We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Villa with stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Mimosa

Sun Deck with pergola and views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun Deck with pergola and views
view from sundeck front of house with covered verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Sun Deck with pergola and views
view from sundeck
front of house with covered verandah
covered verandah
Bar B Q for freshly cooked fish!
Living Room
Kitchen dining
Kitchen with granite worktops and locally made tiles
bathroom
Bedroom 1
bedroom detail
Bedroom 2
bedroom detail
Bedroom 3
a beautiful coastline
beaches
local festivals
nuraghe and sunsets
waterfall near Sedini
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Perfugas, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Koenevrou...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Super Villa with stunning view”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great week at Villa Mimosa. Stunning view over the garden and mountains. Peacefull environment. Villa has everything you need. Great kitchen and excellent coffee machine.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thankyou Dunja. I think several people have bought coffee machines after visiting our house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Majestic Villa; but the owners are highly indifferent when the Villa plumbing breaks ... again!”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (plus English pointer dog) rented Villa Mimosa for three weeks in the month of July 2017.

Points in favour:
1) The Villa is located in a secluded, safe and very private location away from tourist areas and enjoys majestically wonderful views all around.
2) The Villa is very clean (although the oven can do with a good scrubbing) and all rooms including the bathroom are neat and tidy. It is very well equipped and furnished with all the required internal and external furniture including a fully functional barbeque which is excellent. The kitchen is large and very well equipped and there is everything one would require to cook his own, even elaborate, meals (the kitchen knives need sharpening though). The Villa is bright and airy, exactly as seen in the agency photos.
3) The villa gardens are wonderfully kept and the herb garden provides the right relaxing ambience. The back and front porch of the Villa practically provided a comfortable and shaded area any time of the day. The car can be parked safely inside the Villa grounds.
4) Close by one can drive a few minutes to Coghinas Lake which provides very pleasing walks. The towns of Sassari, Aggius and Tempio Pausania are just a short drive away.

Points Against:
1) The Villa is located less than six metres away from Road SP75 (Strada Provinciale 75) and in the very early morning, and sometimes in the dead of the night, one is abruptly awoken by the noise of heavy vehicles, trucks and bikes revving all the way uphill.
2) During our stay the boiler stopped working for a weekend and our family had to endure a whole weekend washing using the ice cold water from the cistern. The boiler was repaired after three days.
3) At our second week the water pump in the house stopped working altogether and we ended without a drop of water in the Villa, thereby the bathrooms and toilet were out of use. We desperately contacted Robin who regretfully was completely oblivious to our hopeless situation; he replied that he may attend in five, or more, hours and informed us that we will not be able to contact him because his mobile battery was low! Nevertheless, after frantically sending several SMS to both Robin and Elaine they finally agreed to come to the Villa, which they did, in two hours. The problem was resolved after eight hours of undue discomfort and stress for all our family; certainly not the five star service we had paid for!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
We are pleased that James and his family enjoyed the house and gardens and have acknowledged the time, care and attention to detail that we have lavished on it, and choose to share with our guests. We endeavour to provide the same level of care and attention to our guests, and we are very sorry that James and his family had two technical issues during his 3 week stay.
In response to his negative points taken in order:
1. Yes we acknowledge the house is next to a road. It is a low traffic road and does not bother us. To the best of our knowledge it has not bothered previous guests either.
2. The boiler was serviced in May and has a maintenance contract. We were in the Uk at the time when the boiler failed to fire and we responded immediately, getting on the phone to the contractor. Unfortunately it was a Friday afternoon and the engineer had just left the area. No one works at the weekends in Sardinia so they attended on Monday and successfully dealt with the issue. It is unfortunate but had James told us of this issue even half an hour earlier we may have been able to obtain a same day fix.
3. The 6 hour loss of water needs to be put into the context that Sardinia is currently suffering a sustained drought and temperatures in excess of 37 degrees; the local towns are having their water cut off between 7:30pm every night until 7.30 morning. Since water supply in the past has been problematical, we have installed a new pump driven supply from a 45,000 litre cistern under the house, which normally allows the house to operate independently from the mains supply. We were on holiday ourselves, camping in Sardinia along the coast when I received a message at about 2pm that there was no water. My wife was out sailing so I responded immediately to say we would attend the house personally ... hopefully by 5pm but maybe a bit later (I did not know how long my wife would be at sea!). Yes my mobile was very low on charge, and I thought it best to advise James in case the phone ran out before I could recharge. We got to the house as soon as we possibly could at 4:30pm. We assessed the situation, called in our builder, brought 80 litres to the house as a stop gap and had resolved the problem with the pump by 7:30pm.

We are therefore rather shocked by the headline to this review, and upset by James's assertion that we were "highly indifferent" to their problems. This was not the case at all. Whilst we cannot provide an emergency service, we feel that our responses to both of the above issues were as time efficient as possible under the circumstances, and that 6 hours to resolve a water supply issue is not a bad response time! James did not tell us of his feelings when we met him, so we did not have the opportunity to discuss these circumstances in more detail before he wrote his review. Furthermore, we do not claim that the property is five star, and the rental price is certainly NOT five star ... It is a bargain! We think that we have a wonderful property which we try hard to maintain in full working order, but in the slightly challenging environment of rural Sardinia this can occasionally present problems which we have worked quickly and efficiently to resolve.

We hope that upon reflection, and given his positive response to the house generally, that James will consider both retitling his review, and giving us a better score.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vwal2015
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful veranda, nice country house!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We rented Villa Mimosa for 2 weeks and had a very nice time there. Also our 2 little children enjoyed staying there and had enough secure space to play. The house is cozy and spacious, equipped with nearly everything you need on holidays. There is a fantastic veranda with views into the mountains. Perfugas as the nearest city is small, but has a great ice cream shop and supermarkets to get the basic things. The next beaches were reached by us within 25-30 minutes and were very like. Sassari, Alghero and many more beaches are not too far away and are beautiful. Sardinia is a wonderful spot to make holidays! We have to go back.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the terrace / View to the mountains
Liked least: quite a ride to sights
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprc2014
Seeb, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, but remote”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely 2 weeks relaxation after a stressful year. Villa Mimosa was everything we had hoped for and the photos are true to what you'll find. A lovely welcome of local wine and bottled water was a nice surprise. We hadn't realised that it would be a good hour plus drive to the majority of beaches, covered 1600km in 2 weeks and we limited exploring to the North and Northeast!
Facilities were lovely, views great too and the addition of the planned pool may make the driving not so necessary!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely touches
Liked least: Location means you have to drive alot
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
We appreciate Sue's review, and agree that our farmhouse is remote ... but not that remote! There are several very beautiful beaches with good swimming half an hour's drive from the house, including Valledoria's town beach at St Pietro (with a lagoon), and two or three beaches towards Badesi which can take a bit of finding e.g.. Baia di Mimosa and Pultu Bianca. We will put better instructions on how to find these beaches in our "manual" - to enable guests to find them more easily!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, spacious and well looked after villa in beautiful, peaceful REAL Sardinian countryside.”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning countryside and not far to some of islands most beautiful *and quiet* beaches, as well as hot springs and the ancient panoramic landscape of Valle della Luna - stunning setting of several classic spaghetti westerns and ancient spiritual site of the Nuraghe people; the famous pre-roman ruins and hill forts of whom are scattered all around this part of the island. A hidden gem off the beaten track that is still ideally located within a few hours drive at most of Alghero, Olbia, Stintino and the more mysterious interior.
Having stayed in many locations across northern Sardinia over the last 15 years, villa Mimosa was truly wonderful – being away from the humdrum of the more touristy coastal areas, but still within reach of everything. Locally it is overflowing with culture and genuine community in its close marriage with the land and sea, something that can be lacking elsewhere. The small town down the road is a few minutes drive or a long walk through olive groves and while small and basic, quaintly has one of everything - baker, butcher, cheesemonger etc, as well as a few bars and restaurants (oh, and one of the best Gelaterias on the island!), with very friendly locals. There is also a supermarket, though with the abundance of local produce we did not need it, and did quite a bit of cooking at the Villa (the large outdoor BBQ with locally caught fish was amazing!).
The Villa itself was very clean and well equipped, newly decorated and refurbished comfortable rooms with beautiful garden and views, if one was to want to rest at home more than venture out they would be very happy here, with abundance of clean countryside and open hills great for walking – though care about the heat in the height of summer is advised, as getting lost can be easy and water is not always easy to find. It is a great house to relax in during the heat of the day -very cool- after a morning walk or swim, or before going out in the evening. The couple that rent the villa were lovely and very helpful, being on hand a short drive away. They have a lot of helpful advice to offer if needed. I should we will be going back for at least a few days next time we visit the island.
The only downside is the remoteness and the lack of decent public transport on the island so I would definitely recommend car hire (we hired a motorbike which was great). It is only a couple of hours drive from Olbia or Alghero airport - depending on how fast you drive! - and with a vehicle you are never more than half an hour from a great day out.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet rural surrounds
Liked least: Not all work was completed on house for our vist - 2014.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyB1980
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I cannot recommend Villa Mimosa more highly! Myself and my girlfriend spent a fantastic week there, either spending time reading on the shady veranda or relaxing in front of the stunning open fireplace in the sitting room while sipping the local wine and tasting the cheeses. Perfect! There are nice and handy villages near by to get stocked up with supplies and a delicious pizzeria at the end of the road that we unfortunately only tried out on the last night (a reason to go back in itself!). The house is also wonderfully situated to explore the north of the island where we visited some of the incredible local beaches and charming little villages that are only a short drive away. Sardinia has such as special and unique feel that it has to be visited to truly appreciate what a place it is. We've already booked up for next summer!!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fires in the lounge and the kitchen!
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsey93
1 review
“Lovely family and/or romantic holiday”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We had a really lovely trip in the half term of October. Perfect place to hang out as a family, but also snuggly enough to spend a little 1-1 time with a partner. Beautiful surrounding views from all sides of the house and beautifully decorated, especially the bedrooms. Really enjoyed breakfast outside on the porch!

October was warm, but needed a jumper... Although we did swim in the sea twice!

Great pizzeria down the road, although the house has a great kitchen to cook in.

Car definitely advised as you are in the middle of nowhere, however, we went on loads of great trips exploring the North of the islands beautiful beaches and towns.

Recommended stay! We have already rebooked for August 2015!!

Thanks Robin & Elaine!

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing