a must. The cottage is well furnished and comfortable and just about the right size for 2 people.

Marie was there to meet us on arrival and while available in the nearby main house if needed, left us alone during the stay so you really felt you had complete privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isam87
Eschweiler, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing & one of the best places we've ever stayed!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There is not enough space to describe all the amazing and perfect things about this wonderfull place! It was one of the best places we've ever stayed! Absolutely recommendable!!
Everything is amazing: the wonderfull and lovingly furnished house, the magic view over the sea, the spectacular surrounding nature and the great loneliness of the place. We definitely felt in love with it and we'll come back as soon as possible!
Thank you Marie for creating this fantastic place, the nice contact and the warm welcome to Horn Head!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the great location and the wonderfull view
Liked least: the depature from this great place!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing