We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasure to stay at Portfinn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portfinn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portfinn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasure to stay at Portfinn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

At short notice we were accomodated at the Portfinn Guesthouse which meant some great touring options were then available the following day. With Kylemore Abbey nearby, Ashleigh Falls in it's shadow and Killery harbour at the front door life was wonderful in Leenane. Having travelled the Sky Road from Clifden our day was long and finding quarter at Portfinn, a welcome and reception from the Manager that was heartfelt, was appreciated. Rest was easy and the hearty breakfast meant we were ready for more travel the next day. True kindness was found and seen at Portfinn, the welcome that Ireland is renowned for, proved in Leenane. If in the area I'll call for tea and cakes there and if I'm touring once again I'll book ahead and know there will be a real welcome there.

Room Tip: Book in advance for certainty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were staying in Leenane just for one night and decided at last minute to go to Portfinn for dinner. We didn't have a booking but they were very accommodating. I had the seafood pasta which was excellent and my partner had three fish starters. We were very impressed with the standard of food and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RouseRWicklowIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was a most pleasant stay
This b&b boasts a restaurant with exceptional quality. Everything was freshly cooked and on our travels it was our best yet least expensive meal. All the people involved were a credit to Irish tourism. An added bonus was the discount we received for a cruise up the Killlery Fiord.
Thanks to Alex ,Dorothy, and Brian
Gerry & Hilary

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great location and good chance to see the Killary fjord via Portfinn's sister company who runs the Killary harbour cruise ship - we booked Portfinn so we could go on the ship to see a Declan O'Rourke session (which was excellent).

Anyway the room was fine and had obviously undergone some recent repainting. The bed wasnt great - a regular double that was getting past its sell by date. Bathroom clean but quite small. Curtains had little sunlight stopping power so we woke around 6am.

I guess one of the attractions was to eat at the Portfinn restaurant prior to going off to the boat. We had eaten here years ago under previous management and really enjoyed the food. Our meal this time was so-so : The menu is v small so you would hope what was on offer was really good ... chicken in mushroom sauce was tough and relatively tasteless and the lamb was relatively small in portion size and the accompanying sauce nothing special, apple tart portion was tiny (2-3 mouthfuls). Prices were ok for early bird (around Eur20 for 2 courses) but Eur5 for a glass of ordinary wine.

The neighboring table's dish of mussels looked great (likely caught in the harbour) so perhaps we chose poorly.

This is a lovely setting but the bedrooms need more than a lick of paint and the quality of the food needs improvement to be the full package.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour / village rather than the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeyleix, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge for the bank holiday weekend. This is our third time staying here and yet again the staff and amenities were excellent. Breakfast was excellent and we had a very good meal on one of the evenings (highly recommend the steak!!). I would not hesitate to recommend the place, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our room was lovely, great views of the mountain and fjord. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was lovely for us, but we noticed that once the fruit salad was finished, that was it, and folk who came to breakfast after us (we were there at 8.30am) didn't get any.
As mentioned by others, there's no tv; we felt this should have been stated on the website.
We ate in the restaurant one evening, and while the service was outstanding, the seafood was disappointing (rubbery calamari and mushy sea bass).
We would stay here again but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
al575, Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a response. We always welcome feedback here in Portfinn Lodge. We are very proud of everything we do here and always try to ensure that all our guests have a positive experience. I apologise if you felt that your meal was not satisfactory, had this been brought to our attention on the evening in question we would have certainly replaced your meal. We normally have very positive reviews regarding our food. We will now review our menu and take any necessary changes.
During breakfast we do replenish our buffet table if the need arises, however if this did not happen I can only apologise and will ensure that it won't happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

we stayed there for two nights and were treated very well.
Even though we arrived very early the owner (Brian) had our room cleaned first so we could go there and have a nap.

The room was large, we had WiFi available and the bathroom was clean and even had an electric heater.

But the most outstanding 'feature' of Portfinn Lodge is the restaurant. The food is really good and the staff attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
22.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
19.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
4.8 mi away
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portfinn Lodge

Property: Portfinn Lodge
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portfinn Lodge Guesthouse is located in the picturesque village of Leenane, Co. Galway, overlooking the majestic Killary Harbour - Ireland's only fjord, in the heart of Connemara. The fjord is the only Irish entry in Steve Davy's "Unforgettable Places to see before you Die". We are located on the N59, which itself is rated by AA International as "one of the top ten drives in the world."Portfinn's guesthouse accommodation boasts 11 comfortable en suite rooms with spectacular views of either Killary Harbour or the Maumturk mountains. Located in the heart of Leenane Village, Portfinn Lodge is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portfinn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing