We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is truly a diamond in a Connemara setting.”

Review of Stoneacre

Leenane Village and Killary Harbour from Stoneacre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Leenane Village and Killary Harbour from Stoneacre
Stoneacre from the front terrace Killary Harbour  and the Fjiord from Stoneacre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Leenane Village and Killary Harbour from Stoneacre
Stoneacre from the front terrace
Killary Harbour  and the Fjiord from Stoneacre
Glassilaun beach 15 minute drive from Leenane
Lettergesh beach 15 minutesdrive  Leenane
Family Room and Dining  Area Sea views
Breakfast /kitchen area Sea views
Family/diner/kitchen
Sitting Room 1 Sea views
Sitting Room 2
Master Bedroom 1 Sea views
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Limited  sea views
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Evening sunset at Stoneacre
Stoneacre Luxury house
Morning at Stoneacre
Loch Mask fresh water loch 30minute drive from Leenane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Leenane, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“This is truly a diamond in a Connemara setting.”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

The Ireland trip went exceedingly well and our group of eight fitted very comfortably in the accommodation at Stoneacre. And the view is extraordinary!
> The house is beautifully furnished and equipped, well maintained and felt like a home from home. We had a 9 seater minibus and on those narrow windy roads visited Galway, Westport, Cong, Cleveden, Kylemore Abbey, Roundstone. Leenane is well placed for exploring Connemara and Mayo
> We ate well in the village, The Blackberry is very good, the Fjord café is fine and the Leenane Hotel serves good food too.
> So to sum up, a thoroughly good time was had by all, and to some of our group the chance to spend some time in a very English home. You don't get that in a hotel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
We are so glad you had such a wonderful time at Stoneacre. We think it is a very special place as well, both the house and the village of Leenane. And how great you were able to show your relatives so many beautiful and interesting towns and sites throughout Galway and Mayo. We hope you will come back again, and again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My sister and I stayed at Stoneacre this May with 3 friends. We were stopped in our tracks in silence when we walked in and saw the view. Ever changing, ever stunning. Just gorgeous!
Stoneacre has everything that you would need and more. Beautiful, clean .... just lovely.
The most perfect place to truly unwind. Just love Leenane. It's a pretty village with two good bars and great food in Hamiltons and the Blackberry.
Will definitely be returning if Laraine would have us. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
We would love to have you back, thank you for the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearbhla...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have stayed forever!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stoneacre is much more than a rental house, it is a home and an experience. A special one at that. This is one of the nicest houses I could imagine. It has a piano and an AGA and everything in between. But the most enjoyable things have to be the inviting atmosphere and the ever changing scenery. We stayed here with some family the weekend of our wedding. We wished we'd booked it for our honeymoon as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dawn & Dusk
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you for the very kind review. So pleased your stay in Stoneacre contributed to a memorable wedding day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma123
derry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutley gorgeous holiday rental”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

WE recently stayed here for a weekend for a family christening - you could not ask for a better house - so comfortable warm cosy- everything plus more that you could want in a kitchen - every cooking utensil you could think of is supplied. Fabulous wood burning stove - plus an added bonus was internet for the kids. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Leenane or surrounding area please check this out - the view from the house is breath-taking, to wake up in the morning walk into the kitchen/dining area and look out at the view - no words could describe it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort, cosyiness, view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WooReads
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You absolutely cannot go wrong with this luxury home.”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous home in which to spend a week and a half at Christmastime. We have never been away at Christmas before and love our traditions at home, but we just couldn't ask for a better place to spend Christmas and New Year's and all the days between. Spacious. Welcoming. Plenty of cooking space for several cooks. Plenty of dining space. Simply fabulous, ever-changing views. As the light and weather changed, so did the lovely views. Also a great location from which to explore: the Leenane walk (easy and pretty), Connemara Park (more challenging hike), Kylemore Abbey (delightful and historically informative), Nearby villages of Letterfrack and Clifden (charming), the Cliffs of Moher (further afield but spectacular and worth the trip), Galway City (about an hour and 20 minute drive), Cong (the other direction)....anyway, Stoneacre is just fabulous in and of itself. Stay here. You'll be glad you did.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren63
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“luxurious house with fantastic views”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house was fantastic. There were four bedrooms and a huge open plan living room and kitchen plus another living room with a huge firplace.The house was spottless and had everything you need. The views from the house were amazing and even though we had rain most of the time, it was relaxing to just look at the view. It is only a 2 minute walk to the village which has 2 pubs, grill bar and 2 craft shops. We cant find any fault with the house as it is the best house we have ever stayed in. Thank you so much for a wonderful few days and so sorry my mum, dad and sister didnt get to see the house due to illness but hopefully we will all get down again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house had everything you need and views amazing
Liked least: liked everything about the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Than you, so pleased you enjoyed Stoneacre and the village of Leenane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eibhlin12...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“perfection, perfection, perfection”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a perfect holiday home, luxury, everything plus more provided.comfortable and very spaceous, thats stoneacre the house. Now, stoneacres location....WOW..... situated in the very pretty Leenane but overlooking the most spectacular Killary Fjord. Full view from living room window.absolutely beautiful to watch the sun glisten on the waters and watch the sun go down. STONEACRE has it all. A short drive will take you to Clifden, Westport, Cong, where the Quiet man was filmed, The very beautiful Roundstone village and a must ,Kylemore Abbey. The scenery is out of this world, the lakes and mountains...so peaceful and relaxing. Will be back

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
So happy to see your review, thank you for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing