We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place and good food, but room service needs improvement”
Review of Portfinn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portfinn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place and good food, but room service needs improvement”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice, spacious room, very friendly owner/manager, excellent food at the restaurant. We expected a little more from the room service, though - the bed was not made during the day, and a used teacup was emptied, but not cleaned, and put beneath an unused cup on the tray.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giirov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from a fantastic weekend at Portfinn. Not only are the views to die for but the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at Portfinn and thought the food was deicious - very tasty, hot and well presented. It is just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and the pubs and cafes. Brian who runs Portfinn is very happy to help with suggestions and directions to the beautiful beaches and walks nearby. Highly recommended for a lovely stay with typical Irish charm outside and in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SineadCMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caigavon
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel on a two night break, and found it a very pleasant experience.The room was clean, warm and comfortable even though the weather was'nt, and the breakfast and evening meals were scrumptious. The staff were all polite,friendly and informative and the hotel itself is beautifully located on an elevated site overlooking the fjord and mountains. Lennane is a quiet and pretty little village and we would recommend the boat cruise up the fjord. The natural beauty of the mountains and lakes of the surrounding area is breathtaking which helped make the trip very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed while attending a wedding in nearby delphi mountain resort. The view from the room was lovely and the room itself was comfortable. The weather was awful but the room was lovely & warm. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the breakfast was very good.
Good value, would recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful location, & with the right room, you get a great view. The dining room and bedroom I found a bit too small, giving a claustrophobic feel. It is a relatively modern bungalow & consequently small enough with narrow corridors etc.if spending much time in it - you might be better off in local hotel - I found Lennane Hose hotel, just further out the road to be quite good & does not cost that much more relatively speaking.
Evening meals quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I recently booked a meal for my boyfriend and I to celebrate his birthday. The one thing we did notice when we arrived is that the seats were so close together. We felt everything we said was being listened to... Even our food order brought silence to the room. A little background music would have been nice. Starters were nice bit my mussels were a little overdone-just a little. Calamari was fab. Lamb was delicious. Steak was beautiful but my boyfriend loves his mushroom sauce and could not get some! Deserts were very nice. Homemade pavlova is always a bonus. Must say that the service was great and the blond waitress has a very nice bubbly personality and she was always quick to come if we needed anything. Would highly recommend on a visit to leenane.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lolls2001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable, certainly adequate for a one or two night stay. Breakfast was individually cooked and plenty of it! We had and evening meal as part of our stay voucher. We thought the quality of our evening meal was exceptional and opted to stay in for the second night and again the food was well presented and good value for money. It was a very wet week that we visited, there is a pub virtually at the end of the steps in their garden with all the history about the book and film "The Field". Lovely warm log fire as well as good Guinness.

Room Tip: The front facing are an advantage looking over Killary, the back ones look over the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
22.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
19.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
4.8 mi away
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portfinn Lodge

Property: Portfinn Lodge
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portfinn Lodge Guesthouse is located in the picturesque village of Leenane, Co. Galway, overlooking the majestic Killary Harbour - Ireland's only fjord, in the heart of Connemara. The fjord is the only Irish entry in Steve Davy's "Unforgettable Places to see before you Die". We are located on the N59, which itself is rated by AA International as "one of the top ten drives in the world."Portfinn's guesthouse accommodation boasts 11 comfortable en suite rooms with spectacular views of either Killary Harbour or the Maumturk mountains. Located in the heart of Leenane Village, Portfinn Lodge is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portfinn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing