We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days away from it all !!!!!”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Greeted at the desk by very friendly staff. Got upgraded to a suite even though we were on a budget break! Lovely quiet room with good shower in bathroom. Breakfast great and dinner top class. Great place to relax and rewind. Lovely walks outside the door. All staff very friendly. Lovely location. This was our second visit and we will be back as soon as we can!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Checked in with my family with a view to relaxing and enjoying the surroundings, Connemara landscape 100% rain or shine, hotel reception staff not what you would refer to as 4 star! Bar staff, cough cough please someone sort out the 5 blue bottle flies landing on my glass, wow did that bar girl look like she was going to smile ? Restaurant staff Bingo... Very nice and polite. Great place for a 4star resort, Spa is also nice. Overall nothing a little customer service training and pride in ones work wouldn't fix.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank shooter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We're a very busy couple without children, who stayed for one night with the promise of quiet tranquil surrounds for the weekend before re-entering our hectic lives on Monday. Decided to spend the money on some luxury and paid for a suite. The problem with that is that the family and couple suites are located in the same approximate vicinity. I thought the idea of this place was that people could get away from the stress of their lives and relax for a while in tranquil surrounds. Isn't that the point of not having TVs in the rooms? Instead we found ourselves surrounded by other people's noisy children for the entire duration. They were running around the bar and restaurant and also in the vicinity of our room.

The second problem was the complete lack of temperature control, with the exception of heating. The place doesn't seem to be air conditioned and if it is, nobody bothered to turn it on. Both the bar and restaurant areas were far too warm. Nothing ruins a dining experience quicker than sitting at the table and attempting to enjoy your meal while you're dripping with sweat.

The third problem is the menu. Very limited, all very heavy dishes and all the types of food that don't appear very appetising when you're sweating into your dish. We're talking heavy dishes like steak, duck, lamb shank and oily fish. Even the vegetarian option was a heavy pasta dish.

Suffering from the heat also prompted us to order a nice cold bottle of prosecco, at a cost of €28, which of course was delivered to our table warm.

We often hear about restaurateurs and hoteliers complaining about online reviews like this and suggesting that people should complain on site instead of complaining online. Well, we did complain about the heat in the restaurant. That resulted in a fan being brought in and pointed at us for about half the time we were there before it was removed. When it came time to check out, nobody bothered to ask us how our overall stay was, so I'm telling you here.

Overall I found the reservations staff friendly, but not particularly professional. I found the restaurant staff rude and very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bipedalhumanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

You're greeted at Delphi with a warm smile and a friendly hello, this continues for your duration. Fantastic dinner(steak) great breakfast and possibly the best cocktails I've ever had ~ thanks Sean T!!! Beautiful surroundings, clean and comfortable rooms! Great atmosphere with other people staying and the staff are unbelievably considerate. If your're looking for a top notch place, stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El_Fargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in August and started our holiday in Ireland here. We booked two 2-bedroom apartments and 3 nights dinner. It was the perfect start to our trip. We need to relax and disconnect and this was the perfect place. No TVs, no mobile phone coverage, limited wifi -- very comfortable and spacious apartments, a fantastic restaurant, friendly staff (Iwona does a brilliant job in the restaurant) surrounded by stunning scenery -- just perfect to unwind! The ladies enjoyed the Spa experience and the kids loved the activities in the morning and afternoon. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: 2-bedroom apartments are fantastic, very comfortable, quiet and loads of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank You Sean

Delighted to hear that you all had such a good experience and I couldn't agree more with you regards Iwona! We hope we get to welcome you all back to Delphi in the near Future.

Regards
Bryan and The Team at Delphi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Third time in this hotel and we will be back again. The most relaxing time you could have - great outdoor activities, stunning scenery, beautifully designed hotel with understated luxury. The rooms are tastefully furnished and most have great views. Food is very good and reasonable. Staff helpful and friendly. No TV's in rooms and no MOB signal which is all a plus if you want to relax - just get a glass of wine and sit back and look at the clouds coming in from the Atlantic and climbing over the mountains - bliss.

Room Tip: Suites have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan902, General Manager at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thanks You Butterfly953 for your lovely comments. I am delighted to hear you had such a relaxing time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Bryan and The Delphi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

What an amazing place we have been here a Few Times its amazing ,relaxing and the location is perfect.rooms great ,staff so helpful and polite.cant reccomend it enough.we are already planning our trip next year.the adventure center is perfect for kids,our Daughter is 11 and did a lot of the activities..the beaches are close by and Pretty amazing.

Room Tip: Loft suite amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVIDTALLYROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
602 reviews
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
14.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: £70 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Ebookers so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing