We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
spring day in Donegal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
spring day in Donegal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
spring day in Donegal
View of Tory Island from house
View of Mukish mountain through the gap
View of Errigal
Port na blagh 10 minutes drive from house
Port na blagh
Drumnatinney Beach 10 minutes from house
Drumnatinney Beach ( Back Strand )
Entrance Hall
Kitchen with Range master
Dining Room with Stove
Sun Room
Living Room in to Sun Room
Living Room
bed room (1) upstairs, with 1 single bed and 1 double bed
bed room (1) upstairs, with 1 double and 1 single bed
family bath room upstairs, with corner bath and corner shower
large family bed room (2) upstairs, with 1 king size bed and 2 single beds
large family bed room (2) upstairs, with 2 single beds and 1 king size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Alicestew...
2 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for a week and sorry we hadn't booked it for 2. Anita was so very helpful, the cottage was immaculate, and for us the perfect location at the foot the mountains and not far from the beach. We had friends down who have already made a booking ad they were so impressed. All being well we hope to be there next year but for 2 wks this time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
thank you so much for this nice review, we looking forward welcoming you again next year, thanks again for taking the time and writing this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacork
1 review
“Cosy warm house in tranquil peaceful surroundings amongst hills Donegal..”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a lovely week in Derryreel cottage, welcomed warmly by Anita, lovely cosy quiet house Amongst the hills of Donegal, 5 mins from beach/swimming pool/ local cafes and shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you so much we are glad you enjoyed your week in Donegal, sorry about the weather, it can only get better. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mizar69
Armagh
1 review
“Great wee home away from home”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

First thing you notice is how warm cosy this place is when entering. The geothermal heating really is a credit to this place. My weather for the week was not great but really nice to come back from walking,cycling or driving to a nicely heated house, and the wood burner is a added bonus.
The the beds were comfortable even with my 2 broken ribs. The kitchen has everything you need for your stay and the hot water geezer is great for when you want a cuppa.
Great views of the surrounding landscape and I did get one really nice sunset which was very impressive.
It is within a short driving distance of local shops, bars and markets.
I would highly recommend this and will indeed be back at some stage in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How warm it was with the geothermal heating.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you for this review, we try to cater for everybody and all sports,
you where our first cyclist, perhaps others will follow reading your comments. You are welcome any time you want time out and relax.
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
1 review
“Very high standard at a very good price”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very nice spacious house, recently built, with excellent facilities.
It even has geothermal heating, which would make it an excellent choice for the cooler months.
The special tap in the kitchen that supplied instant boiling water, thus dispensing with the need for a kettle, was fantastic.
The sunsets were great due to the uninterrupted view to the northwest, and the wildlife was great, with sky larks overhead and very entertaining hares in the garden.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you so much we enjoyed having you stay in our cottage, just sorry we had so limited time for a chat. We would always like to welcome you again. We are glad you mentioned the boiling water tap on the kitchen sink.
many thanks for this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
2 reviews
“Well worth a stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We visited here on the bank holiday weekend in may. We wanted to get away from very day things of work and busy lives. We booked this cottage and really did love it. The cottage was on its own looking over at the lovely mountains. Great views from each room.Nice and peaceful. Are kids had plenty of room to run around. The cottage had everything you could ask for and more with great cooking facility . Big spacious bedrooms with a view. Lovely and warm with underfloor heating. A nice warm and welcoming house . Price was great too. Well worth a visit for a nice break and family time together. John and Anita are very welcoming. Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
thank you so much for this lovely review, we do our best to make guests welcome, we are very happy you liked our cottage and looking forward seeing you again.
many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
852TomD
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy the wilds of Donegal”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a modern, very well equipped cottage which comfortably accomodated four adults. Anita was a generous host who made us feel very welcome. The house was comfortable and warm, with under floor heating and a nice stove which we lit at night.
If you don't mind getting away from it all, this is the place for you. Although only a few minutes drive from Dunfanaghy, it is quite remote in its location. We experienced all four seasons in one day with wind, rain, hail and sunshine. The outlook is superb and we had a very relaxing time.
Highly recommended for those who don't mind a bit of solitude. Anita was very thoughtful and we appreciated her generosity.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
thank you so much for your nice comments we do appreciate your review very much, perhaps you visit Ireland again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for this , you can come back anytime you always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing