We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, beautiful location.”
Review of Portfinn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portfinn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Caigavon
1 review
“Pleasant stay, beautiful location.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel on a two night break, and found it a very pleasant experience.The room was clean, warm and comfortable even though the weather was'nt, and the breakfast and evening meals were scrumptious. The staff were all polite,friendly and informative and the hotel itself is beautifully located on an elevated site overlooking the fjord and mountains. Lennane is a quiet and pretty little village and we would recommend the boat cruise up the fjord. The natural beauty of the mountains and lakes of the surrounding area is breathtaking which helped make the trip very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed while attending a wedding in nearby delphi mountain resort. The view from the room was lovely and the room itself was comfortable. The weather was awful but the room was lovely & warm. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the breakfast was very good.
Good value, would recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful location, & with the right room, you get a great view. The dining room and bedroom I found a bit too small, giving a claustrophobic feel. It is a relatively modern bungalow & consequently small enough with narrow corridors etc.if spending much time in it - you might be better off in local hotel - I found Lennane Hose hotel, just further out the road to be quite good & does not cost that much more relatively speaking.
Evening meals quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I recently booked a meal for my boyfriend and I to celebrate his birthday. The one thing we did notice when we arrived is that the seats were so close together. We felt everything we said was being listened to... Even our food order brought silence to the room. A little background music would have been nice. Starters were nice bit my mussels were a little overdone-just a little. Calamari was fab. Lamb was delicious. Steak was beautiful but my boyfriend loves his mushroom sauce and could not get some! Deserts were very nice. Homemade pavlova is always a bonus. Must say that the service was great and the blond waitress has a very nice bubbly personality and she was always quick to come if we needed anything. Would highly recommend on a visit to leenane.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lolls2001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable, certainly adequate for a one or two night stay. Breakfast was individually cooked and plenty of it! We had and evening meal as part of our stay voucher. We thought the quality of our evening meal was exceptional and opted to stay in for the second night and again the food was well presented and good value for money. It was a very wet week that we visited, there is a pub virtually at the end of the steps in their garden with all the history about the book and film "The Field". Lovely warm log fire as well as good Guinness.

Room Tip: The front facing are an advantage looking over Killary, the back ones look over the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms are in dire need of refurbishment and colour injected into them. The bathroom very small and rather grubby shower, cistern leaking into a plastic container. In contrast the food was excellent as was the waiting staff. Unfortunately we were informed that there were NO TVs either in the bedrooms or the lounge. We were informed that the ethos of the B&B was to relax and mingle; I can understand this comment but as adults I feel you need a choice of what you wish to see or who to mingle with! We did not stay for the two nights as we had booked. Could be superb if substantial investment was injected.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What an amazing place! Stopped in by chance looking for a room for 3. We managed to get the last room. Gorgious entrance with spectacular views for Killary fjord from the living room. Very clean and the decor is beautiful. Large windows to admire the surrounding mountains.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had dinner in the Portfinn restaurant which was amazing. Lovely fresh food made with local produce. Especially the rack of lamb - beautiful.
The whole experience was wonderful. We will certainly be back for longer next time we're on the west coast.

Room Tip: Both sides of the B&B offer incredible views. Either of the fjord or the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasdawg420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
19.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
547 reviews
22.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
825 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
177 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
19.6 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#2 of 6 in Leenane
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portfinn Lodge

Property: Portfinn Lodge
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portfinn Lodge Guesthouse is located in the picturesque village of Leenane, Co. Galway, overlooking the majestic Killary Harbour - Ireland's only fjord, in the heart of Connemara. The fjord is the only Irish entry in Steve Davy's "Unforgettable Places to see before you Die". We are located on the N59, which itself is rated by AA International as "one of the top ten drives in the world."Portfinn's guesthouse accommodation boasts 11 comfortable en suite rooms with spectacular views of either Killary Harbour or the Maumturk mountains. Located in the heart of Leenane Village, Portfinn Lodge is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portfinn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing